We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #36 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were in Tampa for a military reunion and the welcome mat was rolled out for our parents' elderly military group. Front desk staff, and restaurant service staff were wonderful. Saturday nite banquet went off with zero hitches.

Our room was over the pool with large living room, bath and bedroom. Excellent bed and pillows and TVs in both rooms. They do need to update the aircon which is very loud with old fashioned blower onto the bed in the bedroom.

Minutes from the airport with free shuttle pickup and numerous restaurants within the shuttle's 3 mile range. Drivers are efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are two room suites and the best deal for your money and more convenient to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on its 4 star rating, price, proximity to airport and convenience to my business meeting.

Staff was very accommodating. I received a Cabana Suite... About 50% larger than typical hotel suite rooms.

The rooms were modernized, and even the towels were fluffy and soft - not the typical hotel abrasive scrubs.

Although close to the airport and free-way exchanges, sound was not an issue; not a typical airport hotel atmosphere.

It's finds like this that invite you back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HyannisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Arriving after a long flight from Zürich to Tampa - we stayed in this Airport hotel. The man at the front desk was very friendy we feel fast at home. The room is clean and has everything you need. We can very recommand this hotel. Thanks Franziska

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fphabegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was on the top floor of the hotel which looked as if it had just been updated. The decor was contemporary and stylish. The bed and linens were top quality and the bed cover was very chic and stylish. I always look at the beds first to see the quality of the mattress, the pad, the sheets and pillows and cover. The sheets felt like 600 thread count. There was plenty of mirrors and even the bathroom had a makeup mirror. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The AC worked without too much noise and the room stayed a nice temperature. Would stay there again in a heart beat as long as I got a room like I had. Nothing else will do.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff was friendly. However, I stayed almost a week for the Osler course. I had to call them twice to make them to change the towels and clean the room. They did not come. The beds are OK but not very comfortable. The ice machine did not work on my 8th floor, as well as on the 7th floor for entire week. There is a lot of space in the room, but there is no small refrigerator or microwave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Kathleen103,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry the beds, ice machine and housekeeping service you received did not live up to your expectations. We are always working to be the best we can be and improve on our products and level of service. The feedback we received from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port st lucie florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Check in was great,friendly staff. Internet ad mention free breakfast for priority club members.which I am. They didn't know anything about that but offered a free room upgrade to a Cabana Suite. Ok, great accepted that.The Cabana Suite however was on the second floor with high narrow windows near the ceiling,like slits. So no view and a bunker like atmosphere. Dimly lit. Room was clean,but air conditioner was right next to the bed and was so noisy when it ran I finally got up and shut it off. Sink stopper did not close properly so wouldn't hold water for shaving. We were awakened around 2:30 by all the drunks leaving the downstairs bar and standing around directy below our room. I finally called the front desk and eventually maybe 20 minutes later they finally left.The last straw was being in the flight pattern for Tampa airport. So starting at 6 am flights overhead every 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the Cabana Suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bimjim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay with us and for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. I'm so glad you found that our staff was great but I apologize that we missed the opportunity to wow you with our product. Our cabana suites are very spacious but they do have a great view of the pool instead of the water like our tower rooms. We would love to have you stay with us again so please let us know when you will be in town so we can show you what else we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our stay got off to a really good start - warm friendly welcome from Lena on the front desk, who provided loads of information/advice throughout our stay. Upgraded to a suite (recognition of platinum status in hotel chain's loyalty programme).
The suite was spacious - well furnished and overlooked the pool. Really appreciated the double size shower. Only 1 criticism of the room - it lacks a room safe, which I thought was a standard feature in hotels nowadays.
The swimming pool is a fantastic size - warm water and at sometimes it seemed I almost had exclusive use of it! A really good feature situated in a secluded courtyard.
Had breakfast every day - good spread with excellent friendly service.
Having been out, we returned one day to find that the room had not been serviced - the maid left a standard letter saying this was due to the "privacy sign" being left on the door despite us having removed it late morning before we left the hotel for the day and before the maid left the letter! I have to say that the hotel dealt with this complaint in an exemplary manner - the room was serviced immediately and we were offered complimentary drinks in the bar for the inconvenience. Top marks to Rose of housekeeping for her efforts in putting matters right and her focus on customer service.
Throughout our stay, we experienced excellent serice from all staff - would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We love upgrading our Platinum IHG Rewards Members when available, and are so glad you were able to experience the cabana suite! The pool is always a favorite spot for our guests because you feel as if you are at a resort even if you are on a business trip. Thank you for sharing the names of the staff that stood out to you; we will definitely recognize them as outstanding associates. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tampa!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing