We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you wanna get full, go to Datz”
Review of Datz Tampa

Datz Tampa
Ranked #14 of 2,400 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Barcelona
Description: We are omnivores — carnivorous, chocolate-loving, bacon-hoarding, wineauxs, beer geeks, curd nerds and yes, even vegetarians. Together we are shamelessly unapologetic flavor crusaders and Datz is our playground. An american gastropub + market dishing up regional comfort food favorites generously paired with craft beer, boutique wine and artisanal cheese. Served with ample sides of culinary education and entertainment in a spirited, ever-evolving environment. After all, we believe ordinary belongs in the dictionary, not in a restaurant. Especially ours.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you wanna get full, go to Datz”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Come hungry. Datz has great food and huge portion sizes. The mac bites are very addictive and although Datz is known for burgers some of their other sandwiches are very good too (I liked Smokey and the Bird, a chicken sandwich).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sburgess92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi sburgess!

Thanks for the review - so glad that you enjoy a lot of our sammies! We are known for our portions - as you know - so it's awesome that you notice and appreciate it! Thanks for your patronage and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    249
    77
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was pretty good”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

And it had a great atmosphere! A lot of tampa bay bucs stuff in there it must be a place where you might see a bucs player. Food was good nothing great but worth it. I would recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Matthew!

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our atmosphere and the food. We can't wait for you to come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Datz is where it's Atz”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Recently went to Tampa for a wedding. The groom picked my wife and I up from the airport and took us straight to Datz saying that it is one of the best restaurants he had ever been to. We walked in, grabbed a seat at the bar and started off our meal enjoying a beer from one of their many taps. Excellent beer selection! We received very friendly and helpful service from our bartender who recommended that I get the Vandross Burger. This burger is house ground, comes between two glazed donuts with tomato bacon jam and white cheddar. It was without a doubt the best burger I have ever had! The perfect balance between sweet and savory. Everyone else thoroughly enjoyed their meal as well. After we were done we ordered a half dozen of their house made Macaroons and they were to die for! They didn't survive the 20 minute ride to our hotel. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcloeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi DCLoren!
We are so glad that your friend brought you in to try our yummies! The Vandross burger is a definite hit with our customers and it's such a huge, awesome splurge! Thanks for coming in and trying us - we hope to see you again when you're back in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I recently went to Datz in Tampa to meet friends for dinner. We never knew it existed and are now glad it does.

This place was a great surprise. It is not a standout by any means as we drove right past it and the parking is a little bit of a challenge, but once you get here, and get in, it is well worth it. I had Ty's Two Fister which is a corned beef/pastrami sandwich that was served on sour dough that night and homed chips with sour cream on top. Awesome! This sandwich was bigger than I could handle. They also have Black Truffle Fries which I highly recommend.

If you are in Tampa, find this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Manager at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Bob -

A Ty's Two Fister is a great first meal! Good choice! So glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon - so much more stuff on our menu for you to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A Tampa must eclectic but very energetic beer selection outstanding food have to go to to appreciate

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gassyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Gassyken!
Thanks for the great review! We try really hard to keep our beer selection unique and ever-changing. We hope you come back in soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Datz Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing