We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$258
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$249
$239
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$165
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sailport Waterfront Suites(Tampa)
$160
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$549
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
166
139
65
39
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
139
65
39
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgated lotsmall basketball courtfree shuttlebedroom suitetampa downtownstraz centerfull kitchenfree breakfasthot tubwithin a mile radiusthe river walkoutstanding customer serviceoatmealbreakfast staffhotel shuttlethe shuttle drivernice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 443 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Let's be realistic, for those expecting a luxurious hotel, you should book a room at one of the JW Marriott properties.

As we expected, it is not one of Marriott's luxurious hotels but it's clean with a convenient location. We stayed here (family of 5) for a night prior to boarding a cruise. It was very convenient because they had free shuttle to the port. In addition, they also provided free shuttle to nearby locations. Like for example, we wanted to eat at a nearby restaurant, they drove us there and we just called them again when we were ready to be picked up. The staff were very friendly. The room we stayed in is a 2-bdrm unit with 2 baths and a kitchen (fridge, stove, cutlery, etc.). Unit is clean, beds are well made up, tv's in each bedroom and a tv in the living room. They also have free wi-fi. Except for a worn out foot stool in the living room, everything else is pretty good. Free breakfast is also provided.

Their beds are pretty good too. I slept well and was not bouncing around every time I moved or if my husband moved.

Noticed that they also have a service where they will shop for your groceries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. So many of our guests comment on the fact that our complimentary shuttle is really convenient and helpful! It operates Monday - Sunday from 7 a.m. until 11 p.m. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know and let other readers know that as well.

Have a great day!

Shab Sachedina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Three family members stayed here for 4 nights this week while one of us had an operation at Tampa General. This is one of their recommended hotels with a special, very fair rate for patients. We had two rooms - a two-bedroom unit with a full kitchen and another studio apartment again with close to a full kitchen. Both suites were absolutely quiet and the most comfortable of their type I have ever seen - everything was new, well-thought out for hotel-style cooking and the housekeeping was excellent. Beyond this the hot breakfast and evening light meal and drinks (for Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights only) were a big plus and very good. The shuttle service is truly available and one is made to feel very comfortable asking for very personal service. The staff is first class and genuinely interested in ensuring that each guest is having his or her needs met.

We found the pool area to be very clean and attractive, given the location and type of hotel property. There is a barbeque area for guests which would be great for families who do a little planning.

We easily found good restaurants in the area and if you want to dine on the water, the shuttle is pleased to run you there and back. We heartily recommend this well-run facility.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screenname002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for letting other possible guests read about your great experience! We are here to always do our best to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thanks again and let us know if and when you are coming back.

Thank you for your great review,

Shab Sachedina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Between the staff and the cleanliness i would say this is one of the best hotels i have stayed at in Florida easily on this level.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Horrible experience with the accounting department. Paid once through hotels.com. Got charged again from Marriott. When brought to the attention of the clerk at the desk was basically told " oh well, maybe you can talk to the manager tomorrow and see what can be done, if anything". Spoke with hotels.com and was told "oh well, just wait until tomorrow and see what the hotel will do". I say " oh well Marriott, never again, oh well hotels.com, never again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danwyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

I am so sorry that you had the experience that you did in regards to your billing issues. I want to make sure that your issue has been resolved. I hope that your stay with us was enjoyable otherwise. Sometimes when a third party booking company is involved it takes a couple extra steps to get the information that you were looking for. Receiving the information that you have shared will give us an opportunity to train our front desk staff to be able to answer these questions next time. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We are here to help if there are any unresolved issues.

Thank you,
Shab Sachedina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love staying at any hotel that is in the Marriott family -- from Egypt to NYC, I have been pleased. This hotel is not on par with other Marriott hotels in some ways, but excellent in others. Here's the scoop:

-The location is good for many activities.
-The room was a bit ragged around the edges.. bedskirt and linens really wrinkled. Paint was chipped and not super clean. In fact, the trash can and freezer hadn't been cleaned when I checked in. There was hair in the bathtub, etc. Just general cleanliness issues.
-Breakfast and Happy Hour food was average.
-The SERVICE was excellent!!! The staff was friendly, very helpful and worked hard to make guests happy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

I am so happy to hear that our service was impeccable and that you enjoyed our location and food! Thank you so much for sharing those great points. Our hotel is under new management and your review will help us to make sure that we are providing not only great service but a clean environment as well. There will be upgrades done as times goes by so please try to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews