We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEH-- Pretty horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just come home from a 2 night stay at this property to attend a conference held there.

Requested a King room...Given a 2 double, not a huge deal, but it was a foreshadow of things to come.

The hallway- 6th floor- was low- a funny dropped ceiling going down to about 6"6'- made the space feel cramped.
Got into the room, found my 2 double beds- again, not a huge deal but.....The property as others have said is near the airport- Jet noise, plus noisy A/C= not a good sleeping environment. Also, there was no room darkening shades on the window..... room was light regardless of the time of day.

Breakfast Buffet.... EH... Cold food, stale pastries and an arrogant host pouring coffee.... Glad it was included as part of my conference stay, as it wasn't worth what they were charging.

NOW>>> I CANNOT BLAME THE HOTEL FOR THE ACTIONS OF ITS GUESTS.... BUT, they should be responsible for the actions of their staff in response to the guests.

There was a large party of young folks occupying several rooms on my floor, and their party carried into the hallway at approx. 1am.... No security roaming the building. At 3:30 AM a young man in is jockey shorts was banging on my door in an attempt to get in. It took THREE calls to the front desk to get someone up to my hallway outside my room to escort this youth (QUITE INTOXICATED) to the desk. By this time(4AM ) I was wide awake with no hope of sleep.

The desk staff did not intervene towards myself at any time, not even an apology for the inconvenience. Even the ASST GM was quite useless in any explanation to the lack of security or the delayed response to the incident overnight. All she offered was a weak apology and that she would speak to the overnight staff.

The hotel itself is in major need of an overhaul... Trash needed to be emptied and fixtures outdated.

For the price, there are many other options near the Tampa airport that will suit your needs in a much nicer environment with Friendlier staff.

Room Tip: To find a good room, look for a different property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IKE954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear IKE954,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 929 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a little slice of heaven! I managed a conference at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore and can't say enough good things about my experience. My client was thrilled and raved about the hotel and it's staff from beginning to end. It is only 2 minutes from the airport, but you would think you at a tropical resort. The hotel staff is phenomenal - friendly, helpful and always professional. The rooms are clean, modern and beautifully appointed. I came for business but felt like I was on vacation!

Room Tip: Pick a Cabana Suite - huge and luxurious, right next to the pool (but quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear JPWren,

Thank you so much for sharing that glowing review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you loved the resort style feel with the convenience of being so close to the airport. We hold conferences of all sizes and are so glad we were able to accommodate your group so well. We look forward to having you and your team visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Sales Coordinator
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here during a business visit to Tampa. It is located close the airport and the hotel offered a free shuttle service from the airport. I received a warm welcome by the friendly and cheerful hotel staff. I requested for a room in the quiet zone. I had a sound sleep on the plush and comfortable beds. The rooms also offered views of the bay and the city. It was relaxing after spending a long day of enjoying the popular Tampa Bay attractions. I enjoyed the hot breakfast of egg benedicts and a warm cup of tea with a cool and refreshing juice in their stylish and relaxed Mezzo restaurant. If you are looking to celebrate life and indulge this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Becky H.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so glad you were able to "celebrate life and indulge" here at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. It's always nice to be able to relax and enjoy the local attractions while still attending to needed business. We will see you on your next visit to Tampa!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel early August 2013. Overall statement is far below what we expected from a Crowne Plaza and far below average. The hotel is pretty noisy being located close to the airport and so close to the freeway. Regrettably you won't find a peaceful rest in your rooms just because the A/C is so noisy that you feel sleeping close to a jet. Staff is not kind and breakfast is pretty poor (the last day there was not even the buffet as the staff was too late - or too lazy - to set it up. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1961Eric75013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again in the future. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Crowne Plaza Westshore in Tampa. I loved that there was a kurig in the room (Only wish there were two regular and no decaf). The hotel staff was friendly and personable. Elle was great and welcoming when we checked in after our flight came in late and suggested somewhere we could grab a quick bite. The location of the Crowne plaza was right downtown and there were plenty of food options. The rooms were clean and up- to date. The room seemed to have modern decorations. The bed was pretty comfortable and the comfortable was very Fluffy! I loved all the relaxing sleep extras they had by the bed! There was a calming lotion and face balm to put on with chamomile smells- I believe. From our room we could see the bay- So we had the best of two worlds downtown and the water! I could not imagine a better location and better service! I was so impressed I would definitely stay there again. The breakfast downstairs was a great and quick too (Elle suggested we eat there instead of going out for breakfast when we checked in)! Check out was a breeze too- the bill was under our door with an itemized list of what we spent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for that glowing review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you were able to utilize all the amenities of the hotel and that Elle provided excellent service. Our Executive Level Rooms do have an amazing view with many additional amenities. Our sleep amenity kit and bedding makes for an amazing night of sleep! We hope that you will be returning to the area soon to enjoy more relaxation!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Perhaps is it the fact that I booked my room using a website that allows you to name your price.. I don't know, but.. this is the very first time that I had to pay an extra to have a fridge installed in my room..!! Carrying perishable food, I looked for one as soon as entering the room.. nothing. The empty space was obviously usually occupied by a fridge, but not this time. Called the reception, explain my situation (thinking they'll move me to another room), but the person I had on the phone surprised me.. "No problem, Sir, we can take care of this for you, we can rent you one..".
I'm still smiling, when thinking about it.. and sure enough, a kind housekeeper showed up few minutes later, telling me that it was depending on the type of room...
So anyway, make a long story short.. nice hotel, nice swimming pool, nice room, etc etc, but seriously...5 bucks for a fridge..??? Really..??? Am I gonna have to rent the bed, next time..???

Room Tip: Bring your own fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hervethomasflor... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as we greatly appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel during your stay and I apologize you were not furnished with a complimentary refrigerator. We will make sure your suggestion is communicated to the department head for further review. Please contact me directly for any further questions. We do hope to see you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Westshore does an excellent job hosting conference meetings. This year we booked the Ballroom West along with four breakout rooms. The planning and execution of the conference went flawlessly again this year, which is why we are repeat customers. Debra Desmond has been an outstanding resource to work with planning these events. All attendees were appreciative of the hotel, and the professionalism from all of their staff.

Room Tip: Cabana suites are great if there for business. Large enough to be able to do work in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_Ladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Ladd,

What a wonderful review about your recent conference! Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience with us. Debra is an amazing sales manager and we are so grateful she was able to take such great care of your group. We look forward to seeing you and your team again soon.

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Sales Coordinator
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $109 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing