We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tampa Homewood Suites - Westshore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tampa Homewood Suites - Westshore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our overall experience was good at this hotel. We booked our suite at the last minute due to a family emergency. We checked in and Matt at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us. Our two bedroom suite was quite roomy and well appreciated since we would have other family members joining us during our week long stay. The maintenance man was very nice and even touched up some of the walls in our suite that were badly scuffed throughout. Our suite was very quiet.

We never met the manager, although we requested to speak to him twice. Kendall, the guest services manager, was very kind to us throughout our stay. Housekeeping was also attentive, although due to the nature of our stay, we requested no service, only refreshing of linens.

The reason we are not giving this hotel five stars, is the dreadful food served and the awful presentaion of it. The cleanliness of the dining area is questionable, as is the quality of the food itself. It isn't prepared properly and the manager doesn't seem to oversee this, which seems odd. I read where other guests have said simalar things, but hoped the situation was better than reviewed - but it is not. It's actually worse.

Fortunately, the HiltonGarden Inn across the road has a great full service restaurant, where we ate nearly every day. They offer a wonderful delivery service, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWJForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your experience at the Homewood Suites Tampa Airport Westshore. Although I am pleased you enjoyed your suite and the service at the hotel I am dissapointed you were unhappy with the quality of the food. I apologize you were not 100% satisfied and am happy to listen to any additonal feedback you may have in an effort to increase the quality of our product. I look forward to hearing from you and the next opportunity to accomodate your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    210
    96
    39
    19
See reviews for
354
169
41
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very nice property with very well trained management and staff. Everyone is helpful, the breakfast and evening food is an added bonus. You guest room, lobby and grounds are clean and well maintained. Our room looked and felt cramped but the value is still great. Transportation to the airport was efficient. Good quality coffee, morning eggs were overcooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our Homewood Suites. Its great to hear you enjoyed all our great amenities! We hope to see you back in the Tampa area soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a nice property with a convenient airport location. Good night's sleep. Love having a suite so you can't hear the hallway or other rooms as much and much quieter. Breakfast included, nice firepit and outdoor furniture. Property is in good shape too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on tripadvisor. I appreciate all the valuable feedback and hope you continue to stay at Homewood Suites during your travels. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed At The Homewood Suites to see a Bucs game this weekend. We stayed two nights. This seems to be a newer hotel, located in an enclave with two other hotels. The staff was very friendly, especially the two breakfast ladies. Front desk personel were efficient and quite helpful. Breakfast here was above average for the Homewood Suites I've stayed in. We were here over the weekend so we didn't get to try the dinner offerings. The entire hotel from rooms to outdoor spaces were very clean. Our room was spacious. The shower was huge with plenty of water pressure. Bed was comfy. Kitchenette was nice and handy. The only downside was the couch/sleeper sofa. We didn't sleep on it but it was uncomfortable to sit on. Besides that everything was tip top, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sndedit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Were so pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff and fantastic Homewood breakfast. We take pride in our service and love hearing back from our valued guests. Thanks for taking the time to spread the word on tripadvisor and come back and see us again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love this property, but can't give it an excellent rating for one reason. Hard water. You always feel slimy when you get out of the shower.

However, the rest of the property is excellent, and staff is always nice. Great location for food, airport, and highways.

Wish they would get a water softener though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I understand your concerns with the hard water and will discuss this with our engineering department to see if there are any solutions. Thank you again for your feedback and staying at the Homewood Suites Tampa Airport Westshore. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I visited Tampa for two nights and stayed at this particular Homewood due to the location near the International Plaza Mall and near the beaches. This property looks very new and is extremely clean and orderly. We started out poorly with mix ups with the hotel shuttle due to incomplete information provided to us, but the hotel came through and provided a cab back to the hotel free of charge due to the error. Because we were so rushed and had less than one hour to drive to dinner they also offered a bottle of wine so that we could celebrate.

Although I wasn't the most verbally patient guest, the staff -- particularly Matthew -- was very apologetic and aimed to please us in any way he could. In the mornings, Nancy was always there to greet us at breakfast and ask about our day and laugh and carry on teasing my husband and vice versa.

When we arrived home, my husband discovered that he had left his precious "Steelers" t-shirt and Matthew came through again and located it along with swim trunks and is mailing them home to him.

I know I have said alot about staff and little about the property but the property is great without any improvements. As I see it, the staff are the icing on the cake at this property. What started out as a bad stay turned into something we really appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_FLBillmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and apologize for the shuttle issues you experienced. Both Matt and I felt terrible that you were left behind and were glad to overcome your bad experience with positive service the rest of your stay. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I wasn’t planning on needing a hotel room while in Tampa, but due to some unfortunate circumstances, we were in desperate need. We talked into the hotel around 1 pm, just seeing if there was availability. Samantha, the front desk rep, took care of us completely! She even said we could check in right then to save us from having to come back later. She even made sure we each had a bed since my daughter was a little bummed to be sleeping on a sofa sleeper again. I have a severe allergy to perfumes and cleaners, and Samantha made sure the room was not going to affect me. She even checked with Kendall, a manager, about airing out the room with a machine. They took such good care of us. We even missed the reception by a few minutes one day, and Kendall made sure all 3 of us had a plate of our own! Beautiful property, clean, well staffed, and friendly! The orange water was a fabulous touch too, very refreshing in the Florida heat! Again, I wasn’t planning on staying in a hotel in Tampa, but I am glad I did! It was perfection!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingCuRicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. Im glad we were able to overcome some transportation issues and meet your expectations. Matt and I were talking about your situation and felt terrible that you were missed by the shuttle service. Hope you enjoyed your weekend in Tampa and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.6 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing