We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back”
Review of China Yuan

China Yuan
Ranked #359 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Will go back”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

First time trying dim sum so I honesty have nothing to go off- this restaurant is one of the few That offer dim sum till 4.30 which is good.
I liked the dim sum we had a variety of
Dumplings and sticky rice all pretty good I will go try different ones and see how it compares. I will go back here for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A clean, family style restaurant with delicious food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The vegetables are always fresh and special requests are cheerfully accommodated. The menu meets every appetite, offering fresh seafood, poultry, beef and vegetarian selections. Lobsters are brought in straight from the boat and fish are delivered three times a week. You select your own to be cooked. Never greasy, always delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lobster heaven”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From your visual inspection of the live lobsters ( or your avoidance of meeting your dinner, face to face ), the process from salt-water tank to plate takes only a few minutes...and the variety of preparations is limited by your imagination. The garlic-black bean sauce is my personal favorite. An excellent selection of dim sum is available daily and their own variety of pot-stickers cannot be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“If this is the best chinese in Tampa, we have a problem”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Read all the reviews raving about how great this place is and read the extensive dim sum menue on line and so decided to try it last night.

No dim sum after 4:30! Forget about it.

First, the place looks like it is about to go out of business. Only maybe two or three tables occupied when we were there. Very sparse offerings; wine came in an airline mini bottle except they only had one so had to actually open a regular bottle for a second glass.

Egg roles could have come from Sam's Club and been as good (maybe they did). Moo Shu pork was ok but wrappers were soggy and too thick. Honey Pork, supposedly their specialty was ok, not great. Still don't know if their dim sum is any good.

Probably would recommend a try for the dim sum, but would pass on the rest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankerchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“China's gift to Tampa”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I'm not Chinese: never been there either, so I can't tell you if the food's "authentic" here like most of the previous reviewers have commented. I have, however, eaten in a few hundred "Chinese" restaurants in this country and I can say the food here on a different level entirely from what you get in most of them. If it's not authentic, then they seem to be fooling most of their Asian regular customers.

The food is excellent, the service is very friendly, the facility clean and comfortable. The prices are very reasonable for the quality provided. My only complaint--and it's a common one with this type of place--is that I wish that the menu could provide detailed descriptions of the dishes offered. The menu is very extensive and there's no way I can tell what a dish contains from its name alone.

But then, you can always pick out a dish that sounds interesting and then see what it is when it comes out. Your chances of picking a winner here are actually quite good.

We don't have a Chinatown in this city, unlike NY, LA or SF. But Tampa is most fortunate to have both China Yuan and Yummy House right nearby in a neighborhood that certainly doesn't seem to be an Asian enclave by any means. There's no reason for anyone to pick favorites here--they're both wonderful restaurants and we should be thankful to have them both.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing