We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood is Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
“Homewood is Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Patsy is amazing! This is a great property with a fantastic staff. It is in a great location. The shuttle is also a great feature. I am very happy with my stay and should my travel needs require me to be back in Tampa the Homewood Suites would be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Brien S,

Thank you Brien! I hope you enjoyed and that you plan to come back to Tampa soon.

at your service,

Patsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    183
    81
    35
    16
See reviews for
300
139
36
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hotel for a getaway for two. Each suite has a kitchette to prepare breakfast in bed or enjoy the complementary breakfast in the lobby. Nice firepit to enjoy as you sip on drinks at the manager's recption. We didn't visit the pool, but others seemed to be enjoying themselves as we looked from our room window. The location was ok, right off I-275, easy to get to downtown and the Westshore mall. Very close to the airport, but not too noisey. Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Yes location is key here at the Homewood, across from the best mall in Tampa! I will share the nice comments you shared about our staff.

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been here twice for a total of 8 nights at this hotel. Both stays were great- staff was friendly and helpful, and it's really awesome that there is a complimentary dinner, wine, and beer Mon-Thurs evenings. Food is average (there have been a few meals that I really liked and you can usually count on having a salad bar), but since it's complimentary I really can't complain.

Some minor things- my remote stopped working at one point, and they had run out of batteries at the front desk. Ultimately, I accompanied one of the staff to a room that was undergoing renovations and switched remotes. My chair on my second stay did not roll very well, but was a minor inconvenience.

I liked the layout of the room on my first stay more than my second stay. On my first stay, I had a King bed- the living room and the bedroom were separated and there were two tvs. There wasn't as much room to move around, but I was able to relax in either rooms. On my second stay, the two rooms were combined instead with a single tv- the bed and the sofa were on two opposite sides, which I personally didn't like. If I decided to use the sofa area, I'd have to move the TV, and again if I wanted to watch TV from my bed.

One complaint was that on my first stay, I could smell smoking in the bedroom/bathroom (I was on the 5th floor- smoking rooms are on the 3rd) even though I was in a nonsmoking room. I was told this was due to their air/venting system. After turning on the fan in the bathroom, the smell cleared away but it was not something I liked. I did not have this problem on my second stay.

I had a hard time getting the temperature just right with the AC on both stays, but I believe they were working on maintenance with all air conditioning units at the end of September/early October. On my second stay, I also had a hard time staying connected to the hotel's wifi, but I am not sure whether to blame to iOS 7 update or the different room because I don't remember having a problem on my first stay. I did not have any wifi connectivity problems on my laptop.

I loved having free coffee/tea 24/7, but I was a little bit disappointed because their hot water was not that hot (just warm). If you drink tea like I do, I'd recommend heating up tap water in the microwave (the coffeemaker will just give you coffee-flavored water).

Overall, the complaints I've had can definitely be overlooked because there are ways to work around them. I definitely recommend staying here if the above listed don't bother you. It's also really close to the airport so if you have an early flight, it's definitely the optimal place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elleodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear elleodee,

I always like to hear from my guest and I appreciate you taking the time!

Thanks!

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

this is the best hotel staff I have ever met. I stayed for multiple months and they took care of my family and I as if we were life long friends. They even made special dessert for my 5 year olds birthday. Amazing. Stay with them and you will enjoy your time in Tampa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Walter,

WOW my team made your 5 year old a special dessert! Yes empowerment is a good thing.

Thanks!

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was well maintained and staff were pleasant, but I was disappointed that my room was not cleaned either of the 2 days I was there. I could understand missing one day, but 2 days in a row was pretty disappointing. I complained to the manager, Patsy, who seemed helpful, but as soon as I checked out, she was no longer interested in following up with me. I did follow up with Hilton Customer Service and they were very responsive. I stay at a lot of Hilton properties each year so I have come to expect a certain level of service. Would have given this property 4 stars, but because of the cleaning issue, I can't give them more than a 3.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRSJW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DRSJW7,

I just sent you a personal message. So sorry I did not get back to you? I do not recall what happen.

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family recently stayed for 19 days at the Homewood Suites in Avion Park after moving to Tampa. It is a great location - close to the airport, downtown and the beaches. Homewood is an excellent value with the free airport shuttle, free breakfast and free WIFI. The staff is professional and helpful. Of all the staff, Matthew Gendreau made a big impression on my family. Very professional and helpful, above and beyond the normal expectations. He is an outstanding example of what makes Hilton branded hotels my first choice when traveling. I often stay at Homewood suites when I travel for work and it is because of all the conveniences they offer at such a competitive rate. Highly recommend this hotel-especially for extended stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall W, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience and recognizing Matthew. He is a great asset to the Front Desk department. I'm know he will be delighted to hear your comments and will be sure to share them with the team. Thank you again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The whole experience was great, the room was clean and love the over head fan. The bed was very comfortable and there was no noise. The breakfast was good and there was always plenty of coffee. Love the fact that it feels like an apartment

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Martha,

Great to hear you felt at home! See you soon!

Patsy Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing