We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Hookers and Drug dealers...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Tampa Downtown
Ranked #132 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you like Hookers and Drug dealers...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

For convenience of location we spent, just shy of a month, and close to $3000, in this high traffic area motel.
After moving roons from the back of the property to the front, it was a little easier to sleep without the door to the adjacent room being knocked on every 4-5 minutes for the 50 year old dealer to dispense his wears. I guess I could give him the benefit of a doubt, if I believed one person could have 60 or 70 grandchildren stopping to visit individually after 11pm every night. I however, don't have any doubt that the young African American kids who we walked past every night that said things like.. "you skrait?" Or " I got dat fire, yo", were dealing drugs.
The things we put up with to save a few dollars.
Oh yea, they charge $3.21 per night for wifi. There is more..I will get to it soon.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gilligans_Tiki_Huts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    3
    18
See reviews for
4
6
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here one night with a friend after driving from Miami. We arrived late and checked in without much consideration to the appearance of the building and location, we were tired after a four hour drive. After checking in, paying only $50 for a night, we were approached by a sheriff, wondering what two English girls were doing checking into this motel. We advised us not to check and gave us directions to several hotels and inns close by, too late, we'd already checked in. As it was late we decided to stay. The sheriff gave us a few tips, to put a chair in front of our door, not to open the door until the sun was up and to dial 911 if we heard anything suspicious or if anyone tried getting into our room. He then told us he will be patrolling the area until 3am, before driving off to park his car in the lot. Overall we didn't have a bad night, aside from staying in a filthy, stinky room with huge cockroaches, and people gathering around our rental car. I wouldn't stay here again if I was paid $50 to!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Even by Motel 6 standards, this place is very run-down and doesn't feel particularly safe however if you're looking for a low budget option near Busch Gardens / USF, just hold your nose, watch for your safety, and try to get a good night's rest in an old bed with holes in the linen. The bathroom looked clean enough and so I gave it a two star rating instead of one. Check-in was rather archaic; even though I completed the reservation via computer, they still wanted me to fill in a check-in card by hand. My impression was that the front desk staff were more use to unsavory clientele to match the poor condition of the facility. Also, Wi-Fi isn't free and you have to pay for it person at the front desk. Overall, can't really recommend this place unless you're going solo or sans kids, and/or your budget doesn't allow for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for the price and location. My room 208 had small bugs on the sink and smelled rotton. I requested my money back but didnt honor it, so they put me in a nother room, guess what still bugs. So I called the front desk and told them I would call the health dept and they hung up on me. So u folks think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kopocon407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Not a minute of sleep. Three buildings or parts of the building. The one in back is for prostitutes and drug dealers (at least on Friday). They put the handicap rooms in the section for prostitutes. Girls and their customers yelling all night. Fights break out. Afraid to go to the car to escape. Slob at front desk laughing about it in the am.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawnsstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Its spring break and many hotels were full. We got last room here at Motel 6. After reading reviews we almost did not want to even try. Im glad we did. The bed was really comfortable and i slept well. The things i look for in a room were great.... Cold a/c, hot water, good tv, close to 100's of restaurants and clean sheets. The staff sealed the deal for us. If you want a good stay you can get one here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapnBlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were in Tampa on a business/pleasure trip with our 2 Golden Retrievers and needed a pet friendly hotel. When we checked in, we were given very poor directions to the room by the front desk clerk and drove around repeatedly until we discovered we were in the courtyard rather than at the back of the hotel as told. (Please have the clerk show location on a map - not that hard! We had been driving for 2 days, so we can follow directions when given properly!) The room itself had a room freshener fragrance with a slight undertone of cat urine. By the middle of the night, the cat smell became much stronger. I told the front desk early in the morning, hoping something would be done about it. We left for a couple of hours and upon our return, we could not even enter the room because of the intense smell, so offensive to our olfactory senses that we had to wait outside for over 15 minutes with the door open just to be able to pack our stuff and GET OUT OF HERE!!!!!!!!!!! We are not overly particular, especially when using pet friendly properties, however this was unacceptable!!! Despite our complaints to the front desk, housekeeper and maintenance man, nothing was done. I was contacted by the Motel 6 chain to rate this hotel and as a result, received a poorly worded form letter from the General Manager, Mirian Moran to which I responded and as of yet, one week later, have not received a reply! Seems typical of the "I don't care" attitude of the property. I have not even broached the topic of questionable types hanging around the property at night!! STAY HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We moved to Travelodge Clearwater Central for 4 more nights and enjoyed it immensely! Was worth the drive back and forth to Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromaway_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#122 of 162 in Tampa
2.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa N - Busch Gardens Area
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
2.1 mi away
Garden View Motel
Garden View Motel
#94 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tampa Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Tampa Downtown
Address: 333 E Fowler Avenue, I-275 at Exit #34, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tampa Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Motel 6
Tampa Motel Six
Motel Six Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing