We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Downtown location. Dirty streets and lots of homeless and drunk people hanging around. Restaurants within walking distance cater to people who work downtown and are closed for dinner. The staff advised me not to walk after dark because of crime. Parking is $8 per day in a lot accross from the hotel. Rooms are mostly clean, but beware of rooms where cigarette smoke is very noticeable even though the hotel claims all the rooms are non-smoking. Management on site and front desk employees are annoyingly loud and unprofessional. I do commend housekeeping staff who is polite and works hard. Be sure to check your bill as mistakes are frequent. I have yet to hear an employee apologize for her mistake. Front desk employees talk loudly with housekeeping staff who appears to be taking breaks, while ignoring and disturbing guests. Breakfast is OK but on several occasions guests could not find a place to sit down, and coffee, juice etc. were gone and not replaced. Guests regularly show up for breakfast in their pajamas. If you want to have a nice breakfast, show up early! The pool, hot tub and the rest of the small outdoor area are overcrowded and shared with the Marriott hotel next door. Carpets are old and look dirty even after cleaning. There is one PC available to guests at the entrance and the sign asks guests not to use it for longer than 15 minutes. However, that is not enforced at all, and teens play much longer while lines form.

This hotel is very overpriced for what you get.

Advice to the hotel owners: Renovate the hotel and replace employees in management and the front desk with professional customer service TRAINED employees!

This hotel is not what you would expect a Marriott hotel to be. Huge disappointment!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank LOVExxTOxxTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    130
    58
    36
    31
See reviews for
116
66
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Hotels in downtown Tampa are generally expensive, so I tried my luck at Priceline and got this one for only $65 (I talked to some people on the van who paid $179, so my deal was much sweeter!) It was confusing to find due to the closed exit, one-way streets, and several streets closed due to construction. We could see the hotel but it took us driving around it a couple of times to actually make it there. There is a curbside area at the entrance for 10-minute parking for registration and then you drive across the street into the gated parking lot. My clerk, Jackie, was friendly and helpful at check-in and gave us a lovely room on the 7th floor. The room consisted of a desk, an L-Shaped sectional, coffee table, chest of drawers, TV, Queen size bed (I asked for a King, but she said they had none in the hotel,) a nicely equipped kitchen (cooktop, microwave, full-size refrigerator, and all pots/dishes/etc.) and a little bar with 2 stools. (**Note, there is no oven. I was happy I didn't bring a frozen pizza to bake when I noticed this! Also, there is no table, just the bar.) There is a sink/vanity area separate from the toilet/shower room, which was nice. The room was average and showed very little wear. The room wasn't the cleanest I've stayed in, but was acceptable. Mostly the floor in the kitchen area needed to be mopped (actually I thought it was a marble design, until I spilled some water and wiped it up to find that the floor wasn't the color I thought!)

In terms of furnishings, the best feature was the bed. It was high and had nice, comfy linens. The sofa was less than comfortable. I found the ends to be OK, but the middles were too soft.

The hotel has nice amenties such as free breakfast (which was standard cafeteria-style buffet and pretty bland, but they did have salsa and cheese sauce to spice things up, a really good oatmeal bar with nuts, raisins, and brown sugar, make-your-own waffle station, a yogurt-parfait station, scrambled eggs (too wet for my taste), sausage, pancakes, and potatoes.) They also have free internet access in the room. But, I think the best feature is the free shuttle service. The shuttle actually leaves from the adjoining property (Courtyard by Marriott) but will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius. I used it to get to and from the convention center and my friends who stayed elsewhere and had to drive were envious.

The shuttle is great since there is really nothing around the hotel. The Performing Arts Center is close, as is the library, and a Domino's Pizza. The shuttle driver told me there will be new "high-end" condos across the street from the hotel soon, as well as a new shopping/entertainment area. From the looks of things, I wouldn't expect many changes until maybe 2008. Be sure to take food for your room, or have the shuttle take you out for meals.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, free shuttle, free breakfast, free internet, full kitchen
  • Disliked — Hotel location, dirty kitchen floor, lack of oven
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Venus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Booked hotel on Priceline for a pre-cruise stay. The hotel is not a luxury hotel by any means, but has lots of extras. Kitchens, fold out couch, beer, wine and food on weekdays and a shuttle. Workers were nice and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — The extras
  • Disliked — Had a few cosmetic problems
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Rooms were large and comfortable but pricey for the location. Spend the extra $25 and get right on the water.

Front desk was not as professional as I experiance at other Marriotts.

Free breakfast was very good. Service staff very friendly.

Parking ($8) accross the street was secure and well lit but the hotel offered no help with our luggage.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Phreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

We recently stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the University of Tampa which is only a few minutes away. We really enjoyed this hotel as it was made up of a kitchen and living room combination and a separate bedroom with a TV in each room. The room was clean, not immaculate, but cleaned well enough for us to still feel comfortable staying there. There was also a good breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles and the usual cereal, muffins, breads, etc. The pool and tubtub looked clean, but we never had the chance to use them since it was rainy and cool.

We did have a little trouble finding the parking lot and the entrance since it's located on a one way street, so make sure you take the street before where the Courtyard is located on and go around the block to the other side where you will find the Residence and parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

for $65 on priceline, a great deal. apartment-like room with full kitchen, two couches. very comfortable bed. free shuttle for 2-mile radius. decent breakfast. 24-hour hottub/pool. everything else is pretty bland. downtown tampa is a bore. not even a coffee shop within walking distance. everything shuts down early. not the hotel's fault, but better locations to stay in tampa.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fritztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I had to book a hotel quickly in Tampa because my dad went into Tampa General Hospital for unexpected surgery. The hospital suggested several hotels in the area but, I am so glad that the Residence Inn Downtown was available. The room was VERY large, well furnished and VERY clean and comfortable. The staff was so pleasant and helpful from the desk to houskeeping. The Residence inn offers a large breakfast each morning and hospitality hour in the evening complete with soup, wings, popcorn, a keg of beer, softdrinks and pretzels. They even showed a movie for families with kids here that evening in the lobby. The hotel located in the center of downtown Tampa across the street from the Public Library and the Art Museum. University of Tampa is in walking distance and I spoke with several college students walking in the area who said it is safe to walk around downtown in the daylight hours. I walked to and from the hospital each day (10 am and 6 pm) which is about 1.5 miles from the hotel although, the hotel provides a shuttle to anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Marriott is directly across the backside of the Residence Inn and both hotels share the pool, basketball court and the hot tub. Both hotels seemed busy but never over crowded in any area. The Residence Inn offers a great rate of $99 to family members of folks who find themselves in Tampa General Hospital.
Great stay...I would come back in a minute!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank thebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#26 of 163 in Tampa
438 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#96 of 163 in Tampa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing