We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We recently spent one night at the Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina. We had a suite with marina views and access to the concierge lounge...what a treat! We have stayed at many Marriott hotels throughout the world including in Prague and Copenhagen. There is somewhat of a consistency in each room we've had....and it always is comfortable...and very clean.
CLEAN is my primary requirement and Marriott never misses!

Room Tip: There is a marina side and a city view side.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sand74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,580 - 2,586 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was going to a Tampa Bay Bucs games and only needed to stay one night. Because of my late plans, I used the AMEX concierge service to book the reservations. She found a nice reasonably priced king room at the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel. However, I wanted an upgrade to a suite just as a special treat for the wife and I. The price went from $139 for the king room to $500 plus for the suite. Still no problem... good times are priceless. We arrive at the hotel and it's packed. Cars are everywhere as most hotels in the Tampa Bay area are sold out due to the game. Eventually the valet gets our car and we're off to our luxury suite. We walk into this room that's advertised as a luxury suite. Normally suites of this cost have separate living and sleeping quarters....NOT. The bed in a luxury suite turned out to be a murphy bed folding down from the wall with a very very poor mattress. No separate living and sleeping areas. When a guest walks into your room, they see where you sleep because there no curtain / door to close your sleep area off. Ok maybe I'll make an adjustment and adapt. Then the kitchen turned out to be a series of cabinets with a small refrigerator and sink. Disappointment has now taken on a whole new meaning. Ok it's only one night and I feel ripped off for the price. But we go to the game and we've got 3rd row tickets on the 40 yard line. I can almost touch the action. The Cowboys destroyed the Bucs. lol Then it's back to my overpriced suite with the murphy bed located adjacent to my living room (no separate area). I tossed all night long on the worse mattress I’ve ever experienced. I ended up getting up and 4:00 a.m. leaving in disgust. I imagine overall this hotel is great. But don't get ripped off by over paying for the much over priced Suite 2238.

Room Tip: Avoid the over priced suite 2238. It's not a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjack1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced. Additionally, I want to reassure you that I have shared this feedback with my Front Office Team so that moving forward we take the opportunity to fully explain what amenities are offered in this specific suite prior to check in. Again, thank you for this feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve on future guest stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Being a Platinum member I called a few days before my arrival to see if I could get an upgrade. When I arrived they had upgraded me to a suite with 2 balconies overlooking the water. Thank you Marriot. The breakfast has some interesting items on the menu. It is within walking distance to many shops and restaraunts. You can catch the trolley at the front door that will take you to Ybor city wich has many nice restaraunts. The only parking is valet no self parking. Would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This waqs my second trip to the hotel and I was pleased to spend a week there. It's location is perfect for taking walks to work off dinners. I did a total of 15 miles there during my week long stay almost all of it along the water.

Room Tip: I've stayed both near and a bit away from the elevators, both city and water side, all were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My room was clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the marina. The lobby area is very nice. The area surrounding the hotel has a few nice places to walk.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRockJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here for a meeting and thought it was quite nice. Staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Great pool. Only two negatives. Water pressure on upper floors was strange and I heard others complain. And other than the convention center and arena, the hotel is somewhat isolated. There aren't a lot of restaurants across the street (or a convenience store or anything else). I would go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a water view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oyster_afficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor and for kind words about our staff service. I would like to apologize for what you experienced with the water pressure as well as reassure you that it was an isolated incident and has been corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The room was ok, no make up mirror in the bathroom, no wifi anywhere (and they were asking 14.95 a day), but the worst was that the toilet was clogged in spite of someone showing up each morning to fix it. I stayed there three days for a conference. They offered me $50 off my overpriced room. Each morning I shared my tiny bathroom with someone yielding a toilet plunger.

the facilities though were great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VermontMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for our inability to address the issues you were having with your toilet. Additionally, I am pleased to inform you that we have begun the process of installing wireless internet in all the guest rooms and we are forecasting to be complete by the end of the year. We try to offer as many amenities to our guests as possible and will certainly review the possibility of someday adding makeup mirrors to enhance the overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,502 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $166 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing