We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripoff and very average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vizcaya

Vizcaya
Ranked #100 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Floyd Road
Description: Just north of Rt 580 W Busch Blvd, this small hidden gem in Tampa offers a variety of world class tapas and an extensive wine list Reservations recommended 813-968-7400.
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ripoff and very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went for New Years Eve and I was vey disappointed. They had a limited menu and they jacked the prices up. I ordered the sirloin tips and normally they are $22. That night they were $34 and didn't even come with the french fries it normally comes with. All of the prices were at least $12 more than normal! And the steak tips I had I could have had at Outback and would have tasted better. My wife's paella was ok but my daughters filet was average at best. Again, Outback would have been better.The wine is way overpriced,too. And I had a coupon and they wouldn't even honor it. The waiters took forever to take our order and then forever to give us our check. I still have a coupon and may go back and use it but never again on a New Years Eve. And maybe never again although my wife likes it. I am not a complainer by any way shape or form but I had to write this. We have a friend that used to go there but never again because she says she doesn't trust the owner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dogrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    53
    11
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold food and slow service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant last Saturday and it was terrible. The kitchen was unable to keep up with the number of people eating. The service was very slow and when we finally got our entrees they were cold. We left at this point and paid for drinks and Appetizers.
The manager tried to tell us this had never happened before, we were not the only ones to be unhappy. Stay away

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goteamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I will keep this direct. Mother's 65th Birthday, reservations for 16 that we made a month in advance and then confirmed twice the week of. We arrived and there was a table that maybe fit 10 with 16 place settings. Neither the staff, the hostess, manager or owner that was there would accommodate us and correct this issue. We even asked the manager twice if he could please tell an adjacent table that we would pay for their entire bill if they would kindly allow them to move to another table so that we could add that table to our group. The manager did not even attempt to ask the couple next to us.

We had to ask for everything from the servers. He was a super nice guy and smiley however terrible service all the way around. We had to ask for waters, drinks, menus, etc....

The ambience of the restraint was nice. However the service was totally terrible and the food was mediocre.

Will not be back again unfortunately and we should have gone with our original idea of going to the Columbia.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M3USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No downsides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although Vizcaya has a full menu, we can never get beyond their tapas. Last night we shared a half dozen or so tapas with another couple and went home happy. Dishes featuring fresh shrimp, scallops, ceviche, and escargot baked in a pasty were all delicious. Fresh bread and dipping oil accompanied the meal. Sangria was made special by the fresh fruit being in the glass as opposed to in the pitcher and mixed at the table. Although we enjoyed the old casual village-square ambiance, the newly renovated Vizcaya adds a sophistication that compliments the food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality food every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is one of our favorites in the Tampa area. You can't go wrong if you want to have a quality meal. We last went to celebrate our birthdays and once again Vizcaya did not disappoint. Meal included croquettes, empanadas, and chicken paella. We were only able to eat half the paella which we enjoyed the next day. Can't wait to go again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vizcaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing