We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food, great staff”
Review of Thai Sweet Basil

Thai Sweet Basil
Ranked #1,157 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Thai Sweet Basil belies its strip-mall location by offering guests a marvelously sophisticated dining experience in terms of venue, food and service. The décor is upscale and contemporary, while the food is meticulously prepared and artistically presented. Add to that professional service that is as it should be - hospitable yet unobtrusive - and you've got the recipe for a lunch or dinner fit for the King of Siam. Favorite appetizers include the Crab Rangoon and marvelous TBS rendition of Summer Rolls. Meanwhile, among the most popular main courses are the Duck Curry, Pad Thai and Pad See Ew. And for dessert, the Fried Bananas with coconut ice cream win hands down.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic food, great staff”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is our "go-to" for a quiet evening and great Thai food. We've never had a bad bite here, and we're made to feel like family. Easily our favorite place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank soundsoktome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant dinner last night at Thai Sweet Basil. I had the duck and it was wonderfully done. It had perfectly crisped skin, and yet a moist interior. Te accompanying vegetables were perfectly coked with a slight firmness and a flavorful sauce. Annette had the scallops and was very pleased with them as well. I am picky about Thai cuisine, but this restaurant has it right

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Everything was Excellent!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here for the first time tonight with my fiance and everything was excellent. The place had quite a few customers but the service was great and very fast. The servers are very friendly and always smiling and serving some really good food. We started out with the dumplings and the crab ragoons and we loved them. I said this is the first place that I have ordered crab ragoons where it actually had a really good crab flavor to them as opposed to just creme cheese. I ordered the pad thai with shrimp and got it hot and it had great flavor and the serving was very big which included 8 good size shrimp. My fiance got a chicken noodle dish which had fatter noodles than the pad thai and hers had a lot of chicken and really good flavor. While we were in here we saw at least three parties come in that were regulars because the servers knew the kids so that is another good sign this place is good. I highly recommend this place for thai food. Everything was fresh and flavorful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCtoTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

One of the better places for thai food in the area. There are a few thai restaurants in this area but we continue going back to TSB...it's quaint, clean good food and service The grouper in chili sauce over mixed veggies is excellent and portions are very generous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chefg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

While there are many choices for a Thai dining experience in Tampa, this one should be at the top of everyone's list. The kitchen out executes all of their competitors, delivering both extraordinary flavors and beautiful presentation. A perfect start is selecting the steamed dumplings. Six tastey dumplings accompanied with tamarind sause with just a touch of spice. An absolute can't miss choice from the entre menu is the Crispy Duck Curry! Rich red curry flavors of just the right heat compliment a generous, flavorful duck nicely sliced and presented on the plate with style. While many Thai dining spots offer a wine menu with little beyond a basic riesling, chardonnay, merlot and cab sav listing, Thai Sweet Basil has more. Our favorite is a selection from a Napa producer, Pine Rigde, a blend of Chenin Blanc and Viognier. Perfect for a spicey menu selection, of which there are many!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing