We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reasonably priced hotel in downtown Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced hotel in downtown Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this downtown Tampa hotel overnight before our cruise. Location was great in terms of being downtown, close to cruise ships and walking along the river. Our room was clean, well maintained and provided lots of room. Small kitchenette was a bonus especially if you are travelling with children. Staff were busy but helpful. Free breakfast was typical but fine. Our only concern was a lack of restaurants there or nearby especially later in the evening. The other Marriott Courtyard Inn right next door did, however, provide a quiet bar for a glass of wine. Lots of good things to recommend here, especially for the price and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RugbyGuy1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    115
    47
    32
    29
See reviews for
97
55
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this particular hotel because one of us was having surgery at a nearby hospital. We wanted somewhere to stay with a homey atmosphere. Given the purpose of our visit, we knew we would be spending more time in our room than the average tourist and wanted the ability to do some minimal cooking in a comfortable atmosphere. We found the perfectd place with the added benefit that the hotel environs did not have that typical “hotel” smell; it was really almost like a home.

When we left, we both agreed that we could not possibly have made a better choice. From the initial reservation contact with a very helpful sales manager, through daily encounters with staff including effective housekeeping; from the comfortable sofa and chairs in the living area to the separate bedroom (we had a suite), from a full-service kitchen (microwave, oven, dishwasher plus bowls, plates, cups, glasses and silverware; to the modern bath/shower, this hotel is well-above standard accommodations. As a plus, we found the best and most responsive temperature control we have ever seen in many, many years of hotel visits.

A nice touch were the “social hours” Monday through Wednesday from 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM, with a complimentary buffet and wine and soft drinks bar. There was a different theme each night for food. I particularly enjoyed the Italian and the BBQ nights. The complimentary morning breakfast, served from 6:00 AM to 9:30 PM, consisted of three hot dishes—scrambled eggs, a varied type of potatoes, and some form of turkey sausage or bacon—plus the usual oatmeal, cold cereals, yoghurt, waffles and pastries. There even were fresh blueberries for the waffles or cereal. The lobby has snack-type vending machines including microwave meals, even to my surprise, frozen White Castle cheeseburgers! These are not coin-operated, which I liked, because I could just pay at the desk.

There is a small bar area in the hotel but no restaurant, understandable given the purpose of a residence inn. However, a short walk across a courtyard takes guests to a Marriott Courtyard hotel, with a “bistro” type restaurant, open for breakfast and dinner, with hearty appetizers, specialty sandwiches and cocktails in the evening. Having this option, when you are not in the mood for an expedition to a formal restaurant, was an additional benefit. As an aside, grilled chicken quesadillas with salsa and sour cream seems to be a Marriott specialty; it has been delicious in every Marriott sports bar/bistro eatery we have visited.

Overall, I give the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Tampa my highest recommendation, particularly if you need the amenities described.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed two nights for a trip with friends and was not disappointed.

Here's what you'll get:
* clean/large rooms
* free breakfast
* small store (food/toiletries)
* gym
* pool/hot tub
* basketball hoop
* downtown location
* parking (across the street for a fee)
* friendly staff

The price is very reasonable for the location and quality of accommodations.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite sleeps 6 very comfortably (even sofa bed was comfy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleCristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
LittleCristy, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Giving our guests a great experience at our hotel is our top priority! We hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was skeptical about staying here because of some of the older reviews but we were not planning on being in the hotel room much. The front desk staff Maria and Pierre were pleasant and the General Manager is always there. The Breakfast was good and constantly being refilled with fresh items. The General Manager walks around, checks everything and even cleans up. The hotel rooms, kitchens and bathroom were clean and everything was in order. When we checked in at 7:30 pm and we asked if someone could make the sofa bed up for our daughter and they sent someone up. They usually make it up with a blanket but I asked for a comforter like what they have on the beds and they accomodated our request.

They also have free internet.

Now for the parking, they charge 11$ but they only have a small number of spots, (40 I think) which of course get filled quite quickly. We were there on Friday till Sunday so it was easy to find parking on the street by the hotel and there is a city parking lot around the corner which is 7$ but with no in an out privileges so you're better off parking on the street which is free on the weekend. On Saturday morning I asked the front desk if a spot opened up and fortunately for us there was one single spot that opened up which we they gave us. It wasn't an issue for us but if I was traveling alone during the week I would not have liked having to park a block or 2 away and walk back to the hotel.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you want a parking spot try to get there when it's check out time for current guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyOdyssey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
MyOdyssey2001, we really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Thank you for choosing our hotel! We care about our guests and making sure that your accomodations and experience are great while staying with us. We hope that we get to have you stay with us again. We are working on our parking and will soon be able to offer valet service for our guests so that parking won't be an issue moving forward. Thank you again for your review and hope to see you in Tampa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is my second and last stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, toilet was clogged. The exterior of the refrigerator was dirty, and the refrigerator was inoperable. The arm chair looks like it was found next to a dumpster. The carpet was fraying by the door. We stayed in room 318 which is in corner of Ashley and Tyler. The road noise was loud and continuous throughout the night. On a previous stay, we had a courtyard room which was much quieter. The a/c air handler is located in the bedroom and is loud when it kicks on. Since our last stay, the hotel's parking had been changed so that residence inn and courtyard have designated sections of the parking lot. Unfortunately, the exit for Residence Inn is extemely close to Ashley drive. This makes it extremely difficult to leave to hotel and make a left on Ashley dr. The bed pillows are very small. This seems to be something that is happening across all Marriott brands as I found the same type pillows at the Springhill Suites I was in previously. I will attempt to upload pictures to tripadvisor for those that are interested.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jparker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Upon reading this we have immediately went to that room and have resolved all of these issues. I can't express how terrible we feel that you had a negative experience while staying with us. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our first priority and we want you to know that we have taken your comments very seriously. Not only have we fixed the issues in this room but we have taken an additional training course with our housekeepers so that these kinds of cleaning issues will be completely eliminated. We are also a new management company that has taken over this hotel and we are working on making sure to refresh and renew the furniture! Lastly, we have been known for being a convenient hotel for our location and we are sorry that you experienced so much noise. Please call our Director of Sales so that we can try to show you that we can be better than what you have experienced: Shab @ 813-227-4388
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is clean. Breakfast everyday is great and plentiful. WiFi is superb. Parking will cost you which is ridiculously overpriced at 11.00 per day and and very small in size. Shuttle service to convention center is great...runs on the hour and half hour. Street noise on the 4th floor is considerable but I am not sure that it diminishes as you go up in floors. Housekeeping servie fine. Area that hotel is in does have some vagrants walking around. Would not suggest walking around the area alone at night. Feather pillow suck!!! But overall pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Upon checking in, there was no greeting with a smile. They never told me the instructions for the internet (ie: password for wireless). Although the hotel served a nice breakfast and the lobby appeared orderly, the hallways and elevators were like walking into a sauna. I went downstairs to talk with the staff and the manager came out and "explained" they were working on the heating (in the middle of August in Florida???). He said he'd call the elevator company, but the next day the elevators and hallways were still HOT. The doors of the rooms had chipped paint .. It appeared shabby at best. Sorry Marriott, I'm a platinum member and this one was definitely not up to par.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I hope that we can have a chance to show you how we have improved since you have written this review. We are a newer management company and we are working hard every single day to improve the quality of our service. Nothing is acceptable but the best for our guests and to have one of our Platinum members, of all of our elite travelers, to not have been met with a smile?!?! We have worked on our staff members with training and good example as to the pleasant experience that all of our guests should receive. I hope that we can have a chance to show you the kind of service that you should have received the last time you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#65 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridan Palace Hotel
#93 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing