We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nature but not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
Book In Advance
$89.99*
and up
Downtown Tampa Helicopter Tour
Ranked #33 of 186 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature but not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you were looking to get away and see nature, then do this. If you are looking to stop and picnic or eat at a restaurant, then change plans. Fortunately, we packed our own lunches and thoroughly enjoyed this canoe trip down the river. Gators, turtles, and other wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    53
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big state park with a small fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have been to the Hillsborough River State Park 5 times now and each time we find a new path to follow. Loved the canopy of trees (shade in Florida is a blessing). Bring your camera because, even if your don't see wild pigs or alligators or turtles or birds or fish, you will want to capture the beautiful river and the foliage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dirty River but a good float”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went on the river for on the way to Gasperilla. I put in at the boat ramp near the Lowery Park Zoo which was a nice ramp with bathrooms. The river goes right into the heart of tampa where the Pirate ship docks. I wouldnt suggest swimming in the river

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nwd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great state park experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great camping facility. River at great level for kayaks and canoes.
Wonderful picnic area. Very shaded. Our dog loves the walking trails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great River Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the riverside walkway, very scenic. The only downside is that it is discontinuous at several points with signs pointing you to a downtown sidewalk a block away and then back to the walk. I hope they can complete the walk, then it would be 5 star.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing