We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not as updated as I thought.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not as updated as I thought.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Service was excellent. We were upgraded to a King Cabana suite due to our Platinum membership. However, once in the room the leather couch had rips on them. The blinds were not darkening blinds so the lights from the pool filtered in which meant the sunlight also shined through. We arrived late and didn't ask to be moved to another room. Thank goodness it was only a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAuggie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear StAuggie12,

First and foremost, thank you for being a Platinum IHG Rewards member and for choosing to stay at our property. We are thrilled to hear that our service during your stay was excellent and that we were able to provide you with an upgrade. We are not so thrilled to hear about the condition of the pullout sofa as providing you with an upgrade should mirror the excitement of expecting perfection. I have notified our Housekeeping and Engineering department heads to address the suites to make sure that their conditions are up to par. We apologize for the inconvenience and we do hope that you do visit our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    248
    93
    46
    18
See reviews for
120
176
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is near to the airport and Westshore Mall. Breakfast was not included. The rooms are nice in the high main building. they are clean and renovated. Restaurants are nearby. The poolarea is ok, but nothing special. I had a special price for 65$ what is ok for such a hotel. Good 3 star standart.

Room Tip: Main building on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Vtm R,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovated and clean rooms during your one night stay. We are disappointed to hear that you thought our pool area was just okay as we have just recently renovated that area as well. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you decide to utilize our hotel for future endeavors!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Crown Plaza after flying into Tampa in the mid afternoon. There isn't a lot of stuff around the hotel but the bar downstairs is very nice. We did have a nice relaxing afternoon and evening and checked out pretty early in the morning

Room Tip: We overlooked the bridge and it was a nice relaxing view ... thunderstorms coming in over the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear PattyG12,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that your stay was relaxing and that you had a chance to enjoy Mojito Restaurant & Lounge. I do recommend that on your next stay you utilize our complimentary hotel shuttle for guests that will take you within three miles of the hotel. You'll have access to waterfront restaurants, two shopping malls as well as a movie theatre for those rainy Florida summer afternoons! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked this hotel for a one night stay as our condo rental wasn't until the next day. Great hotel, great location. Nice pool altho had to wait a VERY long time for towels at the pool despite repeat requests, this was very frustrating. Beds were hard (we thought) but rooms nicely reonovated. We had a nice bay view and high floor - as requested when I booked.

They have a free shuttle service within 3 miles of the hotel (not just for the airport) which is a nice touch as we weren't overly familiar with the area and didn't feel like driving - or walking!

Would definitely stay again (and ask for a mattress topper for the bed)

Room Tip: High floor and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioUKgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear OhioUKgirl,

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the pool and the complimentary shuttle service. We do apologize that extra pool towels were not provided in a timely manner and we will address this issue to avoid a repeat occurrence. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed one night before a cruise. The hotel is located very close to the airport and my family loved watching all of the planes landing overhead while we were in the pool. We stayed in room 308 and this was perfect for the three of us. The hotel is absolutely beautiful on the inside and the bathrooms are large compared to other hotels. The staff was very friendly. I loved the pool area and the cabanas to get some shade from the sun. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that parking is definitely an issue. We got a space right up front when we arrived. Later that evening when we went out for dinner, we came back to find all the spaces filled due to a reception in the bar. There were many, oversized SUV's parked in the already small spaces, which left cars no room to open the door once you squeezed into a space. Other than that, great hotel in the upscale Westshore location.

Room Tip: Room 308 is an interior access, corner room that has a large window overlooking the pool and views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcdsp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Lcdsp911,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! We are very happy to hear that your family had a great time at our hotel and got an opportunity to enjoy our updated pool area. Thank you so much for staying with us and providing room tips to other guests!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was a quick pick and believe me we will back. The room was clean and the shower was exceptional, the water pressure was great and the bed was exceptional, one of the best nights sleep I had in a long long time...I have an extremely bad back and this was a great bed!! I am picky where that goes!!

The staff was friendly and helpful...we only stayed one night but the location is near a lot of restaurants and nightlife....and the bridge to St. Petersburg is right there, the view is spectacular form that bridge......needless to say we are hooked on this hotel and will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear karenmits,

Thank you so much for the five star review of our hotel along with some amazing comments! We are so happy that your quick pick of our hotel resulted in an experience that you are now hooked on! We will be sharing your comments with our staff and we all look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 (3 teenagers) stayed in room 909 and were very pleased. I booked online, great price considering the location and it was 4th of July weekend. Chris checked us in, great customer service, simple check in. Room was nice and clean, roll away bed came right away. Enjoyed the pool area but it was crowded. Beds were way too firm. Room needs a microwave and fridge. Nice view of the Bay. Overall well worth it for the price. And free WiFi!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Crissy H,

We want to thank you and your family for choosing to spend your 4th of July weekend at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! We are very pleased to hear that Chris was able to provide you with a seamless and efficient check in and your room had a nice view of the bay! We are also happy to hear that the experience was overall well worth it for the price. Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Property: Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing