We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST HISTORICAL TOURS I'VE BEEN ON!!!”

Ybor City Historic Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 80 Tours in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is no better way to experience Ybor City than at streetlevel on foot. Come discover this vibrant and diverse city. Ourwalking tours explore the many layers of history that make up the fabric of Ybor City. Tours start from the Vicente Martinez-Ybor statue at Centro Ybor on Seventh Avenue. Call for current schedule.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST HISTORICAL TOURS I'VE BEEN ON!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've been on serveral historic tours around the country but one of the best so far is right in my hometown! Lonnie Herman's tour is very detailed yet entertaining (a rare feat in the realm of historical tours). The founding of Ybor City, it's role in important national and international events, and it's connection with organization crime is all covered on this tour. A must for both locals and vistors alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    17
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our guide Lonnie was knowledgeable interesting and considerate We we're so glad we had the experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We live in the area and still learned so much more than we ever knew . A great value We went to places we would not have been able to enter on our own and learned about life in a unique time in our past

Helpful?
Thank nhensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful local history lesson!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a great way to spend an afternoon! Lonnie has an incredible knowledge of Ybor City and is very adept at sharing this knowledge in a way that makes you feel like you are living the history. His tour is definitely entertaining and well worth the cost and time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour. Locals, too!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Being born and raised in Ybor City, I thought I knew it all but Lonnie knew more! He is a great storyteller with great knowledge of the area. He is also very willing to answer any of your questions. I highly recommend the tour to visitors as well as locals. What a fun way to spend an afternoon even if its in your own backyard!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hope1956_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma Heights, Ohio
1 review
“Ybor city walking tour”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went on this walking tour on our recent trip to Tampa. Lonnie is a fantastic guide and a great storyteller. He keeps you always wanting to hear more. We couldn't have embraced the history of Ybor City without Lonnie's tour. We highly recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Ybor City. We are so glad we did it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ybor City Historic Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ybor City Historic Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing