We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westin Tampa Bay
Nearby Hotels
$109
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$131
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$102
SailportSuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
352
236
91
42
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
236
91
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua restaurantprivate beachindoor poolseparate tubfront deskclose to the airportheavenly bedthe club loungebahama breezeself parkingroom servicebeautiful hotelinternational plaza mallbusiness travelminute drivefitness centershuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 773 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This property is new, located in a nice place, and has one of the best F&B/ room service offerings of any SPG hotel in Florida (in my opinion). That said, this hotel is not managed well. They really seem just to be out to protect ratings, not to exceed guest expectations. Loud housekeepers shout to wake you up in the morning, F&B staff are poorly trained and will repeat "need anything else" over and over again - even if it's the 12th time and they can see you are chewing or ask while you are swallowing. The whole thing just comes across as insincere and motivated by getting high scores on review sites rather than delivering warm hospitality. I am deeply disappointed in the service of this property - particularly from the top management who seem to retaliate against negative criticism.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TastefulTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Tasteful Trekker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us, and for being a loyal SPG member. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Food and Beverage offerings and will make every effort to ensure all members of our team are aware of the opportunity to improve in the other areas that you have mentioned. Since reviews are written anonymously we don’t understand the reference of retaliation to negative criticism, however we do feel that criticism is an opportunity to improve, which is always our goal.

Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stopped here for a night and got a nice upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was really sweet. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the bar was jumping. With one appetizer and one entree each, lunch was approaching the 3 digit mark but, sometimes, you get what you pay for.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Stan P,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to make us aware of some of the speciic aspects of your stay. We also appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the near future.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights before the Thanksgiving holiday on business

Staff were all very friendly, helpful, and courteous. The room was well-appointed and the gym was very functional and relatively big.

My only caveat is the lack of a buffet breakfast. I normally hit the buffet because room service, generally by its nature, is never warm and timing is always a question mark anywhere. So I headed down to Aqua expecting the typical buffet -- but no buffet during the week! Weird. The room was also very busy -- seemingly everyone wanted to eat at this time and the hostess couldn't keep up and people were seating themselves (Although her three-inch heels didn't help). Apparently the kitchen also couldn't keep up as it took 20+ minutes for my simple egg order to arrive. I spoke with the manager and he said it's normally never this busy and I suggested that's why hotels do the buffet as they cannot fully anticipate timing and demand for breakfast by travelers. Okay, so I'm a consultant and had to add my two cents. But seriously -- re-think this. I don't want to spend thirty minutes every morning in your restaurant because you're not running an optimized operation. Oh and please have teapots for tea -- those cups are too small for your waiters to be constantly asking me if I want more hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear jj427,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very objective comments with us. We certainly value your input and steps are already in place to put some of your suggestions in place. Your comments on room service are spot on with all hotels, but we try our best to get the items to the room as promptly and as hot as possible. Thank you again for your input and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just stayed for three nights over the weekend.

They recognized my SPG status at check-in and gave me a room overlooking the bay. Hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and seem fairly new. Great bed, huge bathroom with a great shower.

Everyone seemed friendly. Parking was free and easy.

And the Starbucks in the lobby is a real Starbucks - not like some hotels that just use Starbucks coffee.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Neil S,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Bay for your recent 3 night stay and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your kind words and 5 out of 5 rating have not gone unnoticed and they have been shared with our entire team. On behalf of all of our Associates, I would like to thank you for taking the time share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent the night here in November 2013 - I had a very early flight out of TPA the next morning and I wanted to be close to the airport.

Pros:
Close to the airport
Very classy hotel (nice modern decor)
Very close to Bahama Breeze, Whiskey Joe's
Has it's own (tiny) private beach on an inlet
NIce restaurant / Bar area
Very nice rooms with the Westin Heavenly beds
Free parking option

Cons:
Restaurant / Bar food is pricey
Not very much withing walking distance of the hotel

Overall I was very impressed with this hotel. I used a suite night award and was upgraded to an 850 sq ft suite. It was a very nice room with great views, kitchenette, and a very nice bathroom. I would definitely stay here again. You will need a car to get around during the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadmzimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Chadmzimmerman,

Thank you for the time you took to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. Your comments and 5/5 rating are both very much appreciated and we are very happy to hear that you intend to return. Please keep in mind that we do have a complimentary courtesy shuttle that will take you to both of the two major malls as well as to any of the countless retaurants which are all within 2-3 miles of the Westin. Please fell free to utilize this convenient service and there is no need to rent a car.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews