We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay near Tampa Airport!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay near Tampa Airport!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am partial to Homewood Suites because we've always had good experiences when we have stayed at them throughout the US. Got to love that military rate! Our family stayed a this location for a week while we were house hunting in the area. While there were a few bumps in the road -- i.e. the housekeeper was scared of our 12 year old Scottish Terrier that was dying of cancer. She refused to clean our room until we were present. The General Manager was very receptive to our concerns and took care of the matter very promptly. The 2 bedroom suite was spacious with comfortable beds. Recommend this location.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator if you are looking for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieLover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write detailed feedback on our hotel. We strive to be better every day and your comments help us achieve our goals. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to future visits. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    221
    98
    42
    23
See reviews for
372
190
43
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment aI walked into the lobby, I felt at home. The suites were fantastic and I felt like I could actually move in ! The breakfast was great and not overcrowded like many hotels complimentary breakfast. Love the idea of the home cooked dinners too. I travel here a lot to this area and now have a new 'home'.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_M_Travelers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. Its great to hear that you loved staying with us and hopefully you can come back and see us soon. Check out the Homewood Suites brand in every city you travel to and see how consistent we are!!! Take care and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent three weeks at the homewood suites, using it as a base to explore that part of Florida and the normal attractions ,we chose this hotel as it seemed to attract mainly good reviews and it was a good price. The staff we came in contact with we're excellent and the condition of the hotel was generally good , in fact it was exactly what you would expect for the money so our vacation was off to a good start. However as the vacation progressed we noticed the initial cleaning standards were not maintained with only the beds and towels receiving daily attention, the dust was getting thicker on the furniture daily , sufficient for us to write (please clean) on the tv,the table and dressing table, the bathroom mirror got the same treatment etched into the water marks but alas the hint wasn't taken so we made our first complaint at the front desk and were told it would be taken care of,after a further two days, as there was no improvement we complained again and the next day the dust was nearly gone and the bathroom was nearly cleaned ,on the sixteenth day of our stay we made a stronger complaint at the front desk , at this point we were told that they were suffering from cleaning issues and the manager was aware of our complaints (pity he didn't act on them) . We returned to the hotel from a shopping trip early afternoon the next day , the room had been partially cleaned again , we were about to go down to complain again when we came across the head cleaner/ supervisor who asked us how our room was, well what an invitation , she was soon aware of our plight and set about cleaning the room again while we disappeared for a couple of hours to allow this , we returned later and found our room spotless , no marks ,dust or fluff anywhere and it actually smelled fresh because this time cleaning products were used and it stayed clean for the remaining four days of our vacation . The moral of this story is that if you intend to stay for three weeks , don't tell them , just check out every morning and check in again every evening because the first day of your stay is the cleanest it's going to be until until the seventeenth day . Apart from the above everything was great, a good vacation .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on our hotel. I apologize for your experience not being perfect over the 3 weeks you stayed with us. I can assure you I am not happy about the issues you experienced and will meet with my team to address each and every one of them. Please give us an opportunity to win your business back. I look forward to meeting you in person during your next trip to Tampa. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel 2 nights last weekend. The 2 bed suite worked well for us with 2 bathrooms. The beds were comfortable. The Iiving room and kitchen were not very large, but we were not in the room much. We had tv's in both bedrooms, and living room. We used the shuttle to go over to the mall, and to the airport. That was nice. The breakfast was good also. They have food during the week nights in the evenings. Staff very friendly , and helpful. Will go back again if need a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njoylivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. We are pleased you have scored us 5 out of 5!!!! You can be assured that if your traveling in the future you can count on the same great experience throughout the Homewood Suites brand. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on a Friday night for a short weekend getaway to Tampa. The front desk receptionist was friendly and offered up suggestions on what to do and where to eat. We took a quick elevator ride up to our room and got to our room.

We were pleasantly surprised at how much they were able to fit into the room - a sink, stovetop, dishwasher, microwave, upper cabinets, and a 5 foot tall fridge. There was a moderate sized closet for your luggage, coats, etc with some shelving and the iron and ironing board. Then there's a desk area with more shelving space and a moveable desk, a desk chair, arm chair with a foot rest, queen-sized bed with a full bathroom and another closet. The space doesn't feel cramped at all. It is very well laid out.

The towels leave something to be desired. They're hard and have seen better days. The room was pretty clean. There was some hair on the ceiling, which was really odd.

The walls are very thin. You can hear everything and you can certainly hear everything from the hallways.

The breakfast is adequate. They offer some fruits, yogurts, cereals and orange juice.

The hotel is literally across the street from the airport, but you can't hear planes taking off or road noise. A hotel shuttle is available to the Port and to the airport. They even offer park and fly packages to leave your car here.

The parking was fine for us. This doesn't seem to be a particularly busy time of year, though. I can see where the parking might get dicey.

The pool is so long! You could do laps in it and get in a lot of distance. It was too cold to use, but definitely worth checking out when it's warmer. They also have a bbq out back to use.

Oh, and most importantly, they're pet-friendly for a small fee!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming back to see us. Winter is a great time to visit the Tampa/St Pete area. Spring training is right around the corner so let us know if we can help with travel plans. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just stayed one night here before a departing flight after a stay at the Hyatt Place when we arrived in Tampa. While the staff at the latter were perhaps a bit more friendly, everything was really fine at the Homewood Suites from the shuttle service to the front desk clerk upon our arrival who offered an upgrade to a two-bedroom if we were willing to wait. Our one-bedroom was very clean and appeared virtually new from a spotless rug to the kitchen appliances. The beds were quite comfortable and there was a lot of room to spread out, especially if there is a snorer in the family. There is also a welcoming cocktail hour and hot breakfast. I'm not sure that you can walk to the shopping area unlike the Hyatt but there is a free shuttle. The only possible negative is if you are not driving you are basically in a small "hotel park" (3 hotels) and both the Marriott and Hilton Garden Suites have small restaurants - serviceable but limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I am so pleased you were happy with your stay. What sets us apart from other hotels is our spacious suites with 1, 2,3 and even 4 beds. At Homewood you will get a suite 50% larger then a regular hotel room. Come back and see us soon. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this Homewood for 5 nights including Christmas Eve. Had plenty of room in the common livingroom for a tree and presents for 3 kids. Very clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable and good sized. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist teenagers in locating and using the shuttle taking them to the mall and cinnema and back. Checked in later to make sure they had made it back.

The breakfast was the only problem I had with the experience. It was typical...scrambled egg with a meat (never bacon...only some undercooked microwaved sausage). The eggs and everything tasted very poor. Even my teenage boys who will eat anything passed on all the meats and eggs.

They did have a small dinner service that was not too bad. It was a Sante Fe chicken/steak strip (microwaved Im sure) on a buffet line with tortillias, cheese and other fixings. The kids did like that but I ordered pizza.

One thing I noticed was how quiet it was. I think they heavily insulated due to the airport. You cant hear any plane or jet noise at anytime of day and no noise comes in from other rooms or the hallway.

The kitchen is great. Fridge full sized and so is the sink and garbage disposal (nice touch). Every type of utensil you can think of is provided. There is the usualy upgraded food sales area available right by the desk 24 hrs selling ben and jerry ice cream and other snacks.

This was our first stay at a Homewood so I dont know how it compares to others. I see reviews saying it was smaller but it didnt feel small to me at all with 4 other people in there. The air was quiet and worked great. I didnt smell smoke at all and I'm pretty sensitive to it. The rooms looked new except for the shower which looked like a generic hotel shower from any time period.
All togther had a really nice stay.

Room Tip: 211 was a really nice 2 bedroom suite, not near high traffic areas. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camperben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing us with feedback. Im glad you enjoyed our spacious two bedroom/two bathroom suites. They are perfect for families traveling for 1 night or 1 month. Please come back and see us again when you are in the Tampa Fl area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.6 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing