We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I needed a place to stay while we look for places to live in Tampa (moving there for business). I hadn't previously stayed at a Crown Plaza so we weren't expecting much and we were just hoping for a decent place to stay. To our biggest surprise this hotel was AWESOME. Our reservations were handled by Jackie and she is fantastic. The entire staff is beyond friendly and courteous. The parking lot, lobby, elevator and, most important, the room was CLEAN. There's even a nice lil restaurant in the lobby. We asked for a late checkout and were accomodated with no issues (normally a hassle in most other hotels). I can't say one bad thing about this place and my girfriend and I wiil defintely be staying here for the few more trips we need to make until we decide where we will be moving to in Tampa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james007p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 943 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Unfortunately the CP got knocked down a bit this stay, and I also sent an email to IC's customer service with no response yet.
No hot water to be found for whatever reason, and a cold 4am shower isn't much fun. Speaking of the shower - the shower door wouldn't stay closed and there was mold/mildew present, definitely not up to Crowne Plaza's cleanliness standards.
As always though, the staff is very friendly and very helpful, they let me print my boarding pass on the printer behind the desk since the business center printer was malfunctioning. Airport shuttle is always a nice setup.

Disappointing to knock them down from a 5 to a 3, but this was definitely an 'average' stay and not an exceptional stay.

Jim & Colette

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColetteAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel is ...okay but the service was outstanding. Amanda, Dani, Jan, and Christian made the trip outstanding. The shuttle service was free and extremely convenient. Thanks to these exemplary employees for making my stay (and the 100 othersbwith me) like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

First, let me say that the service and staff were excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful. At one point, I was looking for a drug store and general directions. I had planned to walk. The desk clerk greeted me, by name, and said one of the staff would drive me. It would have been a short, easy walk. But, I opted for the ride and the young man was very polite. I give them all a rating of "10." Every one was warm and greeted you by name.

However, the facility itself was lacking. The motel 6 chain is good for $35.00 rooms. If you pay $35 bucks, you expect a $35.00 room. If you pay 2 1/2 - 3 times that, you expect a little more. The room was very small. The bathroom, though, was modern and nice. The rest of the space, not so much. At some point, there had been a problem in the ceiling. There was a large, sloppy patch job (about 1 x 2 feet) directly over the bed. There must have only been two electrical outlets in the room. I noticed in the full length mirror that there was a surge protector under the bed. It was not flat on the floor, but suspended by the cords plugged in to it. In that part of the room, there were at least two lamps, another phone, and clock radio. By the desk, the TV, one telephone, two lamps, and something else were plugged in to a surge protector. To use the coffee pot, you had to unplug some thing. The surge protector was located on the floor, between the dresser and desk in a space about 12 - 18 inches wide. I banged my left shoulder on the corner of the desk while standing after I plugged in the coffee pot. This had a short cord, so the surge strip hung in the air when the coffee pot was plugged in. Safety was my concern here. I noticed, later, that the little packages of sugar, creamer, etc. had been opened and the stirers were missing.

At the end of the day, the staff was great. The room was not worth the price of almost $100/night. The front of the building was nice. The back, just another motel with outside access to rooms. I was in the front section, so was "inside" the building.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Staff makes ya feel like your right at home. One of the best places to stay when you in the Tampa and Clearwater area. Clean room, Friendly staff and etc.

Room Tip: Just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGSXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel was awful. The staff was rude and unhelpful and the rooms were small and smelled like mildew. Our experience was so bad that we will never stay at another Crowne Plaza hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonashley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Good Afternoon,

I would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of the team at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. The poor service you described during your stay, is not a common occurence at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback in order to improve upon our services.

Our hotel is currently ranked in the Top Ten in the Nation for our guest service and we are truly sorry for your unpleasant experience. The reviews previously written from other hotel guests prove we strive to deliver the best guest service.

We ask that you don't loose faith in the Crowne Plaza brand and hope to have you in the future as our guest if you are willing to reconsider.


Warm Regards,

Melissa Golub
Guest Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Very close to airport, clean, very nice staff .. only stayed one day and night but would return based on the convenience of location. Literally three minutes to airport .. 10 minutes to ANY restaurant you could imagine .. right off causeway going to St. Pete .. Good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBear1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $159 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing