We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I chose to stay at this hotel because of the location and the fact that it has a free shuttle service to anywhere within a two mile radius of the hotel (including Ybor City which is great). We were able to walk along the Riverwalk (allow some time to walk there-around 15-20 min), eat at some nice places along Tampa Street, walk in the park, etc. One of the best things about the hotel is also that they have free dinners on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. We stayed there on a Wednesday which was BBQ night. They had pulled chicken sandwiches, mashed potatoes, salad, corn, dessert, and wine and beer. It was a neat event and did save us some money for sure. The pool area is nice and has a grill, hot tub, and basketball court as well (one hoop). The only thing I would say about the pool area that could be better is the amount of chairs because the facilities are shared with another Marriott hotel adjacent to the hotel. In all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a suite with kitchen, but I am not sure if all rooms had this. Our room overlooked the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panner1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Panner1995,

We are so happy to have you stay with us and thank you so much for your review! They always matter in helping our future guests know how you liked your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel, the amenities that we offer and our location. I hope that you were also able to take full advantage of our big hot delicious breakfast that we serve every single morning for all of our guests!

Thanks for your review,

Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    121
    48
    33
    30
See reviews for
104
56
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I Had a nice pre-cruise stay in July. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything that I needed. On top of that, the hotel even provided a free shuttle to the cruise port the next morning. The rooms were very spacious, especially for one. I got the room as an express deal from Priceline so I did not know what I was getting until it was booked. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least.

The only issue I encountered was my room key must have somehow gotten demagnetized on my way to my room but that was easily corrected by the front desk. The only negative I can come up with in regards to the hotel has nothing to do with its rooms or amenities but rather the location. There wasn't much to do within walking distance in the area. However, I was only staying one night and this location was very convenient to the cruise port. The hotel does offer a courtesy shuttle to nearby attractions but I'm the type who likes to wander around.

I would definitely stay here again for a relaxing stay before partaking in the hustle bustle of a large cruise ship.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Jeff F,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our amenities. I would like to point out that there are several things to do within walking distance such as eat at restaurants, theaters and water activities along the RiverWalk. We hope to be able to have you stay with us again so that we can show you what else is able to be done right here in Tampa!

Thanks again,

Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The location was great! Close to Channel Side, had dinner at Bern's and all within a $7 cab ride. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. They called after we arrived to check if there was anything we needed, all exceeding our expectations to that point. Oh, and the breakfast was great too! We frequent Tampa, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Halloyrf,

Thank you for your great review and we are ecstatic to hear that we'll have the opportunity to have you stay with us again! As always, we are here to always do the best we can for each and every one of our guests.

Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I/We (2 rooms) stayed at this property for a sorority conference and the staff really accommodated us with our tight schedule. The staff was WONDERFUL. The shuttle guy (Chad) I think...was EXCELLENT as well as the young lady that worked most nights that we were there. Chad went over and beyond the call of duty. He was also a great source of information (great restaurants etc...) If I had any complaints, it would be the parking and the slow elevators. Other than that we didn't have any complaints! Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We were on the end on the 7th floor...never heard any noise. Room was nice and clean and staff was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Machea J,

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review about our hotel. Nothing brings us more pleasure than knowing that we are truly adding to your experience while staying in Tampa. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to have you stay with us again!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

"My wife and I stayed for five nights at this property in downtown Tampa. Like most hotels, there is good and bad.

The good: The location is great, very convenient to everything downtown or in South Tampa. As usual with Marriott properties the people (except as noted below) were great, especially at the front desk and the ladies that serviced breakfast. The breakfast, included, was very good with a decent selection of items.

The bad: The property is well worn. While the lobby looks reasonable, our room really needed updating. The carpet had numerous stains and was frayed badly in front of the bathroom door. The furniture is well worn, with stains on the sofa and a lot of wear on the chairs. Thee popcorn on the ceiling was peeling off. The sink had a huge crack in it. We consistently asked for items to be restocked in our room (even leaving written notes) but the notes were taken but items were not left (sugar, creamer, etc.) so we had to troop down to the lobby. The worst part is that for two separate days a dirty rag was left in our room on the counter by housekeeping and a bag of trash was left for a day outside our door. I don't know if they were just in a rush or what. We finally complained at the front desk and it stopped. Lastly, even though it is not obvious or consistent on the Marriott web site, you should know that parking is $14 a night, (which the hotel manager reduced to $9 after I pointed it out, and I'm appreciate of that) which isn't bad. it's just one of the reasons we selected this property, versus several in the area.

All in all, for what you pay for a downtown hotel, the property was okay and we would probably stay there again. But it was not up to Marriott standards."

Room Tip: The hotel is located in downtown Tampa, so there is no good view. I would ask for a room on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Al E E,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and our employees that work everyday to keep smiles on the faces of our guests. We have read and understood your remarks about our hotel. We are always working to improve our hotel and your information will certainly help us do that.

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I only stay at Marriotts, I travel at least twice a month and am always satisfied with my stay. I have one complaint about this location and that's the fee for parking. The woman at the desk told me I can park in their secured lot (code access and gate) for $14, or just park at a meter. To ensure the safety of my vehicle I decided to pay the $14/per day fee. Upon arrival from my evenings events I found that the lot was full, I called the front desk and they directed me to another lot (halfway fenced in old dirt plot, no gate or sense of security) but equal distance from the hotel. If you don't mind paying extra per day then I highly recommend this location. It's very close to all the major attractions downtown Tampa has to offer, you can't beat the free breakfast, and all the rooms are suites which provides so much room for activities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
JS Kearney,

Thank you for the time that you took to write your review! We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay. Just so that you and all other reader know, the average parking rate in downtown Tampa is $23.00 a night. We do have one of the best prices for parking in the downtown area. We are here to work with our guests to do all that we can to ensure that they enjoy their stay. We are happy that you let us know what we could do to make your stay better. We hope to be able to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I work for a Residence Inn in Idaho and I can say I really enjoyed the staff and services. Everyone and everything were nice! The location was great. We were able to get to the events and attractions within a few miles of the hotel. The staff was very approachable and had plenty knowledge of the Tampa Bay Area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
AlexisKey,

Thank you so much for your review; especially for someone that is in the same field and working in the same type of hotel! We hope to be able to have you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#53 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridan Palace Hotel
#95 of 161 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing