We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, friendly staff, beautiful pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly staff, beautiful pool”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for just two nights but had a great time. The hotel lobby is very pretty and the room is standard to a typical Marriott. The pool is beautiful but if it is heated it is not heated well. We tried to take a dip on a 75 degree day and even our New England blood could not take it. There is a beautiful walkway along the marina and even a little playground and bridges that offer a chance to walk around. We did not have the problems we anticipated with the bellman, maybe because we expected worse from the other reviews. The staff was all cordial and our bellman on both occasions (and I am really feeling bad I don't remember his name) was really phenominal and remembered us and my son by name at both check in and check out when he helped with our bags. After driving past some of the hotel that were closer to Bush Gardens we were glad we chose this downtown location--a little farther away but with a more upscale resort feel and while not a children orientated hotel, it was definitely child friendly.

Room Tip: If you are teetering between a room with a view and one without, the views are worth it and on a gam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshnaSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    833
    297
    112
    75
See reviews for
438
524
89
1,353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at the Marriot while attending a conference. It is a great location.

Room was clean and bed was excellent. Staff was friendly and overall I liked this hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove2traveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Well this place was all nice, clean and the room was great, great view and quiet and I got some good nights sleep. The only down side was that there are no Hotel Facilities Guide in the room. Instead of having a Folder with all relevant information in.........they just tell you to dial '0' on the telephone from your room. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.....this works fine if you can get an answer. I had to go down to reception a few times. They explained that it was a new policy. I suggested that they should use one of the 4 Spare TV Channels to have Hotel information on , like gym and Spa opening times, restaurants - the types and their opening times. Check in / out times. I just got blank expressions of conformity from all the staff to any suggestion that does not conform to their corporate way. All in all...... I had a nice stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your recent posting. I was pleased with your remarks about overall room cleanliness and have shared this feedback with our housekeepers. Your remarks regarding lack of information in the room is being reviewed. We really liked the suggestion of utilizing the TV as a median. Until we land on resolution, I want to reassure that we will continue to review our operator staffing levels in order to ensure every guest receives timely and accurate information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have stayed here many times, this is the best hotel downtown, period. If you want to save a little, money, and I mean a little, you can stay across the street at the Embassy. But trust me, this is the hotel to be at. Easy walk to the Convention Center, or to the St. Pete Times forum for a hockey game or a concert. It is very easy to ride the trolly to Channelside or to Ybor City. No need to pay for a cab. In summary, easy access, plenty of things to do for a week end and a very nice hotel. Tampa is not New York City, downtown is not a jumping place, but you can have fun if your are looking for it. I would highly recommend the last week end in January, Gasparilla Pirate fest, 400,000 people and this hotel is the very center of the action. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, NY
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Limited dining available in hotel, usual breakfast buffet, sports bar. Snooty in the italian restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_NYJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your remarks on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that our dining options did not meet your needs. We have shared this feedback with our Food & Beverage leadership team so that the unfriendly service you received in our Italian Restaurant can be addressed. We appreciate your feedback and we will work at trying to improve the overall experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently attended a 1 day conference at the Tampa Waterside. The boats dock right next to the south side of the hotel and there is a very nice riverwalk along the shore. The staff and service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left the property was truly superb! It's a class act!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I was there on business; I like Marriott hotels in general; this one is nicer than the most of that brand. Service was good from the moment I arrived until I left the next day; the meals were catered as part of the meeting and were excellent. I recommend this hotel; nice place comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Columbus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing