We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“In the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #15 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I guess I should have expected to not have much to do/walk to, staying at an airport hotel. Not even a gas station you can walk to to buy some pop and a snack. There is a small store in the lobby that has a good selection but very pricey ($5 for a Bud Light). The free coffee machines in the lobby were empty whenever I tried to get a cup. The one area eatery is the restaurant in the Hiltion across the street.

I was given a handicap accessible suite for some reason. It was HUGE. But the shower situation didn't seem doable for someone with a physical disability, unless they had a helper. The room was clean but a little threadbare-- dried stains on upholstery, etc.

Okay place to stay if you have a car or are only staying one night.

Front staff and shuttle drivers were very friendly. Note: The Shuttle is not labelled "Homewood Suites" so don't go looking for that when you arrive at the airport. Call the hotel for the name of the shuttle service they use.

Room Tip: As usual, avoid rooms by elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I understand your position and we are hoping to have several dining options other then the Hilton Garden Inn within our complex developed in the next 6 months. In the meantime, we continue to provide transportation to local malls and dining throughout the day and evening. Thank you again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    174
    77
    35
    14
See reviews for
281
130
35
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I booked this hotel at Hiltonfamily.com. They were the least expensive for what turned out to be a very busy weekend. The hotel was completely booked when we arrived. That's where the problems began. Neither the guest checking in before me nor myself were able to get the room we booked. I had booked a full suite with a king bed, non-smoking. What we ended up with was a minisuite with a king bed, smoking. Neither of us has ever smoked. Hollie, the desk clerk could not move us to another hotel, as they were full as well. She did let me go check the room first to see if the smoke odor was too strong. It was slight. As it was 8:45pm, we took the room. The room was fine, except the slight smoke smell. We slept fine. The bed was comfortable and the room has all the expected items. The oversized shower was wonderful. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The hot food was the right temperature and was plentiful. The reason I gave this hotel an average rating, instead of a poor, is the response I got from the general manager. She did everything she could to make things right. I will be getting bonus points, a discounted rate for this night and a discounted rate for next year. She was kind, caring, and concerned. Because of this, I will book this hotel next year and will review it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your time providing valuable feedback on our hotel. I apologize you did not get the suite you originally reserved. I am glad to see that the Manager on Duty did her best to provide exceptional service. We did experience some unexpected situations that unfortunately caused an inconvenience to you over the weekend. I'm glad you will give us another chance and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your time. Mike Nealon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise and one night (unexpectly) after our cruise from the Port of Tampa. Suites are great with kids! Clean and well stocked. The staff were amazing (with one exception). The managers and workers were constantly asking how everything was, and asking for ideas on how to improve. The breakfast was wonderful, the pool beautiful, and we even used the basketball courts! The internet was easy to get and it was free. My BIL said it best: "this is the what you want hotel!" Free shuttle to the airport which is only 5 minutes away. When our ship was delayed, and we missed our filght home, my sister's family and my family went back- gladly. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: All rooms are good (saw 5 of them!) Amazingly you do not hear the planes from the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy81598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Summer is an amazing time to visit Tampa or take a cruise out of the port. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A missed flight due to fog in Tampa port left us and 10K+ other cruise guests scrambling for alternate travel arrangements. Travelers have a ton of selections in the area and this was 1 of 3 in a cul-de-sac that offered a shuttle to the airport. Tampa is a huge convention town and even with the last minute snaffu - there were a lot of choices. Now - i didn't want to spend $270 + tax for the night at this non resort hotel - so I used 30Kpts.
Arrived approximately 5pm and check in representative was very pleasant and efficient - took less than 2 minutes - didn't even need credit card - just the one on file.
Room on 7th floor was large with a King bed, kitchenette, dressing area, shower only - no bath. It is quiet and restful - except I am not a fan of wall/window AC units due to noise. The only plus was it was controlled by a wall thermostat - so turn it up or down when you leave the room so its not running while you sleep.
Walked over to the Hilton Garden Inn which had a small restaurant. Decided to take the free hourly shuttle to the International mall - dined at Brio. On our return, We advised the night desk clerk that the "restaurant list" had long ago been outdated - hopefully if you are reading this and ask for restaurant recommendations the homewood suites updated the list.
If I was staying near the airport again - i would check out the Hilton Garden Inn rates along with the Renaissance at International mall. If I had paid the $270/nt rate for this property - I would not be happy but for $140 or $150 - it would be acceptable. Monday to Thursday - they include dinner so that would make it more attractive too.

Room Tip: Don't count on A-1 express the service that is contracted by the hotel to arrive at the designat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank your for taking your valuable time to provide in depth feedback on our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay. Dont forget to check us out on line for some great summer deals. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES,FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights on President's day weekend. I have to say I'm extremely satisfied with this hotel, the location is pretty much unbeatable if you are flying out of TPA, and even if you are not, the location still awesome, with easy access to highway 275, and only a couple of minutes to two shopping malls and all kind of restaurants, Yankee stadium, and Raymond James Stadium. Also SR 60 is right there should you need to go to Clearwater area.

The reception was very welcoming, the room was clean and spacious; the bedroom with a comfortable king size bed was separate from the seating area which I personally would prefer with a little less furniture (it had a sofa bed, a sofa chair, a table, a workdesk and a desk chair, and a chest drawer with the TV on it, all pretty much together) I thought it took away some of the space provided. I could have done with out some of the furniture but I also understand why they will have them. The small kitchenette had a nice full size refrigerator with an ice maker, two burner range, and a dishwasher.
All of these amenities are welcome specially if you are travelling with kids; I specially enjoy the fact that the hotel provided us with two things higher price hotels charge you so much for it now a days; WiFi and parking, I really liked that. The breakfast, although limited ,had adequate choices for everyone and the ladies that work there besides being nice were pretty much on top of things. Overall very satisfied with our stay and most likely the hotel of choice for us when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUMACALSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feeback on our hotel. We are pleased that you found the location to be excellent. We're also the closest Hilton to Tampa International Airpoprt. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm a retired hotel executive and this hotel is among the best. The management staff is outstanding, particularly the Guest Services Manager, Kendall. She couldn't do enough for us and went over the top for every guest we saw her with. The hotel has pride and leadership that others should follow. The breakfast is good, the rooms are clean and the hotel is very nicely decorated. To me, a bit pricey but what a great staff.

Room Tip: Call the reservations dept 1-2 days before checking in to see if a lower rate is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to provide this feedback! It's great to hear how fantastic Kendall is. We lover her too! She is a Homewood Suites Spirit Award winner and an original member of our opening team. Please come back and see us soon. March is the best time to visit Tampa. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARIEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay with the family. The staff was extrmely friendly and helpful, and made all feel welcome. This hotel has a nice pool area and outdoor seating/fire pit so you can visit with your family after dinner. The meals they served, both breakfast and dinner were very nice, and a great added value. The suites were beautiful and beds were extrmely comfortable. Nice access to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide this information to others wishing to visit our area. I am so pleased you loved staying with us and have given this to all our team members. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing