We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sunshine Skyway Bridge
from $64.15
More Info
from $325.00
More Info
Reviews (3,339)
Filter reviews
2,952 results
Traveler rating
1,989
744
178
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,989
744
178
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing pier rest area cruise ship afraid of heights both sides gulf of mexico beautiful sight st petersburg high winds beautiful drive pinellas county sunny day great fishing take pictures the tampa bay area roller coaster toll
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,952 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We love driving over the Sunshine Skyway Bridge. It is an awesome drive by day and a little spooky by night. Either way it is great, and the best way to go south from Tampa.

1  Thank Hookroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I love driving over this beautiful bridge
It’s a must see and especially if you drive over at sunset ❤️best view ever

Thank denisefE7832CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Passed over this twice on the way to/from Ellenton. A magnificent feat of engineering and fantastic views across the bay. It’s a bit hairy with the top down and you get the feeling of being on a rollercoaster. A must if you are in this area.

Thank ChairmanJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

The Sunshine Skyway bridge is a great experience crossing the Tampa Bay making it easy to travel from the Rubonia / Gillette area south of Tampa, over to Saint Petersburg (ideal if you want to visit the Salvador Dali museum on the coast at St Petersburg).
A long sweeping drive takes you up to the bridge after the ($1.50) toll giving lots of time for your passengers to take pictures - the rest areas at either side of the bridge were closed when we visited, but it looks like it was still possible to go fishing at those points, so I suppose stopping off for a picture would still be possible!
Once you get to the bridge you drive up a steep slope - the top gives great views and the yellow struts/suspension elements stand out from the bright blue sky- then you are down the other side with great views of the bay at St Petersburg.
It’s tempting to slow down, but the other users want to zoom along, there are two lanes, as obviously they are all going somewhere!

Thank 834roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Its a bridge. I drove from one end to the other. Its a pretty highh nridge for Florida. This nridge crosses the Tampa Bay.

Thank dontscrewme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

But then why not. Rebuilt so it's gotta be safer than older bridge's. Enjoy at sunset, its hard to not stare at the sky.

Thank Jimmye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

I wish I could enjoy it while driving but it freaked me out the first time. It does get easier the more you do it and it’s a beautiful sight while sailing under it.

Thank 6166michelleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This gorgeous span offers a fishing piers and rest areas to have a picnic, etc. The USCGC Blackthorn Memorial must be seen. Take a few minutes next time you go across to stop and take it all in.

Thank Wendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Driving up or down the bridge one feels on top of the Bay
A wide open view that makes you feel on top of the world!!
Best of all is going under the bridge ! Awesome when cruise ships pass under ...one can see the details and the armor that keeps is standing so beautiful..one feels like almost touching it but not really...is still way high. I have taken numerous fotos and is never the last.

Thank milagros148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An amazing bridge and the old bridge was open for fishing on both the Pinellas side and Hillsborough side. We tried both. Fishing and wind was better on the Hillsborough stretch. You meed to come at night, it it is magical

Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews