We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed here last month for a couple of nights during a solo business trip. Initially they failed to meet my request regarding room location preferences but it was corrected with a room change. The rooms are better appointed (trendy) than expected, which was a nice surprise. There was a complimentary breakfast buffet, which included your basics - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit, bread selection, oatmeal, etc. The location is convenient to two malls, Old Hyde Park and Bern's Steakhouse (which I highly recommend checking out Old Hyde Park and Bern's while in Tampa) and of course, the business district - which was the purpose of my trip. Exiting the parking lot and getting out onto the Blvd can be a little tricky, as the hotel is located around a curve and you need to be careful maneuvering into rush hour traffic. In the end, I would return for another stay for future business trips.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchkin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    293
    113
    57
    22
See reviews for
152
218
78
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed here last week prior to flying to Canada - the rooms were spotless - extremely well furnished - hotel smelt clean everywhere
Pool and surrounding area is great to relax - bar and restaurant very handy
We checked out very early to get a flight to JFK - we got to the airport dropped off hire car only to find our flight was cancelled. We were rebooked on a mid afternoon flight so I ranfg hotel to ask if we could go back till later
William on the front desk was fantastic arranging for hotel shuttle to pick us up, we got back into our room to get some more sleep
After a leisurely complimentary breakfast we were taken back to the airport
Business centre allows free printing of boarding passes
Yes this hotel and its staff really went that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable despite our problems

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziegizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPS0304, Brian Satterfield, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for detailed feedback regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. Our goal is to WOW our guests and deliver an experience that you will distinctly remember. We appreciate your comments regarding the outstanding service, cleanliness and convenience of hotel offered amenities. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was my second stay at this hotel in Westshore Tampa. I had stayed here a few months ago, mostly because of the rate and cleanliness.

The rooms are newly renovated. You know how a cosmetic renovation is limited by no major structural modifications. Well this was what happened here. The ceilings are a bit low for a tall guy like me, especially in th hallways. Those are my complaints.

It's very clean. No mould in the bathroom. New carpets. Flat screen TVs. Comfortable bed. Linens are high quality. Internet and Parking included. Good for both business travel and touring in the Tampa area. Not a honeymooner or all inclusive type resort.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPS0304, Brian Satterfield, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Oapc, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that the majority of our renovation exceeded your expections, and we apologize that the structural components were insufficient for your needs. Possibly on your next visit, we could recommend an Executive Level accommodation where the ceiling height is significantly higher and may be more suitable to your specific needs. Thank you again for your comments and we will look forward to your next visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed for around 6 days. Absolute relaxation and calm. The room was quite comfy, clean, and posh. The room didn't come with a refrigerator. Had to ask for one to be put in so my almond milk won't spoil (I am lactose intolerant). The bar carried Starbucks, but only a select few. The downside to the drink already being expensive is the bartender I believe expected a tip. If not tipped she became cold to you. I opted to buy my drinks at another Starbucks.
3 days in a row a cleaning lady walked right in without knocking. The 3rd time this happened I was in bed on an important phone call when she walked in, and than left. Than, she came back knocked. Kept saying housekeeping. It was all I can do from yelling I am on the phone can't you tell. She than left, and not a minute later returned. Extremely annoying!
Other than that, It was a nice time with prompt service. However, at another hotel for the same price as this one, I received better amenities in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPS0304, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Brian Satterfield, Director of Rooms
Thank you for your feedback! We genuinely apprectiate your comments and continually strive to exceed our guests expectations. When deficiencies regarding our product and service are mentioned, we take swift action to improve. Guest satisfaction is our TOP priority and we truly apologize that your experience did not meet our standards of excellence. Our hope is that you will provide us another opportunity to show our focus in the areas discussed in your letter. Thank you again for staying with us and your honest feedback! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

stayed as a pre cruise hotel for a cruise departing from Tampa. Usually sailed from fort lauderdale, but using Trip Advisor reviews decided to try the Crown Plaza Westshore.
Very friendly staff , from the shuttle driver from the airport to the hotel and the staff at the desk.
Nice rooms, comfortable, and quiet, pool was nice,* wish we were staying another day to use the pool more.
arranged shuttle to the pier for us, using a shuttle service ' BLue one *I think
Shuttle was right on time and was $10 pp.
Hotel was near shopping mail and restaurants, but we didn't go. Hotel will also shuttle you to anywhere within 3 miles.
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridget22004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPS0304, Brian Satterfield, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. Our staff is our most important asset, and I am pleased to hear that your experience reflected their efforts. I will also forward your comments to Blue One, our transportation service provider, so they may be recognized as well. Thank you again for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at the Crown Plaza while in town to catch a Rays game. Check-in was fast and friendly. We were impressed with the modern decor of the Crown Plaza. Our room was perfect, very clean. It was easy to get to St. Petersburg and Tropicana Field from the hotel, simply jump on Kennedy to I-275. On the way back after the game, we made it in 20 minutes! Great location! The shower was roomy. There were way too many blankets on the bed, but that can be easily fixed. Check-out was even faster! The only thing that would have made it better would have been a free breakfast. It was a great stay and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeriandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My wife and I booked the pre-cruise package that the Crowne Plaza offered and it was a great value and experience! The hotel is in a great location that is next to shops and restaurants. The hotel is located in a nice area and it is easy to get to many places around Tampa. Our room was very nice with great views of Tampa Bay. The staff were very friendly and made sure that we taken care of in preparation for our cruise. The hotel contracts out the shuttle service to a local transportation company to and from the port. The shuttle service was excellent!! I cannot say enough good things about the service we received from the shuttle company. They were timely, efficient, and helpful! The driver even assisted with putting my bags in my car in the pouring rain upon our return to the hotel from the port. Very good experience overall! I highly recommend staying at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! The hotel offers a first-rate pre-cruise package. I will stay here again when visiting Tampa!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdsuper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Property: Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing