We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what you receive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Derby, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you receive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Convenient to airport and surrounding access to main highways; however, this hotel needs a face lift. Outdated decor and rooms. Upon check-in, we could not open our door. Key turned light green and door would not push open. Maintenance had to be called and a new lock had to be installed which delayed our departure for an event. The staff is great - friendly and willing help. It would be nice if the lobby offered complimentary coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we appreciate your feedback. Were always looking for new opportunities to make enhancement updates to our interior look and will keep your suggestions in mind. I apologize that your room lock was broken and regret the inconvenience this caused you and delayed arrival to your scheduled event. Were working with our maintenance team to ensure were doing all we can to prevent the issue for future guests. Please let us know if you have any additional comment that would help make your stay even better.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    395
    174
    71
    46
See reviews for
369
309
69
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early March as part of a two-week Florida visit. We were familar with the location as we've eaten at the Bahama Breeze restaurant a few blocks away during previous visits. The location is convenient if you like to be centrally located - getting to Clearwater and St. Pete beaches took about a half-hour while those with business in Tampa or heading to Busch Gardens will be happy as well.

As mentioned in most of the other reviews - this hotel is showing it's age. Lobby areas and even the building need freshening - and it won't be cheap as this is a big hotel. The rooms themselves were spotless and huge. The pool area is very large and right on the water. I assumed the pool was in the sun most of the day but it's not positioned as I thought - no sunset view from the pool and that means no sun after around 4pm, depending on the time of the year. The hotel does not have a whirlpool - a bit of a disappointment as my wife loves lounging in one with a book.

Another negative was that the rooms lacked a balcony or windows that opened. Such a beautiful view across the water - seems like a shame to be locked up without outdoors exposure to the elements.

The health club is located on the third floor - a nice selection of cardio but as with the other two hotels we stayed at on this trip - no strength training machines - only dumbbells and a bench.

We had the breakfast buffet ($15) our last day and it was pretty good - it beats driving around looking for a place downtown Tampa for an alternative. That said, the menu and reputation/comments here and elsewhere regarding the restaurant were enough to not tempt fate for lunch or dinner. The previously mentioned Bahama Breeze - just down the street from the hotel - is a very enjoyable place - great outdoor bar area with island-style music (typically a solid one-man band) and the food is pretty good as well.

Beside the Bahama Breeze, there are 4-5 other solid dinner/entertainment places with a mile of the Doubletree including Whiskey Joes (average but a good Florida beach style venue), the Tampa version of the Rusty Pelican that got it's rep via it's Miami Key Biscayne location, Chart House and a few others. If you really plan on centering your activities around the Clearwater to St. Pete Beach area - you probably should stay on the other side of the bay closer to the beaches - as traffic back to the city on the causeways from around 4-6pm can be bad even without any accidents and horrendous with one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. Due to our concern for guest safety we do not have balcony's nor windows that can open. I am pleased to report we will be undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation next year. I am confident you will enjoy the changes we make. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will give us another opportunity and tell us what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great location by my work location with easy access to Clearwater Beach.

I'm a Gold Member of Hilton so my only issue with DoubleTree (like Hampton), is that the in room A/C (and heater) units are very loud. In this particular DTree, the unit was right next to the TV in the bedroom area of the suite.

When the unit kicked on, you had to turn the TV up to hear it. When the unit kicked off, the TV was so loud.

Annoying.

Room Tip: Bay view is OK, but nothing spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billsinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Quiet, comfortable rooms. Wonderful staff and good food. Location close to the airport and highways to go anywhere. Buisness center open 24 hours. Pool area very relaxing and private. I definetly would stay again and again.

Room Tip: view of the bay water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are proud of our caring team and our excellent customer service. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stay at Doubletree whenever I can. Very clean, staff very attentive. Stayed when attending Yankee Spring Training with 3 children. Close to stadium. Very nice for Families. Big rooms, great pool. Free shuttles to and from airport, which also very close. Restaurant expensive for family and has limited hours.

Room Tip: Great view of either Tampa Bay or Pool either one great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTraveler102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and experienced our excellent customer service. We do take great pride in the product we provide to our guests and in turn are proud of our great service scores. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on Dec 25 for one night and had dinner in the hotel restaurant. Food was good but shortly after dinner one in the family fell ill with clear signs of food poisoning. It took 3 days to fully recover which meant part of the vacation was spoiled of course.
Next morning we had a meeting with the restaurant manager who duly noted the incident and made some reports. Shortly afterwards we were contacted by their insurance company who now have concluded that there was no proof of this beeing the restaurants fault. And no compensation of any kind offered. Very disappointing customer care from the Hilton Group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I really liked this hotel. The design of the hotel is a bit older and I've stayed in similar Doubletree suites in Nashville and Raleigh. The hotel is in great shape and is well cared for. The staff was friendly and the rooms are spacious and quiet. While most Tampa airport hotels are in busy urban settings, this hotel is on a small strip of land in the bay. It's a beautiful and quiet setting and it's still very close to the airport. I will stay here again when I need a hotel near the airport and I'll also stay here any time I want a great hotel in Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MItravelerforbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit We look forward to have you stay with us no your next visit to Tampa and can't wait to hear your opinion on the changes made during our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#70 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing