We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Sunshine Skyway Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Motorcycle Tour of Sunshine Skyway Bridge
More Info
$64.15*
and up
St. Petersburg Private Sunset Cruise
More Info
$324.99*
and up
Ultimate Tampa Bay and Fort De Soto Helicopter Tour
Ranked #3 of 198 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stop at the old bridge, two halves each now a fishing pier, get out and have a stroll.

Charges for to walk along fishing pier are a con, pay for one side, get into the other free if you turn up within the hour.

Good view of bridge though. Good example of use of reinforced concrete technology.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RovingCivilEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,846
    767
    183
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
728 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Fun drive”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fun drive, shorter than we expected once you got there as it seems so grand in the distance. Make sure that you have a toll tag to drive around some areas near the bridge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Awesome experience it seems as if you are climbing forever and once on the top the views around the area are outstanding. The tolls are nominal compared to England $ 1.25 for one trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A long drive for nothing spectacular”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a long suspension bridge that has a history of collapsing into the bay when a tanker struck one of its moorings. I drove over and back at night and was unimpressed with the bridge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LongWeekendTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa., FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Great Time!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my second trip to both the North and South piers. This past trip was an "all-nighter" on the piers and we had such a great time. Most everything you need is there for fishing but I would bring my own snacks and drinks. The North bait shop is better then the South Bait shop for sure. I suggest you bring your own roll of toilet paper just in case. I had this happen the first time. Great for family outings and beginner anglers. A must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mau18Tampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Skyway Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Skyway Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing