We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic combination of updated comfort food, interesting atmosphere”
Review of Datz Tampa

Datz Tampa
Ranked #15 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Barcelona
Description: We are omnivores — carnivorous, chocolate-loving, bacon-hoarding, wineauxs, beer geeks, curd nerds and yes, even vegetarians. Together we are shamelessly unapologetic flavor crusaders and Datz is our playground. An american gastropub + market dishing up regional comfort food favorites generously paired with craft beer, boutique wine and artisanal cheese. Served with ample sides of culinary education and entertainment in a spirited, ever-evolving environment. After all, we believe ordinary belongs in the dictionary, not in a restaurant. Especially ours.
Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Eclectic combination of updated comfort food, interesting atmosphere”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We very much enjoyed our dinner here. We were able to make a reservation, so we avoided the wait.

The pretzel bites appetizer was delicious, but should be shared, as it becomes a little monotonous. But tasty.

I was dying to try the "When Pigs Fly" appetizer of hickory smoked bacon, back bacon, peppered bacon, and Nueske's applewood smoked bacon, but my trainer, and doctors, and frankly the paramedics that would have surely been called thanked me for it. It sure does sound awesome, though.

The fish tacos were good, but not memorable. The waffles n' tweet was enormous and absolutely delicious.

The Korean ribeye was cooked perfectly, was a very tender cut, and had a really interesting, tasty coca-cola hoisin glaze and a nice accompaniment of pear chutney and napa cabbage.

The barry c's stuffed meatloaf was also truly enormous - my daughter had three delicious meals out of it. The bacon-jalapeno man n' cheese stuffing was fantastic, with nice sides of garlic mashed potatoes and peas.

Overall, a really nice creative meal, with great service and generous portions. Comfort food on steroids.

The bakery is pretty amazing too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    251
    77
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique Eats”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pleasant experience. Walked right in & seated for an early dinner. Nice outside patio. Eclectic menu & sinful dessert/ chocolate selections. chicken & waffle salad was good. so was the honey glazed salmon with tricolored carrots. Also, the hard to find Pinapple Upside Down cake like Aunt Peggy used to make. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donatella-Bingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Donatella!

So glad you had a good meal with us! Makes our day to read reviews like this :-)

Thanks for spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Always busy but, always worth it. The sandwiches are delicious and generally enormous. Can never go wrong with an "Ari's Dilemma" or "Meatloaf Manwich". Go to the bar for always amazing cocktail and don't forget to stop for macaroons and other delicious deserts next to the hostess stand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Manager at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Casey!

Thank you for the amazing review! So good to hear our hard work and crazy ideas translate into happy customers :-) We have a lot of new, great sandwiches on the menu -- hope you can come in and try them!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's always crowded, but always has great food. Menu changes every day so you never know what you'll be getting. Great dessert bar. Good service, but expect to be there a while.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShivanaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Shivana S!

Thank you for the awesome review and feedback! We are always trying new things and it encourages our craziness when people tell us they like it! :-) I'm glad to hear your comment about your visits being a little drawn out as well. We take cues from reviews like this and use them to improve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot with great sandwich's”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Jalapeno mac n' cheese bites! They have tremendous sandwich's from the chicken/waffle sandwich to philly steak to unique club's. Can be tough to find a parking spot when they are busy. They have a nice little outside area to sit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne P, Owner at Datz Tampa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Bryan B.!

Thanks for taking the time to write this awesome review! We appreciate it! There's nothing better than a good sandwich, is there? Glad you share our obsession :-) Regarding parking, it can seem like a real pain in urban neighborhoods like ours; that's for sure! The good news is, we recently bought the bakery next door and you are welcome to park there anytime. We find that is helping a bit! You can also find plenty of parking in the little side streets nearby, especially to the north. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Datz Tampa also viewed

 

Been to Datz Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing