We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the CP Tampa Westshore last december. We spent two nights at this hotel in our way to Orlando.
The hotel is clean, well appointed and well furbished.
The staff is polite.
We asked for a room in their "quiet floor" as I am really sensitive to noise, and we got one straight away.
The location is great, very close to the airport, and also to malls and stores.
You don't have to pay extra to get access to their wifi internet, and also to park your car, which I found very handy.
The parking lot was never crowded, and we always managed to park our car next to the entrance.
The only con I'd mention is that you don't have a fridge/microwave in the room.
We had some leftovers from dinner which we would like to store for lunch the next day, and although they kept it in the fridge for me, they wouldn't heat it. I had to rent a microwave just to heat a box of food.They charged me US$ 5, but still. It would be much appreciated if they've done it for free, as I was departing the next morning.
But all in all, it was a nice stay, and we would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in their quiet floor if you are sensitive to noise. The floor is indeed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Assistant General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear your had a great trip which started at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. Our hotel does offer many amenities as you have mentioned in your review. Unfortunately our standard rooms are not equipped with a microwave and refrigerator; however we do have several suite rooms which come with both items. Upon your next visit, please keep our suite rooms in mind as it may be the best fit for your travel needs.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay as your feedback means a great deal to our team and future hotel guests. We hope to see you upon your next trip to Tampa.

Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    260
    99
    48
    19
See reviews for
134
185
69
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was mediocre, food (breakfast was very costly for what was being offered). there was no member lounge available. The actual room was rather small for what is usually offered by other Crowne Plaze Hotels. Furthermore they did not aknowledge frequent stayer status at the hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halliod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear halliod,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member and for leaving us a feedback. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Whenever I'm in Tampa I stay at the Crowne Plaza on Kennedy. Joe the GM runs a great hotel and his staff is excellent. It's very convenient to everything and the staff is very friendly and make you feel at home and they handle any request quickly and efficiently. It's very clean and well appointed. The service is outstanding and I would recommend to any of friends or business associates.
Thank you Jorge for you great service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Several staff of my company stayed in this hotel for a conference Jan. 11-13. I was on the 4th floor. Hotel was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and shuttle service was quick to/from the airport as well as local malls and restaurants. We had our conference in the business rooms and the staff were wonderful about keeping the area clean and picking up empty glasses/plates from the attendees tables. The food was good and the room setup worked well. The pool area was large and clean. We didn't have time to swim but the pool looked nice. We had a party at Mojitos with drink tickets and the service was pretty quick. I would recommend this hotel to businesses for a conference.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night in late December. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and our room was clean and comfortable. Because we flew to Tampa and had several delays along the way, we decided to eat a quick meal and have a drink at Mojitos before going to bed. The wings and hummus were both delicious! Breakfast in the morning was also quite good. We usually have good experiences with Crowne Plaza hotels, and this was no exception. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Hotel is listed as a 3.5 star hotel on most travel sites. The rooms are very small and the hotel is old and one can see that. The closet is tiny, and I could not imagine spending a long vacation there. Although it has been pretty well maintained, and has a very nice outdoor area in the back by the pool, I was not impressed at all. I have stayed at the Hilton on Westshore, the Hyatt Place, and Sheraton Suites and all are far better in my opinion. This is a bit off the path as well and not really walkable on Westshore. I have seen very good reviews but I must disagree. I would choose a 3 or 2.5 star Hyatt, Springhill, ect. over this. Overall, I would give it 2.5 stars. If you can get a good deal and are staying for a night or two then it is fine. Otherwise, would look elsewhere. Have not been impressed with Crown Plaza in general, they are usually old and run down. And to me, Marriott, all hotels, have the best customer service hands down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrthster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear wrthster,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory on this day due to the room accommodations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great service, near to two decent malls, a movie theatre and some restaurants. Rooms were good sized and clean.

Only complaints, the Mojito Bar staff were a bit cold, and the machines in the weight room need some maintenance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSudburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Property: Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing