We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luv this place”

TacoSon Authentic Mexican Grill
Ranked #207 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Luv this place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Food always fresh and so yummy. Had chicken tacos and tamales today. Try the tamarind tea. Service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDSHANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh, Flavorful Food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was kind of skeptical when I first saw TacoSon. It has a drive-thru and I thought for a moment that it was going to be some version of Taco Bell, but that couldn't be further from the truth. They have a great selection of fresh Mexican food and very reasonable prices. I've had several versions of the tacos as well as chips and queso, and they were excellent each time. After my first visit, I couldn't help but recommend TacoSon anytime a friend mentioned wanting to try something new. If you love fresh, flavorful food at a great price in a casual atmosphere, you must visit TacoSon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovelyReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This place does not dissapoint. The food is authentic. I had the "cochinita pibil" and it is the best that i have ever had. I cannot wait to try other items on the menu. This place also has a drive through in case you're in a hurry and rather not get out of the car. Will definitely make this a regular stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Tacos in Tampa”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

These tacos are THE best, hands-down. They are cheap and come with lots of meat. The sauces are delicious, and the toppings are fresh and yummy. The burrito panzon is HUGE and amazing. Tons of meat, rice, delicious sauce, and vegetables. I love coming to the one in Tampa.
I visited the one in St. Pete and could not believe they were from the same owner because I didn't really like the tacos there. The asada tacos were hard, the lengua tacos needed salt desperately, and even though I ordered barbacoa tacos, somehow I ended up with cochinita pibil tacos, which I don't really like. I think it might be due to the fact that none of the people taking the orders spoke Spanish. The St Pete location needs to get it together and be more like the Tampa one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Mexican.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Anything on the menu is delicious. I have tried 4 or 5 different items and have enjoyed them all. Some Mexican can look and taste processed, but all their food has a fresh look and taste. One way to tell is that the salad my wife gets is slightly different everytime, and it is always a good thing.
Also my wife keeps gluten free and there are many choices including corn tortillas. A family of four can go out for $20-30 including dessert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TacoSon Authentic Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to TacoSon Authentic Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing