We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for Airport Flights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for Airport Flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently started and ended our vacation flights by staying at this hotel near the Tampa airport.
The shuttle to and from the airport met our needs and was about a 15 minute ride each time (although we were traveling during very early and late hours. The hotel was well priced, clean and comfortable. The desk clerks were all friendly and and helpful. On our departure morning we were able to get breakfast before our very early shuttle departure for the airport. The suggestions that were made regarding our rooms exceeded our expectations. I would recommend this hotel for airport travel accomodations

Room Tip: If you are a Club Carlson member be sure to present your card when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    124
    54
    28
    34
See reviews for
163
131
39
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Consistently nice. I stay here often on business. Always treat me well. Always clean. Room are comfortable and good size, convenient. I don't generally get breakfast, but it always looks good. Business center is nice feature.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lw10724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful stay here. The staff was so professional and friendly. They actually exceeded my expectations. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. If you are going on a cruise and arrive a day early and need a hotel that has free airport pickup and only a $10 fee to transport you to the cruise port, this is the place to stay. The complimentary breakfast was okay, not bad but just okay. For the price of the room and the GREAT service and friendly staff, you get a lot for the money here. I would definifitely stay here again. Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city
Level Contributor
544 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the Country Inn with about 30 family members before a cruise. Some flew in to meet us at the hotel and others drove from different parts of Florida. The hotel has a Park in Cruise rate and you can leave your car at the hotel while you cruise. They have a shuttle for 10.00 each way that takes you to and from the port. This hotel is also conveniently located about 15 min. for the International Mall and 10 min. from the airport. The hotel had a very friendly staff and a nice breakfast. We loved the fact that it had a washer and dryer to wash a few clothes before the cruise. The Lobby and the hot tub were also nice for our family to socialize around. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I sent an e-mail to the hotel before we arrived and my family was all on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location convenient to Tampa International Airport (10 minutes away). Good complimentary breakfast; seating area a little tight. Only issue involved lavatory water pressure (low) and extreme fluctuations in shower head water temperatures. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. Do you remember your room number? We will need to discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn And Suites standards. Please email me at countryinnfront@gmail.com. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is obviously ONLY for people who are going to/from Tampa airport. It is in an industrial area near the airport. The hotel itself was updated and clean. Check in was easy and quick. The room was comfortable and updated with granite in bathroom, etc. However, the AC unit gave a weird ringing noise that kept me up half the night. I didn't discover the problem until we were unpacked and my young daughter was fast asleep, otherwise I would have tried another room. I decided to try to live with it, but it was hard. It sounded like I had developed a sudden case of ringing in my ears, but I turned off the AC and it stopped. I had to turn the AC back on because it got hot so quickly. It was 82 degrees in the room when we arrived because the AC was off. When I told the attendant at check out about it he said "yeah, we've been replacing a component of the AC units because of that problem." So, it was a known issue, but they keep booking people in those rooms? However, I should note that my husband and daughter slept through it, so some people may not notice or care.

Room Tip: Chek to make sure the AC is quiet!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to contact us at Corporate Customer Care, so we may discuss your accommodations in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After several stays at other Country Inn & Suites locations, when we needed a room close to the Tampa airport for one night, we decided to book here. As a family with a young child, we appreciate the layout of the suites at these hotels, and the availability of a fridge and a microwave without the price going through the roof.

Compared to other Country Inn & Suites we've been to, this location has more modern rooms with excellent furnishings. However, the rooms themselves weren't as big as we expected. Nothing uncomfortable, just a smaller bathroom and a little less room in the "living area". Still, all our expectations were met and the value delivered was fine.

The outdoor pool at this location was great; we had it to ourselves for an hour close to sunset as we unwound from a day of travel. We listened to the tree frogs and insects in the nearby trees, a welcome oasis from the urban sprawl around the airport.

Of course, this location is near the airport. Planes flew overhead regularly, and we heard them late into the night. I know there's nothing to be done about that noise, so I can't really complain.

Our room was on the first floor, right near the lobby, so we also heard people coming in and out, and having small social gatherings in the lobby, late into the night. Fortunately our daughter slept through the noise, but it was unwelcome just the same.

This brings up the biggest difference between this location and the Inn&Suites we stayed at just a couple days prior, in Ocala. Here in Tampa, it seemed the staff wasn't as warm and welcoming. They were courteous and professional and we had no complaints, but that special "something" felt missing. This was made worse by the fact that the staff didn't seem to have a real "handle" on the front lobby; there were frequent noisy conversations late into the evening between guests there, and I would expect the staff to control that area better, given the presence of hotel rooms which basically border it.

Breakfast was fine, as we expect at Country Inn&Suites locations -- a nice variety and enough room to enjoy. Again, there were a couple large groups dominating the dining area, having conversations well past when they were done eating, and it made it a little loud and uncomfortable in the room. I'm not sure what the hotel could do differently about it, but we didn't get the welcome feeling we expected/wanted.

Still, overall, the value, the location, and the room layouts here would probably send us back to this location if we needed another short stay by the Tampa airport.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room right next to the lobby -- noise levels were high past midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel besides the air conditioning issues. We look forward to your next stay. Do you remember your room number? Please email me at countryinnfront@gmail.com so we can assure that any future guests will not be staying in that room.
I apologize about the air conditioning and we will hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Address: 8109 Benjamin Rd, Tampa, FL 33634-2348
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Carlson, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tampa Airport n
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport n Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing