We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
1 review
“The worst stay ever”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was not informed that the hotel was under construction. I was woken up early both days by construction noise. The girl at the front desk (side room because desk was not available) was rude and unapologetic. Worst stay ever and I stay there 2-3 times per year. Will not ever again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are very sorry about the construction disruptions you encountered during your most recent stay with us. The renovation is almost completed. As our guest, we certainly never want you to feel uncomfortable or disrespected. We've shared your feedback with the appropriate members of our team. We value your loyalty to us and hope you'll reconsider giving us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
Pat Shimon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    425
    189
    76
    54
See reviews for
399
339
79
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Under major renovations, loud, messy, no water for 4 hrs today, hidden front desk and going thru construction and receptionist cannot even be pleasant when the atmosphere clearly isn't..in fact at
Check in I was never even informed there was no water. Had a diamond card in the room thanking me yet I'm not diamond, bed is horrible and silly cheap name brand tv remote controls don't even work well. Only positive was strawberry water at check in....absolutely do not recommend this place now, come back and try it when renovations are done....only if convenient

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DenyseAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Did not know it was being renovated at the time of booking. Could not find front desk on arrival. The room we had was renovated. Kept hearing shower or toilet running through the night? Ice machine on floor was not working (5th). Had to ask for cork screw at restaurant but they only had one so I had to take to room and return right away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us, we appreciate both. I apologize for the inconveniences you incurred during your stay due to our renovation. It is almost complete and the hotel looks great. The 5th floor ice machine has been fixed and the wine opener concern addressed. Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Pat Shimon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here Nov. 22 and 23, 2013. Even though the hotel was under some major renovations, our room was spacious and very clean as was the pool area. Breakfast buffet was a little pricey for what you get. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Queenofsanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

there for back surgery, booked through the LSI. with the exception of the 4 in the mangers office the staff would be looking for new jobs if I was in charge. They are rude and not task oriented. The building should not be housing guests while "renovating" the water was shut off in the middle if the day (that should have been done 2-4 during a less needed timeframe) everything leaks, some detailing is quite needed in the cleaning arena especially in the bathroom. Being a off shoot of the LSI some decent comfortable seating should be provided...everything was dump ready. the restaurant has terrible food. the drivers were all very nice!!! house keeping needs to learn to actually clean...the tub was backed up that tells me no one cleaned that tub since they didn't address that issue. EWWWW!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize for the discomfort you felt during your stay at our hotel. We've noted your comments regarding the renovation disruptions and will work with our construction team to make feasible changes. Please feel free to share any additional comments with us.

Kind regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Room was filthy, TV did not work, lock on door was broken, room key cards NEVER did work, housekeeping had to keep opening our door to let us in. The staff changed our room twice from water front to storage area view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We've also addressed your concerns with the key card entry issues and apologize for the inconvenience. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate refresh options at our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is well appointed and overlooks Tampa Bay with beautiful landscaping around and including the pool area. You get the feel you're on an island in the Carribbean. The hotel was undergoing lobby renovations that will greatly enhance the front door entrance appearance. I especially enjoyed the quiteness in my room not hearing noise from other guests. Would recommend an upgrade in the bathroom to include nicer holders to hold the soap of which fell short in appearance and quality. All who assisted me were very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#41 of 163 in Tampa
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#65 of 163 in Tampa
1,589 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.3 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing