We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice dinner in Tampa”

Ocean Prime - Tampa
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime - Tampa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,369 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boy Scout
Transit: This is a public transit stop in front of the mall.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A nice dinner in Tampa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food is really excellent and it's worth to visit it. Although we had reservations we had to wait more than 30 minutes to get a table. The bar is very crowd and noisy and, unfortunately, the noise reaches the restaurant. The service is ok although the waiter didn't explain details of the dishes and made us have salads which were not necessary since the entree is very well served and we already had appetizers. Nice wine list but prices are high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    120
    54
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GASP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ok, first it's BEAUTIFUL. It is very nice and 'classy." Everything single thing I had there was great, even the water! I had lobster bisque which was incridible. So so good, the service was very good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A top class dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was on a short business trip to Tampa and I've been invited at Ocean Prime by a coworker. I had a wonderful dinner and I hope to come back. As far as I could see they are a top class seafood restaurant, but that night I was in a perfect mood for a steak therefore I had a fillet as a main course, and it was absolutely delicious. I had the small one but they offer a variety of sizes to fit any appetite. My coworker told me that I couldn't miss their stone-crab, which is a local delicacy from Tampa bay, so I happily I accepted to share one crab and it was really very good. I actually took some pictures of it. The only thing I haven't been fully happy with was the wine list. As far as I remember the cheapest wine was about 50$, which surprised me a bit considering the huge production of good californian wine at a reasonable price available in the US. In my opinion a wine list should always offer wines starting from a fairly good table wine, which is nowadays absolutely possible in the US. Btw the dinner has been fantastic, the waiters were incredibly nice and professional and the overall atmosphere was perfect. Of course this restaurant is fairly expensive but it really worths.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faban66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New chef...? New ownership...?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We traditionally go to OCEAN PRIME, for the quality of food. Last night my New York strip was very poor with a side of fat hard as the sole of a shoe. The manager came to apologize and offered a free desert that was as bad as the steak. Finally the waiter was unpleased because we did not tip after these events.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fast service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had reservations for my birthday. They decorated the table with confetti. The food was delicious and the service was fast. Great for people watching. It was an older crowd so we didn't stay after dinner for drinks there, but the entertainment was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Prime - Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing