We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is there life after bacon?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Datz Tampa

Datz Tampa
Ranked #12 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Barcelona
Description: We are omnivores — carnivorous, chocolate-loving, bacon-hoarding, wineauxs, beer geeks, curd nerds and yes, even vegetarians. Together we are shamelessly unapologetic flavor crusaders and Datz is our playground. An american gastropub + market dishing up regional comfort food favorites generously paired with craft beer, boutique wine and artisanal cheese. Served with ample sides of culinary education and entertainment in a spirited, ever-evolving environment. After all, we believe ordinary belongs in the dictionary, not in a restaurant. Especially ours.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Is there life after bacon?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Datz was a choice for dinner that I knew my meat loving boyfriend would enjoy. Most items on the menu include bacon but I don't eat beef or pork. Don't let this scare you away because alternatives are offered. I enjoyed the awesome holy guacamole mezrah sandwich with homemade potatoe chips. He had the fish and chips which was very fresh. Craft Beer selection is wide but they ran out of Bud Light! The place is noisy and fun and if you have to wait for a table you can shop for interesting foods and William Dean chocolates. I wouldn't suggest outside dining because its really just a part of the parking lot. Eat upstairs or at the bar if you can. We saw so many amazing looking plates coming out of the kitchen that we will return to try more. After dinner you can enjoy desert next door at Dough, offering great coffees, breads, muffins and treats to go. And yes, they incorporate bacon into cinnamon rolls and doughnuts too. Its all about decadence at this place, so leave your diet at home and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gweny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the thorough review Gweny - it is really great to read someone who doesn't like bacon - BUT LOVES DATZ! The guac sammie is a good choice. Next time, try the April in Paris - it is another favorite by non-bacon lovers that is sure to please your tastebuds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    243
    74
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Happenin' Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good food; excellent service; great vibe. Perhaps the best part was the service. We sat upstairs where it was noticeably quieter, in fact we could actually have a conversation. Our server was among the most professional I have ever had in a restaurant. (Wish I could remember his name, but he'll remember our tip!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
WOOT! Northpith - thanks for the great compliment to our server. We strive for the best customer service in the business and we are super pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
390 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Busy on the weekend -- plan accordingly! Luckily, the back bar has tons of great beer on tap -- a good place to wait for your table. Servers were good despite the crowds. "Swine rinds" were a big hit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the tip to travelers - we are super busy on the weekends - but you're right, the back bar is a great place to have a drink while you wait - or even eat! We have a full service bar, but we bet you found that out! Thanks again for the review and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

In Tampa for Book of Mormon, had heard about Datz looked at their website and liked what I saw on the menu some not so common items. We both had big A$$ hamburgers one med rare no bun with salad the other med with house chips both cooked perfect. Burgers come with choice of cheese and grilled onions, mushrooms, roasted peppers etc. Also ordered onion rings and pigs fly (bacon) appetizers. Service and food both excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wes34240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Wes34240 - we hope you enjoyed your entire trip to Tampa - sounds like you def had a yummy burger when you came in! Thanks for the fun review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This quaint restaurant has an amazing side outdoor porch with a beautiful atmosphere. The food was delicious and offered awesome variations of typical breakfast items. The latte is a must. Portions are large and filling. Fresh breads and grits.

Helpful?
Thank nursinginga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi NursinginGa - so glad you had a great breakfast! Our lattes just rock, don't they?! We love the coffee we get from right here in the Tampa area. Thanks for the great review - we appreciate you coming to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Datz Tampa also viewed

 

Been to Datz Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing