We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best West Central Florida River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
1101 E River Cove St, Tampa, FL 33604-3257
813-975-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$70*
and up
Helicopter Tour of Tampa Bay and Davis Island
Ranked #32 of 182 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best West Central Florida River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We live in Tampa and the Hillsborough River has become our favorite break from everyday life. Camping in the park is as good as it get's. A canoe ride anywhere on the river brings you within inches of nature. Everything from intimidating gators to delicate dragonflys. Keep an eye out for swimming critters, fish and turtles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlogering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    53
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Take a canoe ride down the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been canoeing down the Hillsborough River since I was a child & recently took my husband out to experience what I used to do. He loved it just as much as I always had. It is a great place to take in nature, watch turtles, fish, & gators. Oh the gators! :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AEreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took a bike ride along the Hillsborough river near 301.
Smooth pavement, nice scenery, peaceful, and alot of the bike path was shaded.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 497Tampatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Movie and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One stop dinner and movie. Food wasn't bad and the service is well timed with the start of the movie. Reservations are a must - place isn't that big.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllenK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

very nice walkway along the river ..clean...lots of nice landscaping...along the river all the way to the aquarium in downtown tampa

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pattijohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing