We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Near airport and nice views over the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% Off*
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Near airport and nice views over the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The DoubleTree is near the airport, a mall and restaurants are nearby. The rooms are clean and if you are lucky you have a wonderful view over Tampa Bay. The hotel itself is a little bit older and needs a little bit of renovation.

Room Tip: Waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    314
    147
    56
    31
See reviews for
294
242
55
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I bought one night at this beautiful hotel for a honeymoon night and the AC went out for several hours. Now in Florida that is a big deal! I left several messages with Shelly the manager and she doesn't return my call. We where promised extra HHpoints and where never given by the front desk clerk. a $30 discount was applied but I don't know of anywhere in Tampa Bay that a room with out AC for several hours would even be booked for $30.00. Plus its not like I can get get another honeymoon. Thanks a lot Hilton and the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tampa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a pool adjacent to the bay. It is beautiful. The room was spacious accommodating our large family. We would have preferred to be on the beach but this was fine. Lots to do and eat nearby. We were concerned that the airplane noise we be excessive but it wasn't.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good Day Brian F,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location, and we are happy that our suites were able to accommodate your family. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future, and thank you again for providing your comments. Enjoy your day!

Sincerely,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
438 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is the location I would stay if I needed a Hilton hotel near the airport, but not stuck in a commercial area. It is a little older hotel, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area while small has plenty of seating and faces the bay looking at the sunset. You can walk to Bahama Breeze or any event at Hogan's Beach area. Very laid back and restful. Great poolside food and beverage service. There are a few patio suites on the first floor that open on the pool area. No balconies in the hotel, but you can ask for a bay view for a scenic view. Convenient with a pretty view and quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view if you want to see the sunset over Old Tampa Bay from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Day Tampa Trips,

Thank you for providing your evaluation of your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed our location, rooms and staff. We look forward to your future stays with us, and thank you again for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

ALL hotel staff - front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, shuttle and facilities mgmt - were all extremely helpful! My plane arrived 3 hrs before check-in but they had a room ready - No waiting! Rooms were clean, I didn't know this until the day I left, but the free airport shuttle will also take you to popular places (Bahama Breeze, Whiskey Joe's, Int'l Mall, etc) also! I always tip staff & drivers each time they provide me a service. That "thank you" went a long way. Pool area very clean, always plentiful pool towels and shade. Grab some free coffee and look for the dolphins along the bay wall in the mornings!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Day Kimberly T,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your feedback. Your experience is very valuable to us, and the one thing I am most proud to hear of is the level of service that was provided during your stay from all of our team members. As a team, we know that the most important thing that sets us apart from our competitiors is our service, so we appreciate that you have shared this information. We are glad to know as well that you were able to experience some of the other great amenities our property has to offer such as the pool, the shuttle service and our clean rooms. The dolphins are always a plus as well!. Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we hope to serve you again soon.

Kindly,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a nice surprise, the entire hotel was excellent from the front desk check-in service to the pool to the bar to the room, the parking, location and value for your money. No complaints, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Day James R,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay went very smoothly and that you enjoyed all aspects of our property. It seems that from beginning to end, everything went very well, and that is always what we aim to provide. We hope to see you again in the near future, and thank you again for providing your feedback.

Kindly,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a surprise this one turned out to be. The hotel actually juts into the bay with mangroves and dolphins. The pool is located right on the bay. You can't hear the highway, in fact you would think you were alone in the area. The resort feel continues with a large suite, nice bed and everything else you would expect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Parking was free. There is a decent restaurant open long hours. This would be a great place to stay near the airport. I was there on the weekend and my price was extra nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyandlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Day Nancyandlucky,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. As you point out, one of the big perks of our location is that you feel as if you are in a secluded area surrounded by wildlife, but you are also near to restaurants and shopping within a short drive. What a treat that you were able to see the dolphins, just one of the many types of wildlife that can be seen from our pool area. It is also nice to hear that our service was excellent and that you enjoyed the property as a whole. We look forward to serving you again, and thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#31 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#58 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.4 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#107 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing