We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Ranked #26 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As a Hilton's Honor member, very disappointed with my stay in this hotel. This has to be the worst experience. I did not even stay for the full time that I booked with this hotel. The air conditioner was not properly working in my room. It was also not working in general on the floor in which I was staying in. The noise level was high so definitely not a comfortable night's stay. I've stayed in many Hilton hotels and by far this has been my worst stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It's very disappointing to hear that you did not have a good experience. We strive to make guests feel at home with us and I'm sorry that the noise volume and temperature levels made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team so we can make the necessary improvements. We are beginning a $6.5 million renovation this month and are addressing the areas you commented on during the refresh. We hope we can invite you back for a much quieter and relaxing stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had such a wonderful time here. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. The staff was friendly and the views are spectacular. Love that the rooms are so spacious and well appointed. When you go to the pool keep an eye out for Dolphins in the waterway over there. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dboal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had booked a Bay view and was really looking forward to it as well as the kids. We'd just come from a less than stellar (non Double Tree) hotel in Orlando and the kids had high expectations for this hotel. Unfortunately the room we got was overlooking the parking lot and busy causeway (road) with a bright parking lot light shining into our room. I politely asked the front desk staff if there was any other we could have and they set us up at the far end, right at the Bay and overlooking the pool. The kids and I were ecstatic! The room was the best one in the 2 week vacation we had in the Tampa/Orlando area. We enjoyed Clearwater Beach and Busch Gardens but the icing on the cake was coming back to such a great second home as our Double Tree Suite We will definitely stay there again and will be recommending it to family and friends. Thank you so much for everything! E. Dickinson

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had surgery at Laser Spine Institute. This hotel was within walking distance to LSI. Carlos and Michelle who worked the morning shift (6a-2p, 7a-3p) were outstanding!!!!!! Great location to the airport and local restaurants. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for the night prior to flying out of Tampa. Room very spacious and tidy,pool area tidy and overlooks bay with sunset views, possible 2or3 restaurant/bars within walking distance. Took under 10mins to get to airport and drop rental car off.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank maldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had stayed there a few years ago. The bay side view is relaxing. We enjoyed having a suite. The hotel is close to Bern's steakhouse where we went to celebrate our anniversary. Parking at he hotel is very well lit and we felt very safe returning late at night. We were not there long enough to enjoy the amenities the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bevetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very comfortable and relaxing stay ... away for downtown area. Nice veiw of Tampa Bay. Easy access to major highways and close to nice restaurants ... Chart House and Bahama Breeze. Parking was well- lighted and feels more secure compared to my stays in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $99 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing