We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The What You Want Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The What You Want Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise and one night (unexpectly) after our cruise from the Port of Tampa. Suites are great with kids! Clean and well stocked. The staff were amazing (with one exception). The managers and workers were constantly asking how everything was, and asking for ideas on how to improve. The breakfast was wonderful, the pool beautiful, and we even used the basketball courts! The internet was easy to get and it was free. My BIL said it best: "this is the what you want hotel!" Free shuttle to the airport which is only 5 minutes away. When our ship was delayed, and we missed our filght home, my sister's family and my family went back- gladly. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: All rooms are good (saw 5 of them!) Amazingly you do not hear the planes from the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy81598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Summer is an amazing time to visit Tampa or take a cruise out of the port. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    184
    81
    35
    16
See reviews for
300
139
36
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A missed flight due to fog in Tampa port left us and 10K+ other cruise guests scrambling for alternate travel arrangements. Travelers have a ton of selections in the area and this was 1 of 3 in a cul-de-sac that offered a shuttle to the airport. Tampa is a huge convention town and even with the last minute snaffu - there were a lot of choices. Now - i didn't want to spend $270 + tax for the night at this non resort hotel - so I used 30Kpts.
Arrived approximately 5pm and check in representative was very pleasant and efficient - took less than 2 minutes - didn't even need credit card - just the one on file.
Room on 7th floor was large with a King bed, kitchenette, dressing area, shower only - no bath. It is quiet and restful - except I am not a fan of wall/window AC units due to noise. The only plus was it was controlled by a wall thermostat - so turn it up or down when you leave the room so its not running while you sleep.
Walked over to the Hilton Garden Inn which had a small restaurant. Decided to take the free hourly shuttle to the International mall - dined at Brio. On our return, We advised the night desk clerk that the "restaurant list" had long ago been outdated - hopefully if you are reading this and ask for restaurant recommendations the homewood suites updated the list.
If I was staying near the airport again - i would check out the Hilton Garden Inn rates along with the Renaissance at International mall. If I had paid the $270/nt rate for this property - I would not be happy but for $140 or $150 - it would be acceptable. Monday to Thursday - they include dinner so that would make it more attractive too.

Room Tip: Don't count on A-1 express the service that is contracted by the hotel to arrive at the designat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank your for taking your valuable time to provide in depth feedback on our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay. Dont forget to check us out on line for some great summer deals. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES,FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights on President's day weekend. I have to say I'm extremely satisfied with this hotel, the location is pretty much unbeatable if you are flying out of TPA, and even if you are not, the location still awesome, with easy access to highway 275, and only a couple of minutes to two shopping malls and all kind of restaurants, Yankee stadium, and Raymond James Stadium. Also SR 60 is right there should you need to go to Clearwater area.

The reception was very welcoming, the room was clean and spacious; the bedroom with a comfortable king size bed was separate from the seating area which I personally would prefer with a little less furniture (it had a sofa bed, a sofa chair, a table, a workdesk and a desk chair, and a chest drawer with the TV on it, all pretty much together) I thought it took away some of the space provided. I could have done with out some of the furniture but I also understand why they will have them. The small kitchenette had a nice full size refrigerator with an ice maker, two burner range, and a dishwasher.
All of these amenities are welcome specially if you are travelling with kids; I specially enjoy the fact that the hotel provided us with two things higher price hotels charge you so much for it now a days; WiFi and parking, I really liked that. The breakfast, although limited ,had adequate choices for everyone and the ladies that work there besides being nice were pretty much on top of things. Overall very satisfied with our stay and most likely the hotel of choice for us when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUMACALSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feeback on our hotel. We are pleased that you found the location to be excellent. We're also the closest Hilton to Tampa International Airpoprt. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm a retired hotel executive and this hotel is among the best. The management staff is outstanding, particularly the Guest Services Manager, Kendall. She couldn't do enough for us and went over the top for every guest we saw her with. The hotel has pride and leadership that others should follow. The breakfast is good, the rooms are clean and the hotel is very nicely decorated. To me, a bit pricey but what a great staff.

Room Tip: Call the reservations dept 1-2 days before checking in to see if a lower rate is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to provide this feedback! It's great to hear how fantastic Kendall is. We lover her too! She is a Homewood Suites Spirit Award winner and an original member of our opening team. Please come back and see us soon. March is the best time to visit Tampa. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARIEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay with the family. The staff was extrmely friendly and helpful, and made all feel welcome. This hotel has a nice pool area and outdoor seating/fire pit so you can visit with your family after dinner. The meals they served, both breakfast and dinner were very nice, and a great added value. The suites were beautiful and beds were extrmely comfortable. Nice access to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide this information to others wishing to visit our area. I am so pleased you loved staying with us and have given this to all our team members. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

EXCELLENT! Clean rooms, excellent front desk staff... The FIRE PIT outside on a cold night was fun!!!! A very welcome feel at check in and throughout stay. The room was like a mini 1 bedroom apartment including a full kitchen stocked with everything you need to make your own meal. A plus for family! Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phylliswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for all the great feedback on our hotel! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next opportunity for you to come back and see us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, il
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We checked into the hotel for one night pre-cruise. After entering our room, we noticed the deadbolt would not activate. We went down to the desk and maintenance was called. He could not get the deadbolt to work. Back to the front desk. Maintenance showed us another room, but it has the same issue. He indicated all the locks worked this way. I've stayed at a lot of Hilton properties, and this is the first one that did not have a lock out device that worked properly.

Other than that issue, the hotel is nice and you can grab a quick dinner across the street if you get in late. However, due to the security issue, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATIS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. Please let me know if there is any additional information on your situation. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing