We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gasparilla Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gasparilla Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

It was a great stay. The room was quite comfortable, all the amenities you need for a vacation weekend. The staff was very friendly, and the view from the hotel room was lovely. location was easy to get to, outside of all of the city chaos, so we parade purposes not ideal, but if you like to be a little outside the chaos, a perfect location. Their restaurant's dinner menu was great looking with a lot of choices, and breakfast was fine, somewhat overly priced for what was provided, but still good with great waitstaff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    195
    69
    32
    36
See reviews for
131
158
41
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here one night in January of 2012 for business. I was happy with the room layout, how quiet the room was (with the exception of the air conditioning fan being loose), and the helpfulness of the staff. The executive club access was a nice feature to have, however the food selection was very limited. I agree with other reviews that the parking is an issue, however the valet's are very fast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
304 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I had doubts about staying at an hotel, with a small beach adjacent to a highway - but my doubts were dispelled. My room had a great view, was very clean and fresh. The indoor pool is a tad bigger than normal and there is a wonderful jogging route of 4 miles partway
Across the causeway. Staff are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is good, if expensive. All in all, I had no complaints and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and i went to Tampa day after xmas for four days. At first i didnt know what to expect of the hotel or area because it was a last minute thing. However, the hotel is in a great location. Close to a veryyyyyyy nice mall for all those whole love to shop and dine in same area, and also very close to Clear water beach! We planned to go to other areas in Florida but we enjoyed the area so much we didn't care to go elsewhere. The room in hotel was great and very clean. Evene though it is pet friendly the room smelled fresh. From the window i also saw two dolphins! Loved it. The staff was great too. Steve at front desk was so friendly and helpful. Always smiling! He is deff an asset to the hotel. The only thing that i didn't really enjoy is that you have to pay for wifi! It kinda gets expensive if you're staying more than a night. I would recommend this to anyone.

I also thought the swimming pool was quite huge considering its indoors. Fitness center was also nice and if you travel a lot.....you will rate this room as great. Ive been to several hotels when none of the machines operated!

Room Tip: Have a front view..facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Tampa Bay for one night after a cruise in December 2011. We took a cab from the port for $25 and although we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 am, thinking we would have to store our bags for day, our room was ready!!!!!!! We had a gorgeous king bed with a view of the Bay on a high floor! Considering we booked through Priceline, we were very very happy with the hotels service and front desk staff! The room was beautiful and very clean and the bed very very comfy and the bathroom was huge!!!! They have a free computer set up at the front desk where you can print off your boarding passes, which was very handy.

Their shuttle took us to a local mall, where we shopped for many great hours, had a great meal and then came back and relaxed for the evening before our early morning flight.

The free airport shuttle was great the next morning! All in all, a fantastic night stay!

Room Tip: High floor with view of Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice room. Lousy Parking only available for compact cars otherwise you are forced to valet. Pool is small and inside. Beach is not very nice. Gym is small and lacking.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Bluffs, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I had breakfast today in the Aqua Grille at the Westin Tampa Bay. The kitchen is open, so you can readily see everything. Ordering was prompt, but deliverty was agonizingly S...L...O...W.

I watched as my eggs sat under a heat lamp as the cook took my english muffin out of the package and put it into the toaster. When it was ready, the cook put his huge hand, absent of glove, into a steel bin of bacon...pulled out a bunch, and selected a few for my platter as well as someone else's. Needles to say, I refused the order and asked them to prepare a new one.

I eventually called over a manager; something the server shoud have done; and reported the incident. She apologized and offer to "comp" my meal, which was already "com'd" by the hotel. I told her that I was pretty sure that this was a health code violation and she said no, that the health department was just here. Really...If the health department didn't observe this behavior, then it woul go unreported...duh!! At the very least, it is not a "best practice" and according to my sources the cook should be using tongs and/or gloves to dispense prepared foods.

I also reported this incident to the hotel manager on duty and the Starwood Platnum desk for follow up. I wil also report this to the health department tomorrow.

Eat here at your own risk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctor-d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#61 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Property: Westin Tampa Bay
Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing