We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, minor housekeeping issue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, minor housekeeping issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is newer and very modern as mentioned in other reviews. You pay for parking whether you self park or valet (we were not aware of this until check out). Shuttle service to the International Plaza Mall was very convenient. A hotel with an indoor pool is hard to find in Tampa and this hotel has a nice but small pool and very small hot tub. Please note that the pool does not have a shallow section.

The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was nice, but housekeeping service was less than I expected. Despite being out of the room for most of the day our room was not cleaned until very late. Our reservation was for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children), and I even called in advance to confirm they had this information to make sure we would get two beds. The housekeeper clearly saw that we had 4 people but only gave us 2 towels, one mini bottle of shampoo and one of their tiny, fancy bars of soap. We had to call down to get adequate supplies. For the price paid I expected better housekeeping service.

I liked the location and the the shuttle driver and front desk staff were friendly. The bar was overpriced but that was to be expected. We were close to the causeway and airport but I did not hear any noise in the room. In all I had a nice stay, and would stay again for the right price. Hopefully they will hire additional housekeepers as other reviews have mentioned rooms not being ready at check in. This is apparently an ongoing problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15mwaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    206
    71
    34
    38
See reviews for
135
168
42
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Was in town on business and for social event; we spent five nights here in two rooms. While facility is very modern, attractive and clean, with nice views, comfortable ("Heavenly") beds and showers, there was much to disappoint. Front desk is very slow. Our business fax was never delivered, and when we discovered the problem on the following day and inquired about it, it was never explained (and no apology.) They charge for internet use in rooms...per device. Breakfast in restaurant is overpriced. Indoor pool closes too early (dusk) as does the bar in lobby (11 p.m.) There's no hotel information book in room, must access info by scrolling through cumbersome screens on the TV ---front desk explained they were "going green", but apparently this does not apply to Westin Home Collection book, where you can order their many Westin brand products.
Location convenient to airport, but isolated; not much nearby. All in all, unimpressive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first great thing about the hotel is the complimentary shuttle from Tampa Int'l airport. Driver was friendly and courteous. Arriving into the hotel lobby, you are greeted by the signature Westin white tea scent (my husband's fave) and a clean, crisp modern decor. Front desk agent was very friendly and the process went quickly. The room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was large and bright. I love both the Heavenly bed and shower. The Westin workout room was clean and the machines were brand new (or close to it). The entire property itself is impeccably maintained and all members of the staff we encountered were friendly and cheerful. The only slight downside to our stay was that we did dine at the hotel restaurant and as one reviewer mentioned, the service was incredibly slow. Our server could not have been nicer and when we did get our food, it was delicious. We spoke with the restaurant manager on duty who also could not have been nicer and he remedied the situation by apologizing profusely as well as taking a couple items off of our bill. Overall, a great stay at the Westin Tampa Bay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beeno0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Family mini-vacation , kids loved the indoor heated pool, the beds very comfortable and the view as awesome.Only draw back to staying here nothing was in walking distance. Hotel staff very warm and friendly. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport have a great view and the higher floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel and room were gorgeous. My husband was there on business and I did not have transportation. There was a shuttle provided by the hotel, but it only went to 2 malls and the airport. If you wanted to go to the beaches or anywhere else, you had to get a taxi. Also, the restaurant at the hotel was slooooowww!!! It seemed that they were never busy, but service was always slow. There is a Starbucks and that was wonderful! Beware, the bar has last call at 11:00.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsjRuralNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had really done my research before my Tampa visit, and although I would have preferred to stay a bit closer to its dining and entertainment districts, I figured that a new and modern hotel like the Westin Tampa Bay trumped the others. It's probably no more than 15 minutes to downtown and Ybor, unless traffic is horrible. And it's a piece of cake to get to the airport.

Things didn't begin so great, though. I arrived around 3:20, needing to get into my room to get ready for an appointment. The front desk clerk told me that housekeeping was running a little behind, and that it would be another half hour or so. I didn't have time to wait, so I asked for any available room, even if it wasn't the king that I had reserved. That request got me into a double right away, though it was adjacent to the elevator, and because of it, I heard a lot of hallway noise. Other reviews cite problems with their 3 pm check-in. I don't know how common this is in the industry, and I don't usually need to be in my room so early. But when I did, I wasn't thrilled with having to make compromises.

The room itself was very nice. Since the rooms are above the multi-level garage, the views across the bay are very good. The bathroom is well thought out, with both a walk-in shower as well as a tub for the bath lover. The bed is comfortable, and the flat-screen TV and iPod docking station add to the up-to-date feel. And there is no shortage of outlets when you need a re-charge. I'm not crazy about the Internet fee, but it is a few bucks cheaper per day than at other hotels. I'd stay there again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Spent the weekend and had a wonderful time. View, food, service, room, location... all perfect. Have stayed at Westin hotels before and love them. Was not disappointed by this Westin. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#70 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Property: Westin Tampa Bay
Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing