We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent exhibit, food & gift shop”

Tampa Museum of Art
Ranked #42 of 197 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum's impressive collection includes contemporary art as well as Greek and Roman antiquities.
Osprey, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent exhibit, food & gift shop”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Exhibit from Phillips Collection was excellent - including the labels. The restaurant & gift shop have excellent views. The food was very good & the service was good. Charging extra for a 2nd cup of coffee was not good. The variety, price, & service in the gift shop was excellent considering the small space. There was a lack of signage - difficult to find the Museum & the entrance. The parking garage next door had 2 entrances on one way streets. The worst problem was paying for parking in a machine. It didn't want to accept credit cards until an attendant appeared to provide assistance. Machine was too complicated. Additionally you needed to take the original ticket & feed that into another machine before you could exit - another attendant sat there doing nothing. Eliminate the machines & use the attendants!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    103
    43
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Art with a View”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sitting in the cafe is one of my favorite places in the Tampa Bay area. The gallery is pretty small, but the art changes frequently. Popular place for special events since the river front view can be quite spectacular on a typically sunny Florida day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PerkyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great museum & amazing art camp for kids”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We will be attending art camp here again this summer and are looking forward to it. The museum is small but definitely offers a great variety of art. Lunch here never disappoints as well. The gift shop is always worth a stop as you could find things here for people who are difficult to shop for or who have unique tastes. Top notch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank janiac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice regional art museum”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

They have a strong permanent collection of Greek and Roman pottery and other classical artifacts, while the changing exhibits are often modern/contemporary art. The building itself is a work of art and be sure to visit the restrooms to see how they've been furnished. The gift shop/cafe is terrific! The gelato is great and the items for sale are distinctive. The Tampa Museum of Art is not expansive in the scope of art presented, but whet it does, it does well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Adamses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not worth full price admission”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The most disappointing museum I've been to, and it takes a lot for me to consider any museum a let-down.

The layout is poor. Galleries are only on the second floor, yet there is a huge empty area on the first floor. Upstairs, the flow is bad; a lot of dead-end rooms, so you have to backtrack over things you've already seen just to get around the place.

There are five rooms, and most are not very big. The antiquities collection is downright crowded and should be in a bigger room. Another room contained nothing but a large, abstract sculpture. With so little gallery space, why devote an entire room to one sculpture?

Some of the employees hanging around the galleries were busy chatting each other up and goofing off, not even acknowledging visitors; not at all the professionalism you'd expect in an art museum.

One hallway had some small sculptures that were not under glass, and the sculptures actually had a fair amount of dust on them. Again, not what you'd expect in an art museum.

It seems like the museum doesn't really have an identity and is trying to be everything to everyone. One permanent gallery is for antiquities, another permanent gallery had the aforementioned sculpture, and the third permanent gallery had contemporary, abstract sketches and paintings. I'm all for a museum having variety, but this place just feels disjointed. And for the size of the building, the number of pieces on display seems disproportionately small. I left thinking "That was it?"

Having said all that, I did enjoy the special exhibit that was the reason I visited in the first place. I also think the antiquities collection contains some great stuff, although that comes down to personal taste. But I don't think the place is worth the effort or the $12 admission fee UNLESS you're going for one of the special exhibits that you know you'll like.

I wouldn't go out of my way to go here, and I sure wouldn't pay full price (wait until they run their "Friday nights free" promotion). As other reviewers have said, Tampa should do a lot better than this. Take your out-of-town guests to The Ringling in Sarasota or the Fine Arts Museum in St. Pete instead.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mlasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing