We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tampa Bay History Center
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lots to learn about Tampa history!

We visited the History Center during a mini staycation. The day we were there, customers of Bank... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
FLGirl47
,
Sarasota
One of Top Highlights of Tampa Vacation

Extremely informative history center with interesting interactive displays using a variety of... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
Camille L
,
Burnsville, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 529 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tampa
from $12.95
More Info
from $24.65
More Info
from $84.99
More Info
from $107.00
More Info
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
256
159
46
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
159
46
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews columbia cafe native americans cigar industry blue lot seminole indians excellent museum spanish explorers cigar making traveling exhibit rotating exhibits special exhibit great place to learn beautiful building couple of hours two hours gift shop the river walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent over an hour walking the exhibits and very much geared toward children. Few artifacts and lacks in-depth narratives. Also, leaves out key moments in Tampa and Florida history. A great place to stop if you need to get out of the afternoon Florida thunder showers but that's about it.

Thank drew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We visited the History Center during a mini staycation. The day we were there, customers of Bank of America were provided free access, which was a bonus we had not anticipated. Very nice exhibits and plenty of space to get around, spending as much or as little time as you wish. Location is ideal, right on the river front, so boat tours and events in the adjacent park can be enjoyed to make a day of it.

Thank FLGirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Extremely informative history center with interesting interactive displays using a variety of media. Welcoming and knowledgeable staff. On top floor, surprisingly panaramic views of Tampa with cooling breeze. Finally, satellite site of Columbia Restaurant served table prepared tasty salad, and the delicious Key lime pie was large enough to be shared by three travelers.

1  Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

At first glance Tampa Bay History Center looks like a office building, but there is more than exterior. Located in Downtown Tampa, by the riverwalk and Amelie Center, the history museum is a good addition to your itinerary, when visiting Tampa. The museum chronicles Tampa's history from the first Native tribes, to the first Spanish explorers, to it's cigar day, tomthe present. There are a lot of artifacts and exhibits, as well as, videos that showcase how Tampa became the city it is thorugh the struggle of it's people. The museum is good place to escape the Florida heat. Also a great tool for history teachers and parents alike. You can make it part of your riverwalk exploring day. The one thing I didn't like was that the exhibit were not in chronilogical order, but that's a minor thing. Overall, Tampa History Center is great place to spend an inexpensive few hours away from the sun, complete with a restaurant.

1  Thank Josue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Return visit for us. Nicely maintained - clean, neat and interesting exhibits. The brand new pirate exhibit was our favorite. Go first thing in the morning and then enjoy lunch at the Colombia Cafe.

Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This was a very nice visit. The museum was nicely laid out and enjoyable. The pirate display made all us feel like kids again. And with the Columbia snake we were able to enjoy a nice meal. The only draw back was parking but we quickly figured it out and had a very nice time.

Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by after a cruise. The museum explained what happened to the natives in a very engaging way. This museum is great for adults and kids. The three main films are well done. Don’t miss the top floor. The restaurant is great too. Skip the Tango Mango, but don’t miss the Mojito. The Cuban was large enough for two people.

Thank kwgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Tampa Bay History Museum has been on our "to do list" for quite awhile. We're glad we finally made time because, it was not only a fascinating and truthful presentation of Tampa and Southwest Florida history (Ancient Indians, Seminole, Spanish, Cuban, Italian, Pirates, Cigars, Sports, etc.), it was also fun with just the right touch of humor. The combination of very well done visual exhibits, descriptive plaques, photos, video presentations, etc. provide a very enjoyable combination of walking and restful seating. Be sure to go out onto the observation deck. Including a leisurely lunch at the Columbia Cafe, we needed 5 hours to take in all the detail. One hint......to save time and shorten the walk, we suggest parking at the Garrison lot across the street from the History Center.

2  Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The center makes the history of the area more interesting by focusing on a few select topics - pirates, the cigar and citrus industries, the success of the shipping industry, and Tampa during the World Wars. There are several interactive displays which appeal to younger patrons. It is a manageable museum and can be covered in under two hours. The visit can be topped off by lunch at the Columbia restaurant located in the museum.

Thank drndorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

We have been to this museum a few times. I absolutely love history that is showcased from early Florida through the ages! They do an interesting Halloween event for the kids every year. They also have a number of guest speakers that are very interesting. The Coulmbia onsite is an advantage.

Thank wendys74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews