We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food”
Review of Taco Bus

Taco Bus
Ranked #116 of 2,384 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Most Mexican places you'll find serve the same old generic Americanized Mexican food, and avoid anything that Americans aren't used to. The Taco Bus does the opposite - they serve authentic southern Mexican food. Among their more exotic offerings are Cochinita Pibil (a pork recipe that has its origins in Mayan times) and Lengua (beef tongue). But don't worry, there are some less adventurous options that are equally good, including the very good Pollo Verde (shredded chicken with a piquant tomatillo sauce). The guacamole is also incredibly good, and if you're looking for an interesting beverage, choose from their selection of agua fresca or the sweet vanilla and cinnamon flavored horchata.

You order your food from the window of a bus, which also serves as the kitchen, and there are a number of tables scattered around inside and outside. In other words, this place is very casual, but is the most authentic you'll get in the Tampa area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luedtkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    136
    48
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth Standing in Line”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

There is always a line at this little eatery. My favorite item is the shrimp tostada; low in calories and very tasty. There are tables i nside or outside. Not much atmosphere, but really good Mexican food.

Helpful?
Thank Paula33559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Tampa”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

To say that this place isn't fancy is putting it mildly, but the food is amazing and it would be a huge mistake to let the way this place looks discourage you from visiting. Everything on the menu is good, the portions are huge and the prices are more than reasonable. I've been going there for years and the service has always been just fine. I don't go to the Taco Bus for the service, though; I go for the food. PS--the hibiscus lemonade is pretty fantastic. If they have it, try it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Impossible2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Street Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Not pretentious, a real hole in the wall,
but simple and very well prepared.
We both had a taco and a tostada and the total was under $12.
The tostada is the best value because you get the same choice of over a dozen toppings,
but with a slathering of refried pinto beans.
The Cochinita Pibil, the 5,000 year old Mayan recipe, was our least favorite.
Best was the plain but well seasoned Pollo, or chicken.
Carne Asada, the grilled steak marinated in Mexican seasonings, came in second.
The service was pleasant but confused.
We had to insist on paying our bill!
We will definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, but......”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Taco Bus is great, but don't think that it is a bargain because it is from a bus. Staff taking the order was great but their wasn't anyone to check on patrons once seated which would have been nice. Nothing was wrong with my order, but it would have been great because the price of the food is comparable to several other Mexican restaraunts that have a wait staff. Definate plus that they are open 24/7....yes, 24/7. The burritos are large and when ordering tacos they give you 2 tortillas per taco so essentially you are getting a 2 for one. Buen provecho!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Bus also viewed

 

Been to Taco Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing