We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times when visiting in Tampa and have always had a wonderful experience. It was not the case on our last stay. I will list all the problems from A to Z. First of all, we booked our reservation back in October of 2012 for a two-bedroom suite as there were going to be 4 of us. When I called the morning of the stay since we were going to have a late arrival, I was told they overbooked and we possibly wouldn't get the 2 bedroom suite but we would get 2 rooms. I told them we had to have that suite as one in our party (our daughter) has a visual problem and can't see when it gets dark and would need to have help from an adult in our party. (Our granddaughter was the fourth person with us.) I called again at 7:30 p.m. to make sure we would get our room and was put on hold for a long time. I was told again we wouldn't get the suite as they had some people who had arrived and booked for 3 weeks and decided to let them stay and not honor our suite reservation. I told them we had to have this suite because of our daughter. Finally, they agreed to put us in a handicap suite. All ok, until we checked in and entered the room. No wastebasket in one of the bathrooms, clock didn't work in one bedroom, black dot stains on the wallpaper next to the kitchen sink, doors under the sink were broken and no shelf underneath for cleaning supplies, the carpet didn't lay flat throughout the suite, carpet was filthy by the front door, ice maker didn't work, sliding closet door jammed in bedroom, a shefl in the bedroom closet broke and fell down and the worst was when we saw a roach crawling on the bar area when we were eating breakfast. I will have to say when we checked out the manager was very nice when I told her all this. She is new and is trying to get things done and I trust that she will. We are members of the Marriott Rewards and hope we will get to enjoy staying in this hotel again someday.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose this hotel for at least a years until all their problems are taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    131
    58
    36
    31
See reviews for
116
66
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not very clean and not very comfortable. Don't even consider sleeping on the god-awful sofa beds. It was absolutely unsleepable. The linen for the sofa bed was dirty - the blanket was at least 10 years old, dingy, and had alot of long blonde hair stuck in it. The sheets were not pressed and I don't think they had been laundered. Both chairs had rips in the upholstery. Carpet threadbare in many places. The parking is VERY limited and $11 a day. We got stuck parking 2 blocks away. The Airport Shuttle is also not free. It cost $10-$15 a person. The complementary breakfast was really very good and the free shuttle to the Cruise ships was fine. Nice kitchenette. Nice pool.

Overall would not stay here again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: I would closely inspect the room and the linens before accepting a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very close to the airport. They offer free breakfast on the weekends. During the week you can enjoy at least 2 free dinners. There was a small pool and hot tub, and a small basketball court which I thought was a nice touch. The free breakfast was really good & a huge variety. The room was nice and you have a sliding glass door that opens to a very tiny balcony you could maybe stand on, but it allows you to get fresh air - which I always really like in a hotel. We had no problem parking on the grounds around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchess12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family recently stayed here with our middle school son's lacrosse team. The suites were very clean and the staff was VERY attentive. The kids liked the heated pool, hot tub and the small basketball court. The location was also great right of 275 and close to nice restaurants to walk to including Taps. Would absolutely stay there again. Breakfast was fairly average with make your own waffles but they were kind enough to allow our group to use the nearby meeting space for our meals at no additional charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Parking situation is annoying if they are full...you have to park in a garage 2 blocks away. It just feels outdated when you step inside. The outdoor pool area\patio is nice. The room was just alright. I kept finding hairs though...under the fitted sheet, on the hand towels, in the tub...there were also cigarettes on the balcony, not from us....The girl working the evening shift on NYE was really nice and helpful, along with the engineer.
BUT! overall it was satisfactory for a one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleGar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Liberta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Clean everything, same art in every room, felt safe and secure and all that. Good time. Fitness center is decent, I liked the basketball court and pool. Clean and had more than a treadmill, which was nice. Women at the desk were friendly. Only four because it lacked personality and there was absolutely no excuses for being even a minute late on breakfast. It was gone exactly at 930 am. Reasonable and all, but a boy can dream, eh?

Room Tip: Get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here last weekend when we were in town for a concert. We walked in and were greeted promptly and they found our reservation without a hitch. Both the lady and the man at the desk were super friendly and explained some of the restaurants nearby when they overheard my wife and I talking about what we wanted to do for dinner.

Our room was great. It had a full kitchenette with fill size refrigerator, desk, couch and chair. The way the bed sat off to the side and the bathroom was around the corner gave the room more of a on-bedroom apartment feel. The colors were rich and comforting.

Once getting back from dinner we decided to take a cab to the concert since the complimentary shuttle was full. Our cab never showed up, but the shuttle returned and a very friendly driver took us and another couple to the TB Times Forum, bypassing a lot of the traffic and getting us there in plenty of time for the show.

The breakfast was also good, not your normal continental breakfast but complete with eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy.

Checking out was as easy as checking in. All in all, I will definitely try to stay at this hotel again when I need to spend a night over in Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "04" rooms if you want one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimFromLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
JimFromLakeland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let our future guests see the wonderful experience that they themselves can enjoy as well. Nothing is more important to us than making each and every individual guest know that we are here to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. I am so happy that all of our hard work and training is making the difference! We really hope to have you and your wife come and stay with us again. Happy Holidays!!!!

Sincerely,
Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
454 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#96 of 163 in Tampa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing