We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on Oct. 14, 2011. I was attending the Women of Faith conference at the St. Pete Times Forum and wanted a hotel downtown. I was able to park at the hotel and walk to the conference. It took about 15 to 20 mins, depending on how fast I walked. I encountered several different people working the front desk and all were cordial and helpful. The room was very clean and had plenty of space. It had a queen bed and a sofa sleeper. The breakfast buffet was free and was really good! 4 different types of cereal. Oatmeal and lots of toppings. Waffle station. Eggs with toppings. Potatoes. Juices. Pastries. It isn't inexpensive, but at least you get good service for what you pay. There was a pool and fitness center, but I didn't use either of those.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmd13233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were treated very good. We had a great check-in starting with Delores and it just stayed good.
Delores was most helpful as well as informing.
We had a very good experience at this Residence Inn Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamVet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I checked in to Residence Inn on Wednesday. Checkin was fast and easy. Suite was clean and exactly as described. Area was quiet for week. Shuttle ran within 2 miles of hotel and easily accessible. Morning breakfast was good, I was not there for nightly event. Fitness center is 24 hours and what a benefit. Pool was clean. Everyone was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although I booked at the last minute and did not get any kind of discount rate (I thought the price I paid was rather high), the Residence Inn itself was perfect. The folks were incredibly nice -- they even allowed my to check in way before noon! The room was great, the breakfast yummy and the overall stay was wonderful. Sometimes you do get what you pay for! As a side note, downtown Tampa was rather desolate when I was there. Everyone told me it was safe (as a woman traveling alone, I was concerned about that issue, for sure), but still the ghost town feel left me a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

They Treat the guest really well. I checked in late night. Person who checked in was really great and helpful. i am going to put together the names and great people who work and help out are :
1. Stephano Anamisis - he is one of the best managers i had come across.
Very simple, truthful, honest and plain speaking. He is quick, smiling and ability to resolve or handle is extremely great. He has a passion for Marriott property. He enjoys his work too and has a great staff-very protective person as well
2. Dolores- she is quick, trustworthy prepared to travel extra mile-can make quick decisions.
3. Cynthia-very nice and helpful
4. Benita- was caring took time to find more informaton and help out
5.alison-very nice, smiling and great person to work with
6.Lady who helps out for evening snacks for customer-great attitude. she wanted to help i did not get her name, i guess she speaks spanish..

The above people need to be recognized and put a GREAT note for such a best hotel.
I stay in Marriott everyweek..this matters a lot

Thanks & Regards
sri
Was there meeting for a Non profit organization

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saisriorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to leaving for a cruise. This hotel is VERY nice, inside and out. Our room, a 2 BR, 2 Bath was very comfortable, clean and at a great value. A living area seperates the two BR's with a pull out sofa, kitchen and dining table and chairs. The free breakfast in the morning was very good and well prepared. There are a few bars around the area, and the area is clean, but not in the heart of a big restrurant district, but an area undergoing revitalization. WHICH DOES NOT MEAN THE AREA IS RUN DOWN, just the opposite. The Courtyard by Marriott joins the Residence Inn and a couple of hot tubs and pool seperate the two, but are used by both and very nice. A shuttle takes you anywhere within a two mile radius which includes the cruise ship port for free. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I both travel extensively for work and have been staying at this hotel consistently for the past 5 years (sometimes weekly). The service is AMAZING and they always make us feel like we're at home when we walk through the front door. I have to give a special recommendation to both Kenny and Bonita, although everyone we've encountered is outstanding.

The hotel: They updated their rooms a couple of years ago - new paint, furniture, bedding so it has a more modern feel than some of the other Residence Inns we've stayed in. There is a charge for parking in the gated lot directly across the street . For those who enjoy swimming there's a nice pool and hot tub that is shared with the Courtyard Marriott. The free breakfast is nice. They also offer "happy hours" in the evening with free wine and beer, however, we've never had the opportunity to attend. The fitness room is tiny. If you plan on getting in a good workout I'd recommend going to Choice Fitness on South Howard - their day rate is $12.50.

The location of this hotel is a plus, too. It one block away from the Performing Arts Center and if you like to walk or run there's the Riverwalk that winds along the river downtown. The Tampa Art Museum and their grounds is one block away (with a great dog park). The hotel offers a free shuttle - Channelside (the cruiseport) is a fun location that offers a variety of restaurants. There are several good restaurants downtown, as well. Recommendations all within walking distance: Malios Prime (upscale seafood and steak), Taps Wine Bar (you buy a card that you insert into the self dispensing machines - great for sampling many wines!), Indigo's for coffee, Flye (great tapas restaurant with hip vibe and outdoor seating) and First Watch for breakfast. There's many more but these seem to be our favorites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard - much quieter than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twobair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you for visiting the Residence Inn by Marriott Tampa Downtown and sharing your experience about the great service you experienced by our staff. You mentioned two associates in particular and thank you for recognizing them. You mentioned some great local restaurants and would also recommend seeing Ybor City by shuttle for its selection of restaurants and nightlife. Thanks again and please do give us a call when returning back to the area.
Sincerely,

Stephanos G. Anamisis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridan Palace Hotel
#100 of 163 in Tampa
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $121 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing