We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed there!!!”
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Came to The westin to have lunch at their restaurant which was referred to me by a friend. I must say after my experience from all of the employees there, I will definitely be staying there next time. From the moment i walked through the front doors, I was welcomed with a smile. All the employees seemed so happy to be there.
The restaurant had an amazing view and the food was wonderful! Although I was eating alone my server Aldo really took care of me. He seemed very young, but knew so much about the different wines they offered. He suggested a northwest riesling which has now become my new favorite.
Overall, I had a memorable experience at the westin. Now i wish i hadnt stayed at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear jessica w,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your opinion of your brief visit . I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and that Aldo made you feel welcome. Hopefully your plans will allow you to return to Tampa in the near future and, if so, we look forward to the opportunity of having you be our guest.

Regards,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 736 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed here for business and have loved my experience. The beds and pillows are the most comfortable of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are all very welcoming and courteous. The beach is lovely and makes travelling for business a little more enjoyable! My one complaint would be that there is not complimentary wireless - it costs $9.95 per day and the connection in the hotel rooms is horrible! The WiFi at the restaurant was much better. I found that I had to sit close to the restaurant in order to get a good connection. I ended up doing a lot of work at the restaurant rather than in my hotel room as I would've preferred. Overall, a great experience. If the wifi were better, I would mark it 5/5. I would also love to see a spa in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear A P,

Please allow me this opportunity to thank you for selecting the Westin Tampa Bay and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and that you found our Staff to be very welcoming and courteous. I would like to also apologize for any issues that you had with the WIFI while you were in your room. We will certainly look into the matter to see if we are/were having some intermittent problems or if there was an usually high demand on the bandwidth. Nonetheless, the problem should not have occurred. Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to serve you again and please let us know if you encounter any problems during your stay so that we can correct them immediately.

Regards,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great service, Starwood points and a private beach outside one of Tampa's best restaurants. Ask for a waterview room and take advantage of the great workout facility. the hotels location is a little different in between Tampa and St. Pete but tthe proximity to the airport is great! Grab a jet ski and enjoy your time here!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pechorin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Pechorin L,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are a major incentive for our entire team to continue to raise the bar and provide service that is nothing less than personal and instinctive. Hopefully, your travels will allow you to visit Tampa again soon as we will look forward to having you as our guest once more.

Regards,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed here on numerous occasions for business. It is so easy, clean, comfortable, modern...exactly what you want for a few days out of town.

The rooms are soooo comfortable, with great beds and pillows. The bathrooms are modern and spacious.

I should add that I have rarely eaten there, so I can't comment on the restaurants or food.

As for the location, it offers wonderful views. It is perfect for business in the area, from the Tampa Bay airport to cross the causeway. It is very close to the airport, and I'd rather use their shuttle to get away from the airport. It gives you the feel of being on a Florida vacation. Their shuttle starts quite early and should be good enough for most morning flights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Gary M.,

Your comments, loyalty and kind words are very much appreciated. We are also very pleased to see that your stays have been enjoyable and have hopefully left you feeling refreshed when you leave. Our goal is to always provide service that is personal and instinctive so please let us know how we can enhance your impressions in the future.

Regards,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Westin is excellent! - beautiful hotel and service. Great amenities and location. Very nice touches around the hotel. This is a very new hotel, clean with well-appointed amenities. Good to have a Starbuks as well. Well Done! thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel during Spring Training. I realized that I never posted a review and I wanted to share my thoughts on our new go to hotel in Tampa. Our plan was to stay for 2 nights and drive to Miami and spend 2 days before we flew back to NY. We ended up adding one more night and then adding one more for a 4 night stay. The location is convenient and even though its next to a main road it didnt feel that way. I can't give it 5 stars because its just not a 5 star location or type of hotel. But, once you step inside you can completely forget that. There is a Starbucks onsite which is always a plus for me and an area on the bay where you can have coffee in the morning while the sun comes up and then at night it turns into an adult space for cocktails outdoors. Really lovWe will definitely be back next spring.

Two things to note...I wish we had a balcony and breakfast wasn't great in the restaurant but there were more than enough choices in the area. You definitely need a car but its a great place to start and end your day. We saw people in the water but we skipped that. Really loved it for a quick weekend and a great place to come back to after a day of baseball or shopping. We will definitely be back next spring.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Shopbound,

On behalf of the entire Staff, I would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts even after several months have passed. Your comments have been shared with our Associates and they certainly provide the incentive to help us all continue to raise the bar. We look forward to seeing you in the Spring as well and having the opportunity to provide you with service that is nothing less than personal and instinctive.

Thank you and Be Well,
Ron Alicandro,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived after five pm, had to wait because room was not ready. Arrived into room, it had a beautiful view of the sunset. Room was spacious and super cleaned, included both shower and bathtub. All the staff were wonderful and welcoming. After four days and three nights we received our bill. We didn't think anything of the bill because all of our charges were on it as well as charges for everything that was stocked in the fridge (Mini-bar). We figured incidentals, and it would be cleared once they realize we hadn't consumed any of their snacks or beverages, minus the heineken my 14 month old got a hold of and threw, it busted open in the bathroom. I expected to pay for the beer, our room service and parking. Instead the final charges were all snacks and beverages. I called the front desk and she said that we were charged for everything in the mini bar and that her manager would take a look at everything when he got in and get back to me..

Room Tip: I am pretty sure no matter what room you receive you should have a great view. Water pretty much sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Corrina R.,

Please allow me this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your visit. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. However, I would like to apologize for the errors made on your final bill and the fact that it put a damper on what may have been an excellent overall stay. Hopefully, you will not let this stand in the way of allowing us to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.0 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
7.0 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $144 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing