We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sleek property, well worth your money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
stigs17
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Sleek property, well worth your money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting Tampa's Lowry Zoo.

Pros: Check-in was smooth. Cozy, laid-back atmosphere. Well-appointed room with a plasma, large work desk area, very comfortable work chair and evening chair with ottoman. Large, functional, well-designed bathroom. Nice tiling work, granite counter, elegant chrome taps. Excellent soundproofing, the entry door covers right to the ground, blocking out all hallway noise. Why do so many hotels fail to get this right?

Attractive outdoor pool and spa (how rare to have a whirlpool outdoors, I loved this feature - note that you need to ask front desk to activate the heater before using). Public areas were all spotless, evidently this is a well-maintained property. Breakfast is included in their already competitive rate. Cookies are available in the lobby during the afternoon and evening. Just a short drive from downtown Tampa, the Tampa International Airport (24 hour shuttle provided) and the wonderful Lowry Park Zoo. It's far enough off the main road and the airport that traffic noise is not an issue.

Cons: Minimal. The water pressure in the shower was weak, and the bathtub tap was loose. The remote control was non-responsive and would not go past channel 13 (you had to manually enter any higher channel). Of the 45 channels, 15 were either scrambled or unavailable, including TWC. Nobody was at front desk at check-out. After waiting 10 minutes, I left a note with the keys.

Overall, a great stay. Many higher-graded properties could learn from the Country Inn Tampa North.

Room Tip: Don't worry about facing the expressway (West); there is little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stigs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    124
    54
    28
    34
See reviews for
163
131
39
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 07/05/2012 and it was by far the best hotel we had stayed in. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to help us on our trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay at an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
340 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was a great place to stay at the last second. We needed a room at 9 am and that found us one. The was very nice and clean. Later the staff was willing to help us when we needed things. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Country Inn really surpassed my expectations. I came in without a reservation for an overnight stay and they accommodated me immediately - the room was very nice, spacious and clean. Princess at the front desk was great- very professional and catered to my every need , even attended me during breakfast time - thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank You for the great review! Princess is an outstanding member of our staff and it is great to see you feel the same way. I am glad she made you feel like family because that is our goal at Country Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First the positives: close to Tampa Airport (TPA); great shuttle to/from airport; cheap long-term parking available at hotel; friendly front desk staff
Now the negatives: dirty carpets, dirty sheets, plastic bag filled with ??? found between mattresses; not clean

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Floridagal34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank You for the review and for the constructive criticisim. Since the review I have personally inspected each of the rooms and where I found any problems I addressed them at once. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and aim to remedy any problems on the spot. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

When I booked this hotel online I booked it for a romance package which included the room with a whirlpool tub, box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne. When we checked in our room was very clean and what we expected.
However, our champagne an chocolates were not there. So I let the girl at the front desk know and she said she would text the hotel manager since he wasn't there that day. We left for dinner and when we came back the girl ha our champagne and chocolates! The manager must have went out on his day off to get for us! That was really nice.
The only problem I saw with this hotel was that there breakfast ended too early. It was from 6 to 9:30. Other than that great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToryDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for the review! I am glad you enjoyed our Romance Package. It has become a popular package at our hotel. We hope you come back and do it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very convenient location, affordable, clean rooms and a superb staff. Couldn't really ask for anything more. Had an excellent experience with the hotel manager Paul Romero as well, he went above and beyond to assure I had a great stay. Will definitely be staying here again as soon as I can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Address: 8109 Benjamin Rd, Tampa, FL 33634-2348
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tampa Airport n
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport n Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing