We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very informative and an incredible showing of tampa's history”

Tampa Bay History Center
Ranked #20 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience 12,000 years of powerful stories at the Tampa Bay History Center. During your journey, you will stroll through a 1920s-era cigar store, row up the Hillsborough River, ride along with a cattle drive and learn about the early exploration of Florida. This waterfront building, with an eclectic Museum Store and the signature Columbia Cafe, is a memorable experience for families, history enthusiasts, Tampa area natives and beyond.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very informative and an incredible showing of tampa's history”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the seminole war exhibit was excellent. the museum was beautiful with a columbia restaurant right on property. good ice tea break. the circus photos were fabulous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leevanwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    157
    46
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“super nice”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff here was so wonderful and very knowledgeable. I went with my daughters 4th grade class and it was really nice. there was also a nice place in front of the building for them to have their lunch. It was so well kept, clean and nice. and the staff was so nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great historical past”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I learned a lot about Tampa and the rich cultural past. This is an absolute must see. It is easy to find and parking is right next door to the museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A LOT TO LEARN ABOUT TAMPA BAY”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent several hours here and learned a lot about the history of Tampa Bay. It would be a GREAT place to take children. there is a lot of "hands-on" displays & several short videos. There is two floors of exhibits, an one floor reserved for special events. They have a nice gift shop,&
restaurant & bar. Really a nice day out. I would highly recommend this for families. The children that were there seemed to be having a great time. After we finished seeing everything, there is a GREAT river walk just outside the museum where there is a great view of Tampa Bay & it's
ports. It's a nice place to take a stroll. Bring your camera.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Part of visiting desolate Tampa”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After walking downtown Tampa and noticing that it is completley run down and desolate. We came across this museum! We were so grateful as we were tired of paying for parking and seeing nothing in Tampa's Downtown but closed shops and no people. We enjoyed this museum and I would definitely recommend it as their is nothing else to do in Downtown Tampa. The free parking is a plus and it is a very interesting museum. The only thing I didn't much care for was the circus photos which had nothing to do with Tampa but Oh,well still beats walking up and down an empty city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Bay History Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing