We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice 2 bedroom suite for family of 5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice 2 bedroom suite for family of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this Homewood for 5 nights including Christmas Eve. Had plenty of room in the common livingroom for a tree and presents for 3 kids. Very clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable and good sized. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist teenagers in locating and using the shuttle taking them to the mall and cinnema and back. Checked in later to make sure they had made it back.

The breakfast was the only problem I had with the experience. It was typical...scrambled egg with a meat (never bacon...only some undercooked microwaved sausage). The eggs and everything tasted very poor. Even my teenage boys who will eat anything passed on all the meats and eggs.

They did have a small dinner service that was not too bad. It was a Sante Fe chicken/steak strip (microwaved Im sure) on a buffet line with tortillias, cheese and other fixings. The kids did like that but I ordered pizza.

One thing I noticed was how quiet it was. I think they heavily insulated due to the airport. You cant hear any plane or jet noise at anytime of day and no noise comes in from other rooms or the hallway.

The kitchen is great. Fridge full sized and so is the sink and garbage disposal (nice touch). Every type of utensil you can think of is provided. There is the usualy upgraded food sales area available right by the desk 24 hrs selling ben and jerry ice cream and other snacks.

This was our first stay at a Homewood so I dont know how it compares to others. I see reviews saying it was smaller but it didnt feel small to me at all with 4 other people in there. The air was quiet and worked great. I didnt smell smoke at all and I'm pretty sensitive to it. The rooms looked new except for the shower which looked like a generic hotel shower from any time period.
All togther had a really nice stay.

Room Tip: 211 was a really nice 2 bedroom suite, not near high traffic areas. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camperben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing us with feedback. Im glad you enjoyed our spacious two bedroom/two bathroom suites. They are perfect for families traveling for 1 night or 1 month. Please come back and see us again when you are in the Tampa Fl area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    197
    88
    37
    18
See reviews for
327
156
39
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

we spent one night here because of a cancelled flight. unlike other Homewood Suites, smoking and non-smoking rooms are on the same floor--so the smell of smoke was everywhere. the rooms did seem a bit smaller and lower quality than other Homewood Suites I have stayed in. the air conditioner was incredibly noisy at night. the Manager's reception and the breakfast the next morning was more of a stampede than a leisurely meal. the front desk staff were very nice, and tried to be helpful--though had very little actual information. Overall I would not stay here again. I am not sure if this is typical of the chain, or just this one property. I used to have consistently good experiences at Homewood Suites, but perhaps the quality of the chain has declined.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I apologize we were unable to get you on a non smoking floor. Quite frankly I wish our hotel was smoke free however Hilton has not taken that step yet. I understand why you would be upset with your stay. If I can be of any help in the future for travel dont hesitate to contact me at the hotel. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed 1 night after arriving from Gatwick fantastic hotel fantastic staff the reception guy when we arrived was so welcoming and really helpful the pool and fire pit made a nice evening arrival after a super nights sleep in possibly the most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel we had a great breakfast included in the rate ... The room we booked was a 2 bedroom suite as we travelled with our children 5 and 3 they thought the huge beds in the 2nd room were great I will stay again if I ever come back to Tampa i wish I had booked for the night before our flight home too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent recommendation of our hotel. We are pleased your stay went so well while visiting the Westshore/Airport Tampa area. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the night before we went on a cruise. The hotel is very clean and the staff friendly. It's in a great location. Whether you have a car or not there are plenty of shops and restaurant near by. We did not have a car, but hotel has shutter service that will take you to restaurants and shopping. The fitness center, while small, is equipped with high quality equipment that will serve most needs. Breakfast was yummy and offered lots of variety.

We loved our stay and wished we could have stayed longer but our cruises awaits.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Spidermancowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
WOW that is great news! Thank you for all your kind feedback. Please come back and see us again. This is a wonderful time to visit the Tampa/St Pete area. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We selected this hotel because they said on the Internet that they welcomed pets. They did welcome our 7-pound cat, but insisted we sign a "Pet Lodging Agreement" by which we had to agree to a non-refundable cleaning fee of $100. For our one night stay! Based on our travels, the fee is exorbitant and unprecedented. (Must have rubbed off from the nearby airlines?)

The room, best described as "compact," was not shabby, but it was not special in any way and it looked like it could use a good $100 cleaning.

We would have given the place a three rating (or maybe a four, due entirely to the gracious lady at the desk), if it had not been for the surprise fee, which made us verify that the complimentary breakfast, internet and shuttle were in fact free.

Stay here if you are not troubled by surprises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Solaqne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I apologize that it was not communicated to you that we do have a nonrefundable pet fee. It is our policy that all suites are professionally cleaned by an outside company after a pet has occupied the suite. This is so future guests are not inconvenienced with any detection of the previous guest. I hope this does not deter you from using our hotel again. Thank you again for your feedback and I will make sure my staff always knows to inform our guests of our procedures and their cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel two times in the past month and I have personally had a mixed bag experience. Here’s some of the things that I liked and didn’t like:

Pros:
-The hotel is fairly new so everything is in working order and the elevators are really fast
-The front desk staff is efficient and friendly
-The fitness center, by Homewood Suites standards, is very well equipped and includes a scale, which is a nice added touch.
-Shuttle service is quick and efficient (provided by A-1 Express, I believe)
-There are laundry facilities (2 washers and 2 dryers) on the 4th floor and are very reasonably priced at $1 for washing and $1 for drying
-The dinners and breakfasts provided were pretty good, by Homewood standards

Cons:
-The housekeeping staff is the worst. They do not replace the tissue box when it runs out, do not replace sheets on a daily basis, do not leave dishwasher detergent (and subsequently don’t run the dishes in your dishwasher for you), and do not replace burned out light bulbs. It was frustrating to be constantly calling the front desk to resolve these problems. I would hesitate staying here again until this is resolved.

-Parking is a little inconvenient because you have to park in the garage next door to the hotel. If you are lucky, you might be able to snag one of the parking spots along the fence on the west end of the hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor has laundry facilities, 2nd floor has the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniguck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and look forward to your next visit to earn your respect. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We liked this hotel very much. The shuttle to and from the airport was very helpful. They picked us up one minute after calling and the scheduled pick up at the hotel was on time. Make sure you let them know at the desk what shuttle you will be taking.
On some week days, aside from the breakfast, they have a light dinner free of charge that includes white and red wine. There was a nice salad bar and soup and bread. We didn't realize they offered this until we went down to the lobby about 6 pm so ask about it when you arrive.
We reserved a 1 bedroom but on arrival they said they would upgrade us to a 2 bedroom which we thought was very nice but we opted to take the one bedroom that was ready. (We arrived in the morning.)
The kitchen had granite counters and was equipped with things like paper towels that I really appreciated. The rooms were very nice, clean, good size with small full length mirrored closet. Nice couch with tables in living space and comfortable bed. They had free wifi. We would go back next time in Tampa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonichestnutantosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. I am pleased you were happy with your stay and look forward to your next visit. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.6 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing