We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We needed to stay a night at a hotel since we had a very early 6am departure the next morning. Found that the Crowne Plaza Westshore had the best rates. Very pleased with the friendly staff upon check-in; very informative as to where to eat in the area. Room was clean, but the only thing about the bathroom was the toilet made a noise when flushed and the shower had what looked like mold in the grout. Other than that, the plush beds made up for it. Westshore Plaza is only down the street if you want to walk around and enjoy some eateries.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    283
    106
    53
    20
See reviews for
143
203
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza with some family members for a quick weekend in Tampa. Had a great experience. The hotel was recently renovated, so the rooms are all quite new, with flat screen TVs and very comfortable beds. The public areas of the hotel are also quite nice, with a very modern look. The suites are a great bargain -- comfortable king bed in the bedroom and a sectional couch with a fold-out bed. Great arrangement for young families. The hotel also has a very nice pool area. Rather basic, but also recently renovated and nicely done. The Westshore area is a good area of Tampa and the hotel is located 2 minutes away from Westshore Plaza, which has several nice shops (including Saks) as well as good chain restaurants (PF Changs, Maggiano's, etc.). Overall a great choice in the Westshore area of Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

For $58 for an executive suite, this hotel cannot be beat! We were able to check-in early, without a wait at the front desk. Our room was very clean with a lovely view of the pool from the 11th floor (room 1108). The bathroom is definitely on the small side - you can't reach the toilet without closing the door to the bathroom first. The sink vanity is also small but the shower is big enough for two. However the shower does not have a bath tub. Our executive suite package came with two complimentary bottles of water and also a voucher for two cocktails at the hotel bar. Also, the hotel has complimentary wireless internet which we enjoyed.

The hotel bar is small but nice. The bartender was very generous with our complimentary drinks - they were strong! The bar also had bowls of nuts/chex mix.

The outside of the hotel is attractive and is in a nice area. However there is a lack of parking in the front of the hotel, with most of the parking being on the sides/back of the hotel. We had to walk a good distance in the Florida heat and humidity several times due to the front lot being full, but this wasn't that big of an issue.

Overall I would rate this hotel excellent for the price!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mint2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I was in Tampa for a very brief visit and this was the perfect deal for it. The hotel was very close to the airport and the Westshore mall. The free shuttle was also a great service, especially since I arrived very late at night and left very early in the morning, too.

The hotel is newly-renovated, and its furnishings are modernistic--and accordingly seemingly sparse. The white lights are a bit harsh in the room and there is a certain coldness to the ambience, though this is in keeping with the design theme.

Check-in was a breeze as there were three individual counters. The swimming pool was very inviting, though I didn't have time to use it. The bathroom could use a bath tub as the shower stalls seem too utilitarian for a hotel. The same goes for the sink which is outside the bathroom.

The walls are not sound proof so you could hear the muffled sounds of the neighbors' TV
or conversation. The window is the same so you could also hear the road below. But the windows have excellent blinds and provide excellent views of Tampa Bay if you are in the proper side and elevation.

Altogether a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moto_sgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Stayed here the weekend of August 7th 2009.

On a whole this is a pretty nice hotel. The grounds are well kept up, the pool area is really nice and the pool is heated. There is also a fitness center and a buisness center with computers and a printer if you need it. Location wise it's about a 15 minute drive to ybor city and around 25 minutes to busch gardens. The rooms were clean though the bathrooms were a little small and the sink was in the bathroom which can be inconvenient. There was also no fridge and there was only a shower, no tub. The beds weren't great but weren't bad either. There is a flat screen tv which gets hbo.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful except for when we called to get directions to the hotel. The ones they gave us actually got us more lost if thats possible. My only complaint was the prices for extras. The breakfast buffet was 12 bucks and was pretty basic and the bar charged $5.35 for a bud light which is absurd and with no fridge in the rooms, it makes drinking at the hotel a little more difficult.

All in all a quality establishment

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ares290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poinciana florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

As a 30 year travel agent and traveller, I was convinced that this hotel was a good choice after reading th revues. I found this property to be terribly disappointing. After spending many nights at Hampton Inns and Embassy Suites, I couldnt believe that this hotel didnt even offer a free cup of coffee in the morning. The room was on the executive floor. What does that mean here? Nothing! No Coffee, no amanities whatsoever. We could not sleep that night. What were they thinking putting sheer pull down shades on a hotel near the airport with a huge window that has a 1000 lights shining in. They do provide a little packet with a mask and ear plugs, which I am sure was added when they received many complaints. The bathroom is adequate but small. The bed was comfortable, but it didnt help us. We used the little room coffeemaker until we got ready the next morning and took off. If you want a hotel near the airport that is full service and offers no amenities, stay at the Marriott! We are now at the Embassy Suites Boca Raton and are spoiled rotten.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank btravelbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

came in late, check in was a breeze. Room was great. Very clean and simplistic as mentioned in other reviews. I enjoyed being surrounded by the plush pillows and gladly got lost in them.

I enjoyed the room because it looked very clean even with a slight odor of fresh paint. The bathroom was small, but efficient and modern.
Just one negative, we had breakfast the next day and the wait was long ( some 40 minutes for 3 people ). The waiter apologized as it was obvious by us and other guests that were also waiting, that service was not outstanding. Our food was quite great and served warm.
The lobby was modern and well decored. However, if you are like me, the room is focus of my comfort and as already mentioned, I have no complains.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puccablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Property: Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing