We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see and do.”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.89*
and up
MOSI Admission in Tampa
Ranked #30 of 196 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore a World of Possibilities at Tampa’s Museum of Science & Industry with more than 450 hands-on activities, plus Florida’s only IMAX® DOME Theatre, five-stories-tall and offering a higher resolution than any other theater in Tampa; It is more than a movie, it is an experience. Brave extreme weather conditions inside Disasterville, featuring Bay News 9 WeatherQuest, and explore the stages of life in The Amazing You exhibition. Gaze into the starry night sky in MOSI’s Saunders Planetarium, and don’t miss exploring the outdoors in the BioWorks Butterfly Garden and MOSI Backwoods. Kids get to run the show at MOSI’s Kids In Charge!, the largest children’s science center in nation, while kids of all ages get a rush from MOSI’s Sky Trail® Ropes Course and Zip Line.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots to see and do.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We go every year, and every year it seems something has been added. The kids love it..lots of interactive things to do. The planetarium is amazing and the employees that run it sure know their stuff. They recently added some crazy high wire thing that we have yet to conquer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank detroit2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    308
    202
    104
    84
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“science science science”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you like science this the plac to go. There is a mumies of the world exhibition and a planitarium kids in charge and a giant imax dome that make you feel like you are in the movie. Best museum ever

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Butterflies, and space...”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The butterfly garden was my fave! I enjoyed the basic intro to science. I think this is a great experience for children to be introduced to the vast worlds of science, without being over whelmed. The chairs and the IMAX gave me a serious headache and back ache. For adults it is a little lightweight and saccacharine.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good attraction”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We decided to visit the MOSI based on a recommendation from family. In attendance were myself, my wife, and two kids (ages 11 and 9). We had a great time. We spent about 4 hours here and really did not see everything there was to see. The package we bought included everything they had to offer and was about $33 per person. Here are my recommendations for you:

1. The permanent collections are worth seeing though not likely to be the highlight of the visit
2. Skip the Imax - the one we saw was about flying creatures and it was dull
3. Definitely do NOT skip the ropes course if you have kids willing to attempt it. Very fun. Dont wear sandals.
4. Be careful about taking kids to the Mummies exhibit if still ongoing. This was a bit creepy for my 9 yr old. My 11 yr old and I enjoyed it but this is not something for the squeamish. Fetus mummies, etc.
5. The "kids in charge" exhibit was a huge hit with tons of interactive stuff. Inflatable slide and velcro wall will cost extra but not too bad ($5 i think).

All in all we were impressed with not only the quantity of things to see at the MOSI but also the overall quality of the experience as well.

Helpful?
Thank jsefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a delightful surprise! Beautiful botanical gardens; IMAX (true IMAX) theater; very good cafeteria; spotlessly maintained. Courteous and well informed staff. We will return with our grandchildren. Do give it a try!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing